Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Byram's Lobster House

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.7
20 reviews
|Italian|Richmond, VA 23230

3215 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23230

(804) 355-9193

http://www.byrams.com/

Closed now

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(13) · Restaurants

216 S Washington Hwy

(804) 798-7171
4.8
(368) · Restaurants

1606 W Main St

(804) 213-0212

2 people are looking at this business

4.8
(74) · Italian

10478 Ridgefield Pkwy

(804) 447-6449
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.7
20 reviews
52
  
41
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
17 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
bobwas review for Byram's Lobster House
bobwas on Yellow Pages

11 years ago

05/19/2011, 04:17 AM
Great atmosphere. I have never had bad food in this place. We normally order the Greek pasta, seafood lasagna, chicken marsala, stuffed salmon, or liver and onions. For an appetizer we usually have mushrooms imperial or the she crab soup. We always get a baby greek salad with our meal. All of these have always been excellent. My sons have gotten the steak and seafood combos and have thought they were very good. We truly enjoy this place.
beth0407 review for Byram's Lobster House
beth0407 on Citysearch

11 years ago

04/19/2011, 05:18 AM
Worst Food In My Entire Life – First of all, if I could give less than one star, I would. My husband and I had been wanting to try Byram's Lobster House for a little while now, and yesterday we decided to go ahead and try it. The waiter was relatively friendly, I'll give them that. The entire restaurant was coated in some kind of filth. On all of their decorations there is a noticeable layer of dust and cobwebs. On the table, there was some type of crumbs. I guess they don't clean the tables between uses. We declined an appetizer, after reading another review about the $90 appetizer I'm sure glad we did. For drinks, my husband and I both ordered sweet tea. It tasted absolutely vile. My husband said "I think this is leftover dishwater". It truly could have been, if you count the FLY that was floating in my husband's glass. I ordered a meal consisting of shrimp, steak, and chicken - for $19.95. My husband ordered "surf and turf" - for $34.95. His food looked relatively normal. He ate it all so I guess it was fine. My food however, was terrible. I ordered the steak medium. It came out raw. It wasn't even rare, semi-cooked, a "little" undercooked, or trying to imitate having been on the grill whatsoever. They put spices on a raw piece of meat and threw it on a plate. I sent it back, and it came out less than 5 minutes later. I know it takes more than 5 minutes to take a steak from raw to medium. The second time, the steak was BARELY in between rare and med. rare. I can usually tolerate med. rare so I tried to eat it. There's no way I was sending it back a second time, I've heard too many horror stories about food that gets sent back. No doubt that with the low quality of this restaurant, it would have been one of those stories. The side baked potato was not good, and I ordered it with butter and sour cream. Apparently they don't carry butter in their restaurant since I got sour cream and that's it. The lettuce to the salad was a bit wilty. The bill came and we didn't even get an apology for the terrible food, the fly in the drink, or anything. Most restaurants will give you a % off of your order, or a free meal, or SOMETHING, if the food is disgusting, or if you encounter vermin in something that you have ingested. This place didn't really care at all about minor things like sanitation or customer service. Or really about even getting customers to come back. Our bill was incredibly too high for the quality of the restaurant and food. We would have been better off going to McDonald's. It would have tasted better. Today, I woke up with vomiting and "the other" issue as well. I probably encountered food poisoning from their nasty food and undercooked (raw) steak. This place sucks. I've made sure to let everyone I saw today know how awful this nasty place is. Do NOT go here. Unless you're into paying way too much for food poisoning. P.S. Another review said "bring the family". I wonder when they figured that half naked statues of Greek goddesses were family appropriate. I would never bring my 6 year old there to be asked "Why is that woman not wearing clothes?"
crabber3623 review for Byram's Lobster House
crabber3623 on Citysearch

11 years ago

08/01/2010, 05:23 AM
It was a good salad – My husband and I recently went on a getaway weekend in Richmond. We wanted to have a great dinner. We went to Byrams lobster house because I wanted Lobster. All I can say is the salad, dessert and coffee were great! We ordered fried oysters for an appetizer, I do believe they were from the river; Not only were they old but they had been fried to death! We both ordered specials of the day. I had the stuffed half lobster and NY strip, my husband the grilled trio, 3 different fish broiled. Sounds good! When they brought the plates, the 3 fish portions were a little small, when I removed the stuffing from my lobster it was anorexic! I had to scrape the meat off of the shell. This was really over cooked and just ruined the lobster. We received free dessert because of this. I never did get a properly cooked lobster. The next morning my husband had some kind of allergic reaction, his lips are swollen. We had to cut our trip short and come home. Do not eat at this resturant, Gordon Ramsey needs to intervene. He would cuss up a storm if he went to this place. It is overpriced and they do not have good seafood.They should not call themselves a Lobster house since they obviously cannot cook a lobster!
Featured content
Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network

Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network

Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network
Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website

Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website

Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website
keith franck review for Byram's Lobster House
keith franck on Citysearch

12 years ago

05/06/2010, 01:42 AM
worst food ever!!!! – i took a very good friend to bryams for i thought was great food little did i know it was the worst food and the seafood was very very very old i didn't eat much thinking i would be in the hospital and was bad for my friend the portions were very little 4 the price it took over an hour and 15 min. 4 dinnerserver was nasty there were charges i didn't understand i ask 4 a manager only to be told he's 2 busy to talk well the over charges came out of the tip which i gave none and i never do that i tip 25%they need the bbb and food inspector don't go if you value your health and wallet please city close this place!!!!!!!
RonHorse review for Byram's Lobster House
RonHorse on Citysearch

13 years ago

05/10/2009, 05:53 AM
SEE, FOOD – Just the other day i came here, I knew where it was its right there on Broad. This dude i know had came and left by the time i got there but who cares im ready to break bad on some lobster at this point! Picked out the lobster out that big tank they got and i picked out a moose of a lobster, named it Clarence. Well me and Clarence went to town, after they took Clarence back in the back and cooked that dude. Slapped some butter on it. The manager said i looked great and it was normal. Some old dude came about real close to ruining everything for me by ordering oysters and it smelled like F.....A.....R.....T.......T..........S. Anyway was real good lobster tale and i went and smoked a stoge out back and walked my rear end home.
deathbob review for Byram's Lobster House
deathbob on Citysearch

13 years ago

05/08/2009, 04:37 AM
Comfort was 1 hour + wait so we decided to try something else, and picked byram's because we'd driven past it so many times and always wondered if it was any good. Wonder no more, it is the worst seafood in Richmond by far. Conch cake appetizer was gross. $7 a glass house wine isn't insane, but still on pricey side. Took about an hour from when we ordered our entrees till they arrived. I got a lobster, $41 for 1.5 lbs, awfully expensive considering it was cooked to the consistency of shoe leather. My wife got the broiled seafood platter, which consisted of a clam that was dead (didn't open), two rubbery scallops, 1 large tasteless unidentifiable fish filet, and 2 oysters that smelled like f a r t s. Needless to say she barely touched her meal. If you're thinking about going to Byram's Lobster House, just go to taco bell or something instead.
stacy1978 review for Byram's Lobster House
stacy1978 on Citysearch

14 years ago

06/02/2008, 02:49 AM
Extremely Overpriced! – My family and I recently visited Byram's to celebrate my sister's graduation from VCU - no one had eaten there before, but we thought it would be a good idea since it was close to the Siegel Center...we were mistaken. Our group showed up for dinner at 4:30, so that we would have plenty of time for food before my sister had to leave to be at her graduation at 6:15. Although we were the only people dining at the time, we had one waiter serving us (15 people). While looking at the menu trying to pick an appetizer, we were "advised" by the waiter that he could get us a sampler platter. We agreed, and were served with two plates of food about 25 minutes later. Our meals took over an hour to arrive, causing my sister to leave without getting her meal! When our separate bills arrived, we were ASTONISHED to find that the restaurant had charged everyone $8.95 for the sampler platter - that's right, per person...to a total of $134.25!!! This was brought to the waiters attention, but he couldn't have cared less that he was gouging my family! The manager was asked to come out to speak with us, but the only compromise he lent us was that he would take $8 off of all of our bills...basically $40 off the entire check. Therefore, we were still charged $94.25 for an APPETIZER!!!! Never in my life have I ever felt so cheated when it came to eating a meal at a restaurant! The sampler platter was not listed on the menu, but the manager swore that his waiter had told us about the charge before we ordered it - and in his mind, the customer is not always right...we were also told that the owner would come and speak to us, but he never showed up. In my mind, if the owner was there, he should have come out to discuss the problem with his customers! If not, he should respond to my mother's email - she sent it to him 2 weeks ago! He should not be in business if he thinks cheating customers is how business should be run!!!!!
lathina27 review for Byram's Lobster House
lathina27 on Citysearch

14 years ago

04/07/2008, 01:13 AM
THE WORST SEAFOOD IN RICHMOND..... – My recent visit to Byrams was the worst experience that any one could have in a restaurant. I will begin by saying that the waitress was not polite or friendly at all, actually she had an attitude. I had order the broiled seafood platter for $19.95 and as soon as the waitress put the plate in front of me I told my husband " this food looks nasty and actually where is the food??? Those were the smallest portions I have ever seen, especially for that price. The fact that I was raised by a professional fisherman in the caribbean islands (who sells fresh seafood to the best restaurants in the area) trust me, I know how seafood is suppose to look, smell and taste. The fish was bland and with no flavor at all, the oysters looked dryed and old, I didn't even tasted the rest of the food fearing of getting sick. I told the waitress that I was not going to eat that food because it was Nasty, at that point she told me that she was going to tell the manager. Few minutes later she came back with an attitude and told me that the manager stated that the food was good and that nothing was wrong with it and that I had to pay the full price for it even if I didn't eat it. I told her that I was not going to pay him for that nasty food. Then once she went back and told him that he came by the table, not to ask me what was wrong but to tell me that what I had order was his very popular dish and that no one had ever complain about it. I told him that provably those customers didn't know how seafood was supposed to taste and that I was not going to pay for such a horrible dish and service. He then told me that he was going to take care of it so when the ticket came I notice that he was charging us $6.95 and I asked why the charge and the waitress told us that he had charged us for the salad and the hard baked potato that I only had about 3 pieces of it because it was uncooked. I had never been to a restaurant as filty and with such a poor service and horrible food quality.
Heather M. review for Byram's Lobster House
Heather M. on Insider Pages

16 years ago

10/17/2005, 10:04 AM
Easy to Miss- DON'T! Byram's looks like a hole in the wall from the outside. It would be so easy to drive right past it and never think twice. But stop here!
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.