Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Dr. Karen Bontia

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
3.6
17 reviews
|Neurologist|Plano, TX 75024

5425 W Spring Creek Pkwy, Ste 275, Plano, TX 75024

(972) 403-8184

http://texasmigrainecenter.com

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Healthcare in your area
4.9
(36) · Healthcare

2700 W Pleasant Run Rd Ste. #260

(888) 382-0161
4.9
(77) · Healthcare

809 W Harwood Rd

(817) 377-0143
4.8
(420) · Surgeons

1001 Robbie Mince Way

(972) 709-7190
4.7
(320) · Neurologist

4032 McDermott Rd Suite 100

(972) 769-9000

3 people are looking at this business

4.7
(111) · Neuro Surgeons

809 W Harwood Rd

(817) 377-0143
4.7
(80) · Neurologist

1604 Hospital Pkwy #200

(817) 848-4485

3 people are looking at this business

About

Being closer to family brought her to Texas. And, she chose Medical & Surgical Clinic of Irving because of their stellar reputation for excellent patient care. In her spare time, Dr. Bonita enjoys hiking, biking, traveling and cooking. She is also fluent in Tagalog (Filipino). Dr. Bonita is on staff at Las Colinas Medical Center and Baylor Medical Center at Irving where she will care for inpatients. Her office is located in the Las Colinas Medical Center professional building.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

3.6
17 reviews
510
  
41
  
30
  
21
  
15
  
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Margaret D. review for Dr. Karen Bontia
Margaret D. on BirdEye

9 months ago

05/04/2021, 15:37 PM
I was floored by Dr. Bontia sending me a certified letter that she was not seeing me as a patient any longer. I had received Botox injections for a couple of years by her and never canceled an appointment or ever late! The last Botox injections were i believe first week of April and right after this last injections my neck was hurting severely and was continuing to get worse I called them crying and left a message on a voicemail to please call me back because my neck was hurting so bad! This was on a Wednesday, no one called me back so I called them Thursday the next day and I demanded to speak with the nurse. At 4 Thursday they made me an appointment at 4pm to come the next day at 8! I took some pain medication and finally felt a little better so I decided I was going to rest because my neck felt better when I laid down and my neck was stabilized. So I called and at 8 on Friday to tell them to cancel my appointment, I live 30 minutes away plus traffic. And the lady that answered the phone blasted me for a no show appointment charge and I told her I have never canceled before so one time courtesy waive. Then the following day at 8 am Tanisha called me and blasted me again and said they are changing me a no show fee and got me all upset again and hung up on me! Long story short Dr. Bontia took her staffs behavior over a longtime patient over being disrespectful to me. I found another Neurologist and they said she gave me a wobble neck due to too much Botox in the neck!
Respond to negative reviews
Anonymous review for Dr. Karen Bontia
Anonymous on Healthgrades

a year ago

08/07/2020, 04:38 AM
I would not recommend this doctor. I was looking for a neurologist near my home in Plano, TX to provide me with an initial diagnosis of a suspected movement disorder. In just a few minutes of examination she ventured out to ascertain the type of disorder I had without having any blood test or MRI done. I didn’t feel comfortable with what I thought was a premature diagnosis. I told her I would look for a second and even a third opinion which clearly bothered her. She ordered an exam that my insurance provider later partially denied because she refused to provide medical records. According to the insurance provider her office would not return phone calls. As it turns out, I am glad I sought additional opinions including one from a very renowned neurosurgeon in Dallas who seems to think along with 2 other neurologists that what I may have is a different kind of disorder. Plano, TX
Respond to negative reviews
Scott review for Dr. Karen Bontia
Scott on Healthgrades

2 years ago

05/26/2020, 10:05 AM
I saw Dr Bontia for the better part of two years. I was diagnosed with Idiopathic Small Fiber Neuropathy. Unfortunately, she just isn't familiar enough with the idiosyncrasies of this illness, or the tests which have to be run to get to the bottom of the cause. I had to bring the tests to her, and after while it was clear she just didn't want to be bothered. I had to find another neurologist who understood this complex, and difficult to manage illness. On a personal level, I liked Dr. Bontia. Tisha...her assistant, does a very nice job. In the end, I think Dr. Bontia gave up on me. She isn't the first, and won't be the last. There are far better neuromuscular Neurologist's in the Dallas area.
Featured content
Introducing Birdeye Interactions

Introducing Birdeye Interactions

Introducing Birdeye Interactions
How to Ask Customers for Reviews and Grow Your Business

How to Ask Customers for Reviews and Grow Your Business

How to Ask Customers for Reviews and Grow Your Business
Anonymous review for Dr. Karen Bontia
Anonymous on Healthgrades

3 years ago

09/15/2018, 05:55 AM
Dr. Bontia, her associates and staff are second to nobody. Everything I needed from my initial evaluation to diagnostic work up to care are all here. Great experience from my MRI to immediate treatment for infusion on the same day.
Anonymous review for Dr. Karen Bontia
Anonymous on Healthgrades

4 years ago

10/25/2017, 04:40 AM
If I could give a zero, I would have. This is the worst experience I have ever had with a doctor. I was blind sided by this physician discontinuing my care. I sought a second opinion and I got releasesd from this office. They had the nerve to say it was per my request and when I said it was not, they still would not provide care to me. If a doctor is so insecure about her abilities that she will dismiss you from seeking a second opinion then I warn you to STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!
Respond to negative reviews
Happy review for Dr. Karen Bontia
Happy on Healthgrades

5 years ago

10/31/2016, 12:51 PM
Dr Bontia is thorough, takes time to listen and ask relevant questions, considers my choices, and gives me options. The staff are cheerful, helpful, and efficient. The office is lovely and up-to-date with all the best tech available for diagnosis and treatment.
Terry Thomas Adams review for Dr. Karen Bontia
Terry Thomas Adams on Healthgrades

6 years ago

06/23/2016, 12:21 PM
I love Dr. Bonita she is so sweet ....she explains very well .....I went in feeling very very bad with headache and left out laughing and feeling so much calmer about my headache and understanding it more ( I was her patient when she was in Irving) wish I would have been to see her much sooner ....love love her and the staff ..............thank you thank you thank you !!!!!!!!!
Anonymous review for Dr. Karen Bontia
Anonymous on Healthgrades

6 years ago

04/06/2016, 22:05 PM
Dr. Bontia is a superb neurologist. She has an excellent bedside manner and is committed to helping her patients. She spends time with each one and works tirelessly to find answers.
LeeAnn review for Dr. Karen Bontia
LeeAnn on Healthgrades

6 years ago

03/04/2016, 11:04 AM
Dr. was the first Dr. who did a complete neurological exam on me. She also looked over all my past medical records and discussed them all. She spent a lot of time with me. I thought her bedside manner was very good.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.