Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Bobby Van's Park Avenue - 'the Original

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.7
129 reviews
|Steakhouses|New York, NY 10169

230 Park Ave (South East Corner of 46th), New York, NY 10169

(212) 867-5490

https://bobbyvans.com/steakhouse/park-ave

Closed now

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(2) · Restaurants

2361 7th Ave (Corner of 138th St)

(347) 469-9918

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(6) · Restaurants

45 Nassau St

(917) 916-8345
5.0
(92) · Restaurants

15 East 7th Street

(212) 473-9148
5.0
(1) · Restaurants

461 Port Richmond Ave

(718) 981-4530
5.0
(1) · Restaurants

75 Brighton Ave Ste B

(732) 229-0100
5.0
(117) · Restaurants

96 Lafayette St

(888) 812-9060
About

Situated in the Historic Helmsley Building, with a big carved-wood mahogany bar, thirty-foot high ceilings and windows, this is a meat eaters' paradise. The waiters are old pros that make you feel lucky to be in their hands. Steaks, some of the best in town, like the Porterhouse for two, three or four people for example, are Prime and dry-aged. Other recommendations are Maine lobster, lemon pepper shrimp, shrimp cocktail, Harry's salad, mixed green salad, veal chop, grilled fish, and the onion rings.The wine list is very focused in California cabernets and meritage styled wines. First growth Bordeaux are also heavily stocked in older vintages. There's a small room with four tables, for smoke

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.7
129 reviews
570
  
410
  
36
  
20
  
12
  
41 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
ahollero review for Bobby Van's Park Avenue - 'the Original
ahollero on Citysearch

14 years ago

02/21/2008, 02:32 AM
If you like ribeye, this is the place for you. – This is my husband's favorite restaurant in New York City. A must is their ribeye. It is quite expensive for $46 but well worth it. We haven't really tried anything else on the menu but the ribeye. The service is average but nothing spectacular. Our waiter did not do much talking but at the end, he did surprise us with a complimentary cake when he found out we were celebrating my husband's birthday. If you are looking for a romantic setting, this is not the place for you. It has a very business-like atmosphere. Despite its average service and setting, we always return for the RIBEYE!!!!
cche7 review for Bobby Van's Park Avenue - 'the Original
cche7 on Citysearch

15 years ago

04/07/2007, 02:40 AM
Not worth it. – Arrived on time and Maitre d' seated us promptly. Our waiter, Steve, was terrible. He didn't want to answer any questions and didn't want call him by his name. Talk about someone who has ice in his veins. The sides were good, but the steak was overcooked and dry. Not impressive at all. I've had better at Keens. In addition, the dinner was way overpriced, $145 per person.
keithrez review for Bobby Van's Park Avenue - 'the Original
keithrez on Citysearch

15 years ago

02/22/2007, 03:21 AM
Do NOT go there unless your company is paying – Unless you are on someone's expense account, you can do SOOOO much better with your $, and even then, u can still find better choices. Aside from it being the most expensive steak dinner I have ever had (everything was at least 10-20% higher than any place I have been to), the service was not impressive (until we pretended we were in the Sahara, we couldn't get a glass of water). Regarding the food, the 2 plain green iceberg type salads that were ordered were more on the brown side and the steaks were fine, but I didn't hear anyone in my party of 7 say WOW. The best part of the meal, imo, was the shellfish bouquet, but again, insanely expensive ($35 pp including 1 small crab cake). The wine list, while impressive, offered NOTHING in the reasonable category, so again, unless you are an oenophile, do u really need to pay $150 per bottle? Bottom line is I have been to this location 2x, been disappointed each time, and have no intention of going back.
Featured content
3 Ways Online Reputation Management Can Help You with Google Reviews

3 Ways Online Reputation Management Can Help You with Google Reviews

3 Ways Online Reputation Management Can Help You with Google Reviews
The Ultimate Guide to Responding to Reviews

The Ultimate Guide to Responding to Reviews

The Ultimate Guide to Responding to Reviews
gablelomb review for Bobby Van's Park Avenue - 'the Original
gablelomb on Citysearch

15 years ago

08/30/2006, 03:00 AM
GREAT steak, welcoming service – I arrived early, wet and steamy from the humidity and a walk through a downpour. The staff was warm and friendly, and I was seated immediately. The waiter was very helpful, offering to split the caesar we ordered, and also said he'd bring us something my companion had enjoyed there before, even though it wasn't on the menu. Prices were a little shocking for lunch, but oh my lord in heaven...the filet mignon, prepared rare, bernaise sauce on the side...easily the best steak I've ever eaten. Can't wait to visit again. Can you open a branch in Seattle?
desnr02 review for Bobby Van's Park Avenue - 'the Original
desnr02 on Citysearch

16 years ago

03/28/2006, 06:50 AM
Great Service, Good Steaks – After spending 20min looking for it, we finally found it. I liked the atmospher was with some coworkers and we didnt feel intimidated. Waiter was very friendly steaks did need to be checked on often for the Temp. Appetizers a little off on pricage but some are worth it. will go back to give more accurate review.
platinum25 review for Bobby Van's Park Avenue - 'the Original
platinum25 on Citysearch

17 years ago

06/30/2004, 06:44 AM
Good steak, so-so everything else. – The food was good but for the prices, it was definitely not worth it. For about $20, you get one tiny crab cake for an appetizer. Steaks were alright, considering a few of the medium rares/rares came out closer to medium. Dessert wasn't anything special. Service was a bit slow even though we were only one of a few tables there that night.
bjmckay review for Bobby Van's Park Avenue - 'the Original
bjmckay on Citysearch

18 years ago

05/19/2004, 01:53 AM
Best steak in Manhattan. – Having made a point of seeking out each newly opened steakhouse contender, I can say, pound-for-pound, Bobby Van's on Park serves the best steaks in Manhattan & is #2 to Luger's overall in NYC. I believe this because after dining at other pretenders to the throne, I still come back to Bobby Van's & have been there more times than any other steakhouse in the city. Their ribeye and porterhouse have never been cooked poorly in all the times I have been there, and their hashed browns and creamed spinach rank with the best in the city. Their waitstaff is exactly what it should be in a steakhouse, and although the joint is packed to the gills with Wall Streeters (aren't most steakhouses anyway?), the fact remains that it's always packed. I will be a lifetime customer of this Bobby Van's.
genine810 review for Bobby Van's Park Avenue - 'the Original
genine810 on Citysearch

18 years ago

09/17/2003, 05:43 AM
Good but ... – This place served wonderful food but it seems overpriced and the portions are huge. Maybe restaurants in the US can help the obesity problem by cutting the portion size or offering smaller portions for adults. Otherwise the food was excellent - we went around 8:30 on Tues night and waited 15 minutes for a table. Everyone was courteous and the servers were attentive. It is a great place for steaks just expect to pay almost $100 pp.
Contributor review for Bobby Van's Park Avenue - 'the Original
Contributor on Citysearch

18 years ago

08/14/2003, 06:02 AM
An haute home for steaks in the Helmsley Building. – The Scene This masculine space at the base of Park Avenue caters to a business crowd culled from local office buildings. Although it lacks the patina of places like Peter Luger's and Sparks, it still has a steakhouse's telltale wood paneling, chalkboard specials and decorative wine bottles. The service, although good, can be a bit officious at times. The Food The kitchen caters to culinary hedonists who let their cholesterol be damned in favor of juicy, well-aged steaks, buttery, pan-roasted hash browns and predictably rich creamed spinach. There's also a full raw bar selection, as well as old-school starters like clams oreganata and a middling beef carpaccio. If it's beef you're craving, go for the jugular--in this case, the hugely satisfying porterhouse for two, three or four. Non-meat options, such as the seared tuna, are also nicely executed.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.