Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Almaden Valley Athletic Club

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.3
82 reviews
|Sports Clubs|San Jose, CA 95124

5400 Camden Ave, San Jose, CA 95124

(408) 445-4900

https://www.avac.us/club/scripts/section/section.asp?NS=HOMEA

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Recreation in your area
5.0
(1) · Sports Clubs

2055 S 7th St # A

(408) 213-2551
4.8
(82) · Batting Cages

995 East Santa Clara Street

(408) 283-0643

1 person is looking at this business

4.4
(59) · Recreation

371 S 23rd St

(510) 620-9797

1 person is looking at this business

4.3
(549) · Recreation

6538 Patterson Pass Rd

(925) 373-7223

6 people are looking at this business

About

Opened in 1976 as a tennis and racquetball club, the Almaden Valley Athletic Club has grown into a top-end health and fitness facility for the entire family. From aquatics, zumba to pilates and swimming, there is a lot you can do here. Their 11 excellent tennis courts, junior Olympic pool, wading pool, cafe, steam rooms and saunas are included in their six acres (2.43 hectares) campus. They also have an indoor swim school. Opt for group classes or personalized trainers to stay fit. After a workout, get a massage to revive your tired muscles.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.3
82 reviews
551
  
413
  
35
  
22
  
17
  
4 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Daniel C. on Insider Pages

6 years ago

09/15/2015, 03:48 AM
eTennis League Great Flex Tennis League platform. Win great prices and trophies! Set you availability and play on your free time! Play free friendly matches and register for advanced city leagues! Become your city champion! Try out affiliate program and earn some money while playing! Register today! https://goo.gl/zxsQfs
Marie C. on Yellow Pages

6 years ago

07/10/2015, 14:39 PM
I would highly recommend AVAC. The staff is friendly and helpful. I think the biggest perk is that this gym is very family oriented. The Absolutfit classes are high energy and the Trainers are educated. I also love the pilates classes. All of the friendly members make for a nice environment. Also, the childcare and the staff are amazing. My kids always leave happy. Thanks, AVAC!
Stan Rezaee on Citysearch

10 years ago

04/08/2011, 08:39 AM
Its more than just a "gym" – Almaden Valley Athletic Club (AVAC) is more than just a gym but place to relax and maybe meet new friends. With its gym, pool and tennis court members have a verity of activities to participate in or they could relax in the locker room which includes a hot tube and steam room. The staff is very professional and are very helpful with what ever you need. Overall I'll pick a local gym like AVAC over some MacDonald-gym (like 24 Hour Fitness) anytime.
Featured content
Trust Economy: Why Google and Birdeye Are Against Review Gating

Trust Economy: Why Google and Birdeye Are Against Review Gating

Trust Economy: Why Google and Birdeye Are Against Review Gating
Demystifying Google Business Reviews

Demystifying Google Business Reviews

Demystifying Google Business Reviews
goffmanbst7 on Citysearch

11 years ago

03/16/2011, 04:31 AM
I love Almaden Valley Athletic Club – I love having a local gym to go to. The staff is way more accomodating and friendly than at some big cheap chain. The equipment is great.
Business Response:

Just a note to thank you for your kind words about Almaden Valley Athletic Club! As we try to make your visit to the Club the best part of your day, to hear that our efforts actually work, is GREAT! By the way, we have the BEST members, too! Just about every day we marvel at how friendly, kind and exceptional the people who come here are. In fact, that's one of the main reasons I love working here! Yours in health and fitness and FUN!, Jean Braun, Marketing Director

Pat P. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

09/07/2009, 09:25 AM
Almaden Valley Athletic Club and Swim School is Wonderful AVAC Swim School is the best! My five children all have learned too swim there; Not only is the facility wonderful, but the instructors are sensitive, love children, and very attentive. My children over 10 years, have taken hundreds of lessons at AVAC! I recommend AVAC SWIM SCHOOL highly! to the person who bad mouthed the program at AVAc, you must just be a jealous competitor, as nothing you say is truthful; I in 10 years have ever experienced a lesson that was not too perfection!
thxboy on Citysearch

12 years ago

07/20/2009, 13:47 PM
My 3 year old is now TERRIFIED of the pool. Thanks AVAC – My little girl who is only 3 is now terrified of the pool. She used to love swimming with mommy and daddy and after her first and last lesson at AVAC she shakes and cries if we want her to get onto the top step of the pool. the instructor ignored her and just tossed her into the water when we told them she had not yet put her head under water and then when she freaked out they just left her on the step and IGNORED HER! They didn't listen to any of our requests to not have toys (she get's too attached to things). It was a nightmare. Do NOT take your kids there unless you go watch a class with the instructor that will be teaching your child first. Even after make sure they don't sub out the teacher (which happened to us). AVAC gave us our money back but hwo are they going to give us back a little girl who used to love the water?
barna d. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

03/29/2009, 12:18 PM
Good Swim School I like the school but it is EXPENSIVE!! Most teachers are great but I feel students sometimes don't make enough progress based on the teacher, their interaction with teachers etc. The classes have at most 4 kids in same age range & at similar swim level. They are pretty gentle with kids who are scared of water. The front desk staff are friendly and polite. So are the deck supervisors who always updates you on your child's progress.
San Jose U. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

03/12/2009, 10:56 AM
Parking can be a pain The gym's great. The only grouse I have is that parking can sometimes be a pain. There is swim school next door. Between 3 and 5 the swim school families park their SUVs in the AVAC parking lot even though they have been explicitly given a written policy asking them not to. The AVAC management does little to implement the policy. On a couple of occasions, I have had to drive away without working out because I could find a spot to park.
Joe S. on Insider Pages

14 years ago

03/05/2008, 10:55 AM
Fabulous Athletic Club AVAC has something for everyone from small youngsters,to seniors, and every age in between. Group fitness classes, fitness center, stretching area, and a well run pilates program with private instruction, and groupr classes .AVAC has the finest childrens swim lessons, in the valley. It is a first class, and well run club. I RECOMMEND AVAC to anyone, it is fabulous! The club is impecably clean, the staff and management are great, very friendly! The new bath area, and spas are amazing! The new Zumba classes are the most fun I have ever had in a class. The new equipment added in January is wonderful. I can not say enough about the way the owners continually upgrade the facility annually with new equipment, remodels and obviously they re-invest into the club. I hear from other members the owners have done this for over 30 years! The senior wellness program offers many activities to a large senior membership, trips, cooking series, socials, and movies.The tennis at AVAC is also great with 11 lighted courts, and a low member to court ratio; many USTA teams, a very active program.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.