Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Byram's Lobster House

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.7
20 reviews
|Italian|Richmond, VA 23230

3215 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23230

(804) 355-9193

http://www.byrams.com/

Closed now

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(13) · Restaurants

216 S Washington Hwy

(804) 798-7171

3 people are looking at this business

4.8
(368) · Restaurants

1606 W Main St

(804) 213-0212

10 people are looking at this business

4.8
(74) · Italian

10478 Ridgefield Pkwy

(804) 447-6449

3 people are looking at this business

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.7
20 reviews
52
  
41
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
17 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
yoyo12879 review for Byram's Lobster House
yoyo12879 on Citysearch

10 years ago

12/25/2011, 01:59 AM
Hidden Gem! – After a day of shopping, my best friend and I planned on dining here for dinner. I had no idea it was here (near Channel 6/CBS studios Richmond). After reading some reviews below I see it is also under new management. I think the owners are who we talked too who are obvious true "foodies". They are super nice and very warm people. I definitely will be attending again this time with my husband after ranting about the place to him. Everything down to the salad with fresh made dressing was like heaven!! The lasagne that I had was super deelish and definitely a big portion. YUM YUM YUM!! Also very elegant inside too (never went to this restaurant when it was old mgmt). This place would be perfect for a holiday luncheon/work gathering etc or a rehearsal dinner if they accommodate!? AGAIN, YUMMY! : )
urbangorilla review for Byram's Lobster House
urbangorilla on Citysearch

10 years ago

11/17/2011, 04:47 AM
Frankly, there was some trepidation on my part about going to Byram's lobster house...10 years ago, I took my lady friend to this restaurant and on entering the restaurant one of the patrons emerged with large greasy stains covering his belly... at that moment we decided not to venture into the eventual decline that Byram's experienced. But I am happy to say that the new owners, Jeff and Corina, have totally renovated the spacious interior and created a dining atmosphere of charmful delight and scrumptious culinary teasers. An example...the sweetest oysters flown in from california, like nothing you will have anywhere in virginia and prepared by the wizardry of Chef Danny...green beans almondine wow...cole slaw, who ever raves about cole slaw...italian limoncello cake and nutella tarts sinfully delicious. Nothing more to say, a wise decision.
Jay Mangan review for Byram's Lobster House
Jay Mangan on Citysearch

10 years ago

11/07/2011, 01:08 AM
Some changes are for the better! – AMAZING! The food was fresh, authentic northern Italian... and absolutely fabulous. I've traveled around this country and it is rare to get a combination of service and hospitality like this! Chef Danny is a find! The food was wonderful... So, I guess that sometimes... change is good!
Featured content
How to write a review on Google

How to write a review on Google

How to write a review on Google
Why Customers Don't Trust 5-Star Reviews

Why Customers Don't Trust 5-Star Reviews

Why Customers Don't Trust 5-Star Reviews
cw traveler review for Byram's Lobster House
cw traveler on Citysearch

10 years ago

11/04/2011, 02:41 AM
a definite repeat visit – We just had dinner at Byrams and were blown away by the quality of the food and the service. The scallops were definitely awesome!!! Jeff, Corina and Dan were so kind and hospitable. We felt like family!! We love visiting Richmond and now have a favorite restaurant here!!
GeorgeKC review for Byram's Lobster House
GeorgeKC on Citysearch

10 years ago

10/10/2011, 05:32 AM
A New Favorite in Richmond – Under new management, Byram's has quickly become a favorite for my family. From the moment you walk in, the differences are striking and all very positive. The owners - Jeff and Corina - and staff are welcoming, knowledgeable, and attentive, but not smothering. The decor is attractive and serene - the single fresh rose on every table a warming touch. The menu offers a variety of favorites old and new. On different occasions we have sampled and very much enjoyed the whole roasted branzino, the salmon, crab stuffed ravioli and more. The lobster cocktail is a generous and flavorful dish and on a recent visit the lobster risotto a pleasure. Next on my list to try is the lobster roll, a new dish for Richmond which we have enjoyed in Maine. A variety of wines, with a broad range of style and price, is available to complement the meal and we have found some old favorites on that list as well. And the desserts are fun, too - we particularly recommend the Nutella tart created by Corina which is unlike any dessert we've experienced before and one we look forward to having again soon. Congratulations, Jeff and Corina, for the great job you and your staff have done.
JPlass review for Byram's Lobster House
JPlass on Citysearch

10 years ago

09/30/2011, 03:20 AM
Forget What You've Read/Experienced Here BEFORE August 2011! – My family and I have been here many times in the past and it was always a dingy, almost dirty place with barely acceptable food and even worse service. When I heard that Byram's had reopened under new management, I just had to check it out, especially since we had a coupon from Restaurant. com! I was just thrilled with the new interior - gone was the crowded room with the excessive tables. The new owners made Byram's into an elegant dining experience. I had the Branzino fully expecting it to be some small thin pieces of fish in an "ok" sauce. To my complete and utter delight, I had a beautifully cooked whole fish that was among the best I have ever had!! Unfortunately (tongue in cheek) I had the delicious house salad which was similar to something I ate at the Biltmore (delicious) so by the time I ate the fish (every bite) I was completely full and could not eat the side dishes that accompanied my fish. My husband had the crab cakes which weren't as good as my fish dish but were still very good with crab chunks and little filler. FIVE STARS!!! You must try the new and improved Byrams!! I'll be back!! And check out Jeff's tie!!
FreeRoy review for Byram's Lobster House
FreeRoy on Citysearch

10 years ago

09/09/2011, 05:12 AM
REAL turnaround! – Jeff and wife Corina have REALLY turned this place around! My friend and I had dinner there just after they reopened, and it was truly fine! The place was well out of my price range when I was growing up in Richmond, and by the time that I could afford to go there, I heard that the new owner was running it into the ground, so I had never been there. When I heard that Jeff was re-doing it, I jumped at the chance, and I'm really glad I did. The food was worth every penny, and the service was great. I recommend it highly.
Byrams review for Byram's Lobster House
Byrams on Citysearch

10 years ago

09/06/2011, 02:07 AM
Byram's Under New Ownership – My wife and I bought Byram's in June of 2011 and re-opened it in August. We have redecorated the interior, hired an Executive Chef (trained at CIA), replaced most of the kitchen equipment, and totally revised the menu. We still offer lobster and seafood but our side emphasis is now Northern Italian. Please stop by and give us a try. You will not be disappointed.
VCUMCVSTUD review for Byram's Lobster House
VCUMCVSTUD on Citysearch

10 years ago

09/02/2011, 01:40 AM
Excellent "new" restaurant – I have driven by Byram's many times since I've moved to Richmond over a year ago, but never ate there. It looks kind of old and unappealing from the outside. However, I love seafood and thought I'd eventually go there. I use restaurant/com occasionally and found Byram's on there yesterday (Thursday) and thought I'd give it a shot at a "discount". What the heck. If it sucked at least I didn't pay full price. My fiancee and I were shocked to find that the interior was fancy and spacious. It was super clean and nice. I felt poorly dressed in my khaki shorts and a polo shirt since it was so fancy (fresh tableclothes etc). A very nice European lady who seemed to be the owner greeted us and walked to our table to ask how our meal was. The server was really friendly and did everything she could to make the experience nice. I found out that this restaurant was sold to the current owner this past summer and only reopened 3 weeks ago after major interior renovations. Reading the posts I see here, I obviously never got to see how bad it used to be. But be sure to know that THIS PLACE IS DA BOMB NOW! My 1.6 Lb Lobster was perfectly steamed and my fiancee's tuna steak was the best she ever had according to her. We started off with lobster bisques that were a bit pricey with hardly any meat in them. But my fiancee and I both felt that there was an exquisite taste infused into them making it worth trying. We finished with tiramasu (homemade) that was also good. I believe that a couple can easily do an excellent dinner for $40 to $50 before tip, but could also easily spend over $100 if choosing to splurge (ie: 2 Lb lobster, etc). Later on, I was shown their revamped lunch menu that seems very inexpensive compared to dinner (dinner is expensive, but priced competitively for a fancy restaurant For example, it is cheaper than the Water Grill on Cary St.) I plan to come for their lobster roll some time soon. Bottom line: don't be fooled by these old posts. This place is really nice. Great for a date or large party. There is enough space in there to hold a major dinner party. If the exterior was also renovated at some point, I wouldn't see why this wouldn't get selected as a place for rehearsal dinners, class functions, etc. TRY IT OUT and DON"T JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS COVER.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.