Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Cactus Taqueria

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.3
558 reviews
|Mexican|Oakland, CA 94618

5642 College Ave, Oakland, CA 94618

(510) 658-6180

https://www.cactustaqueria.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(3) · Restaurants

2054 Treat Blvd Ste B

(925) 933-9500

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(1) · Restaurants

291 N 4th St

(408) 320-1595
4.9
(14) · Mexican

7TH St & Ashby Ave.

(510) 593-1020
4.8
(8) · Mexican

1231 Park St

(510) 748-0517

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(107) · Restaurants

2872 24th St

(415) 285-1382

2 people are looking at this business

4.7
(454) · Restaurants

located on the beach at the base of the lifeguard tower

(415) 868-1777
About

You might think that this place with its faux adobe paint job and bright red tables was moved lock, stock and barrel from Mexico itself. The food tastes authentic, too, but the great news here is that it's made without lard and the cooks use cooking techniques that keep the cholesterol down at every stop in the cooking process. The results are delicious and virtually indistinguishable from its more calorie-rich counterparts. Agua fresca and both Mexican and local microbrewery beers are also available from the friendly and quick wait staff.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.3
558 reviews
5300
  
4144
  
364
  
214
  
123
  
13 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
jessica.stayathomeista on Yellow Pages

9 years ago

06/22/2012, 08:11 AM
This is the perfect place to go before catching the BART train at the Rockridge station to head into San Francisco for the night. THe food isn't at all greasy, just the perfect California version of Mexican! My favorites are the house-made tortilla chips, the black bean and guacamole quesadillas and the chicken burritos. Beware the mommy-brigade, there are strollers all over, but that just makes it a great neighborhood spot.
Zogsauce on Citysearch

11 years ago

09/29/2010, 09:12 AM
Good food, not great – The place has pretty decent food. It's not amazing, but it's not terrible either. It's convenient and quick if you want to grab a quick bite to eat. They get extra points for friendly service.
William H. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

08/05/2009, 08:18 AM
Cactus Taqueria I have family that lives down the street and I try to make it down to Cactus every opportunity I get. The food is delicious and there's plenty of seating. Prices are reasonable and I'm a big fan of the salsas.
Featured content
'Facebook Reviews' are now 'Facebook Recommendations'

'Facebook Reviews' are now 'Facebook Recommendations'

'Facebook Reviews' are now 'Facebook Recommendations'
Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website

Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website

Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website
Jennifer M. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

06/05/2009, 04:57 AM
Great Mexican place; very family-friendly This is kind of embarrassing -- I live in the Mission district, but one of my favorite Mexican restaurants is in Rockridge! There seems to be a bimodal distribution of Mexican restaurants in the Bay -- greasy hole in-the-wall or overpriced bistro. This place has the best of both worlds: it is clean and uses fresh ingredients (including Niman Ranch meats), but it's also cheap. It's one of the most family-friendly restaurants in the area. If you're looking for the most authentic restaurant, this might not be for you. However, if you want a reasonably priced meal your family will enjoy, definitely come here.
alingane on Citysearch

13 years ago

01/12/2009, 06:03 AM
DEE-licious Mexican food – The food is unique, but also authentic. They serve a wide range of burritos, enchiladas, plus tamales, chile rellenos and more of the platos tipicos that you'd expect from a sit down restaurant in a fast environment.
Kyoko R. on Insider Pages

14 years ago

07/30/2007, 06:01 AM
Fast, Delicious, Reasonable Pro: Fast, Delicious, Reasonable, family friendly Con: parking, (could possibly be) long line. Try their Mole sauce, as well as crispy chicken taco.
g_peters on Citysearch

15 years ago

10/14/2006, 07:09 AM
totally average at best. – this place attracted my attention one day when i was getting off the BART. it was justs remodeled and it had the look of a really nice fast food place. naturally i had to try it but i was sadly disappointed. their food was mediocre and salsas were so inauthentic they could barely pass for mexican... very gimicky. the decor was the only saving grace. although it was confusing since it looked as if the food should taste good since it looked so nice on the outside but it was a big let down. they claim to use Niman Ranch meat but the way they cook and store their meats really doesn't do Niman Ranch justice. you're better off spending a little more somewhere else to get a nice Niman Ranch Pork loin so you can enjoy it the way it's supposed to be enjoyed. we ordered a chicken salad, two tacos, and a burrito and two drinks between two of us and our bill came out to be almost thirty dollars! the tacos had BEANS in them which in my opinion is totally weird. all i could taste was the beans. the salad was decent and the burrito was just average at best, if that. the only good thing was that i could wash the bad taste it left in my mouth with their draft beer! i hate to say it but this place is really deceiving from the outside in. when i logged on city search to write this review i read all the other reviews for this place and i can't tell you how shocked i was to see such a poor inaccurate representation by a city search editorial... and coming from the other reviews on bad service, and declining quality, i should have read those first before spending my hard earned money at a place that is all bark and no bite.
Dani N. on JudysBook

15 years ago

06/08/2006, 09:39 AM
Free-range meat and tasty desserts! I love, love, love Cactus. I love anyplace where I can cram a healthy and fiilling burrito into my hypoglycemic eight-year-old for maybe three bucks. I love that they use Niman Ranch free-range hormone-free meat, and still only cost around $5 for even the big stuff. I especially love their grilled vegetable burrito (vegetales asados) which is incredibly tasty and super good for me! Plus, little cookies filled with caramel. What more could you want?
alyk on Citysearch

15 years ago

05/13/2006, 07:08 AM
good food, but overpriced and poor service – been going to cactus for 5+ yrs and the food just isn't worth the trouble any longer. the last 8 times we've gotten to go food, there has been a mistake.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.