Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Admiral Fitzroy Inn

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.7
786 reviews
|Hospitality|Newport, RI 02840

398 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840

(401) 848-8000

https://www.admiralfitzroy.com/

Open now:9:00 am - 9:00 pm

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Hospitality in your area
5.0
(1) · Travel Services

53 Narragansett Ave

(401) 423-3377

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(4) · Wedding Planning

68 Dorrance St

(401) 419-9831

3 people are looking at this business

5.0
(1) · Hospitality

2 Maple St

(508) 634-2809
5.0
(10) · Hospitality

95 Ricard St

(774) 306-2078

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(7) · Hospitality

341 Dartmouth St

(508) 994-7200

2 people are looking at this business

5.0
(11) · Hospitality

71 Ruggles Ave

(401) 847-6340

1 person is looking at this business

About

Dudley Newton 1898 European style - Near Harbor.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.7
786 reviews
5581
  
4164
  
331
  
27
  
11
  
2 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
tfinnphd on Trip Advisor

4 months ago

05/24/2021, 01:55 AM
Perfect Newport Getaway We were looking for a B and B in the heart of Newport for a quick two night getaway and the Admiral Fitzroy was the perfect place. Not only was the Inn located in the heart of downtown on Thames St., the staff clearly has a heart for their guests. Jennifer, the innkeeper, was warm, welcoming, and quick to respond to whatever we needed. All of her recommendations for restaurants and local activities were right on and the breakfasts in the bright and cozy dining room were great. Even though it's still COVID protocol, we loved that we could still pick what we wanted for breakfast, the time that we wanted it, and it was ready on a tray for us to eat when we got downstairs. The Inn is central to all the Newport shops, eateries, and sights and is across from the Brown and Howard Wharf area on Thames St. We were able to walk anywhere we wanted and, if not for a short trip to Greenvale Vineyards we never would have had to move our car. The Inn has a private parking lot in the rear so parking downtown was not an issue. The Admiral's public spaces were lovely with colorful hand painted walls and comfortable seating. We enjoyed playing backgammon in the living room and watching sunsets from the roof-top deck. We stayed in room #12 on the third floor that had a queen bed and a large separate sitting area with two chairs, TV, fridge, and a day bed. We loved our stay and would definitely return next time we need a place to "anchor" in Newport. We'd highly recommend the Admiral Fitzroy.
scargillbrian on Trip Advisor

4 months ago

05/23/2021, 11:11 AM
Weekend Getaway The Inn was nice and the staff very friendly and helpful. Located on Thames, the location was great for walking to restaurants & shopping but there was some street noise at night. If we visit Newport again, we would likely stay a block off Thames.
Business Response:

Thanks so much for your honest review. Unfortunately you cannot have both a great street-side location within walking distance to everything in downtown Newport with private on-site parking and a roof top deck, AND the quiet of a country inn! But we are glad you gave us a try and enjoyed your stay.

tplawt41 on Trip Advisor

4 months ago

05/23/2021, 01:44 AM
Great Place to stay and very close to everything!!! The room was great and plenty of room for us. The location is great and very close to the restaurant and shopping!!! The check in was flawless and the staff couldn't be any nicer to us. We would stay there again and would recommend it to our friends!!!!
Featured content
How to respond to negative reviews - business owners guide

How to respond to negative reviews - business owners guide

How to respond to negative reviews - business owners guide
Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?
dslamguy on Trip Advisor

4 months ago

05/22/2021, 14:54 PM
Nice small hotel (not really a B&B) This is a nice small private hotel. The rooms are nicely appointed and there is an elevator. The location is right near the vibrant downtown waterfront. Great rooftop deck with a very nice view. There were a few things that were not perfect. Very small bathroom with no countertop at all, but it is a historic hotel, so you get what you get. Breakfast choices are fine, but its not a hot breakfast and everything is premade/prepackaged. The fruit cup was fresh berry medley, so that was better than average. We stayed for 3 nights and one day, my son was visiting for the day. We asked if he could park in the lot during the day and they said no. This was not very accommodating. The parking lot was never full during the day.
Fairfield8 on Trip Advisor

4 months ago

05/22/2021, 09:39 AM
Great getaway This is one of our favorite inns--warm and friendly staff and great location in the center of a wonderful city. You can walk within minutes to great restaurants, gelato, fudge and small shops. We also love using it as a base for long walks to the Cliff Walk, mansions and Fort Adams.
Business Response:

We so appreciate that we remain one of your favorites! Thanks so much for returning.

LightPacker675137 on Trip Advisor

4 months ago

05/22/2021, 07:44 AM
Great Stay We stayed during pandemic/masks required/social distancing and it was still a great stay. Our room and bathroom were spacious. Breakfast was tasty. The location was the main reason I booked. We wanted a place that was walking distance to most things and included parking. We would stay again.
Business Response:

Your final note is what we live for! We look forward to hosting you in the future!! Thank you for taking the time to let us know we made your stay enjoyable despite pandemic protocol!

charles c on Trip Advisor

4 months ago

05/22/2021, 05:58 AM
Adm Fitzroy Inn Spring Weekend Even though the weather was cold, snowy and rainy, the Admiral Fitzroy Inn was a warm, welcoming environment, with fresh baked cookies awaiting us on arrival. Our suite was large, spacious, and warm, with a nice sitting area. We received a complimentary bottle of wine and a vase of flowers to brighten our stay. Although the breakfast had to be Covid compliant, we were able to make our selections from a list they provided and there was a tray waiting for us each morning. Choices included fresh fruit, yogurt, freshly baked breads, and a meat & cheese plate. We could either eat in the dining area or take it to our room. Everyone was friendly and knowledgable about things to do in the area. Since the Inn in centrally located, once you park in their lot, you can walk to the wharfs, stores and restaurants. I highly recommend the Admiral Fitzroy Inn for a nice getaway.
Business Response:

We take this as quite a compliment to be able to offer you a happy place even during inclement weather!! We so appreciate the detailed review.

Shannon G on Trip Advisor

5 months ago

04/26/2021, 14:24 PM
Great location! Stayed here on a New England visit with my husband. The fresh baked cookies were SO good! The breakfast was plentiful and delicious even though it's covid times and has changed a bit. The beautiful rooftop patio made a great spot for an afternoon glass of wine and our morning breakfast! The rooms were spacious and the place was very clean! The staff was welcoming and polite. Overall, we'd stay here again!
Business Response:

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here and the weather was nice enough for you to enjoy our roof top deck! We hope to see you again soon!

Xiaoyu Q on Trip Advisor

5 months ago

04/18/2021, 05:06 AM
pleasant stay We had a good stay at Admiral Fitzroy--first thing to say, they have very comfortable beddings comparable with star hotels, which was beyond our expectation! We slept very well after enjoying cliff walk during daytime. The room was clean and cozy; staff friendly and they really had considerate practices under the covid background. The price is decent among those Newport inn/hotels.
Business Response:

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! We continue to remain covid compliant and do everything we can to keep our staff and guests safe. So happy you had a good night's sleep after walking the Cliff Walk! We hope to see you again soon.

Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.