Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Esquire Tavern

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.5
519 reviews
|Bars|San Antonio, TX 78205 United States

155 E Commerce St, San Antonio, TX 78205 United States

(210) 222-2521

https://www.esquiretavern-sa.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(2) · Bars

283 W San Antonio St

(830) 626-9463
4.8
(490) · Bars

219 E Houston St

(210) 472-2202
4.7
(7) · Restaurants

10726 Perrin Beitel Rd

(210) 651-1800
4.6
(1535) · Restaurants

7307 S New Braunsfels

(210) 333-5455
4.6
(15) · Bars

605 San Pedro Ave

(210) 387-8203
4.6
(2403) · Bars

1303 South IH 35

(512) 396-5400
About

For some fun, food, and a relaxed time, Esquire Tavern has got you covered. The ambiance is cool and casual - great for hanging out with friends and loved ones. Some of the items on the menu include the shrimp sandwich, hanger steak salad, bacon cheeseburger, and fried apple pie. Uniquely mixed cocktails, such as the Warpaint andLord Loves a Working Man are sure to impress even the pickiest of cocktail aficionados.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.5
519 reviews
5306
  
453
  
322
  
214
  
118
  
106 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Recommended
SecretReviewer210 review for Esquire Tavern
SecretReviewer210 on Citysearch

11 years ago

04/01/2011, 14:06 PM
Its back, but will it live up to the hype ? – Well the place just re-opened, it looks great inside, very inviting and the drink menu looks interesting. Didnt care for the homemade ketchup or my puled pork sandwich, so lunch there again wont be happening. Saw the new owner on the way out, didnt even smile, say hello or thanks for coming..hopefully when I come back to try some drinks off the clock the rest of the staff is more friendly. You should try at least once.
bigdave2008 review for Esquire Tavern
bigdave2008 on Citysearch

13 years ago

03/26/2009, 05:07 AM
Once was a nice bar – At one time it was a fun place to hang out out, that would have been in the late 80's to early 90'. Then time caught up to it and the people changed and found other places to go to and not a lot of people hanged out there. Now it has closed for a remolding but has yet to open. was suppose to open in the Summer of 2008, but still hasn't. maybe the economy hs also caught up with that idea of it ever reopening.
becca56 review for Esquire Tavern
becca56 on Yellow Pages

14 years ago

05/21/2008, 15:15 PM
It's one of the longest & oldest bars in San Antonio. The atmosphere is casual, and the drinks are cheap. There's also a small patio that overlooks the RiverWalk. I love going here. Staff is always friendly.
Featured content
Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network

Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network

Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network
Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website

Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website

Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website
mountainwarrior4577 review for Esquire Tavern
mountainwarrior4577 on Citysearch

16 years ago

09/09/2006, 06:53 AM
best drink prices in town – Great bar for cheap drinks and entertainment. I had a blast, where in town can you get 2 dollar well drinks and 1.75 long neck miller lite. The 79 foot bar is a must see, just amazing, feel sorry for the bartenders on a busy night. The staff was not that friendly and some of them can not speak english. I know that me and my wife had a older man I could not understand a word he said, and he talked so loud that my wife wanted to leave. I observed him yelling at the bartenders, just hope you don't get him to wait on you. I think his name was George, not sure. No bar stools, was a draw back we wanted to sit at the bar. The place is a little run down, the bathrooms are real old and didn't appear to be ever cleaned. Rough crowd later at night. Mostly local hispanics frequent from my observations. We met the manager a guy named Earl what a nice man and very friendly. This could really be a hot spot if they could clean up the crowd and put a few dollars into the place. Just stop by and see the bar have a beer or a drink and move on unless you can speak fluent spanish.
chizzuck review for Esquire Tavern
chizzuck on Citysearch

17 years ago

05/08/2005, 06:02 AM
User review by chizzuck – Only nefarious locals go here. Not recommended for northerners or passers-by.
Contributor review for Esquire Tavern
Contributor on Citysearch

19 years ago

08/18/2003, 11:21 AM
This bar breaks all kinds of records. – The Bar This Riverwalk locale houses the longest wooden bar in Texas, and in a state that's known both for its bragging and its drinking, that's quite an accomplishment. At 79 feet, the Esquire Tavern's old-school stool counter is host to two other records, neither quite so official as the first. For women, the walk along the bar has the reputation of being the longest ogling gantlet of any bar in Texas. And, according to the Dallas Morning News, the bar can hold an astounding 5,973 longneck bottles of Lone Star, which, being the "National Beer of Texas," is sold in abundance. The Skinny While the historic Esquire may reside on the Riverwalk, expect only one major concession to tourist trappings: Mariachis stroll the interior, offering to serenade drinkers for a fee. Otherwise, this is no cushy spot to toss back a few. If you're looking for savvy and glamour on the river, try Swig. Esquire's crowds exhibit a trifle more local color.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.