Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

3rd Gear Customs

Claimed
4.4
69 reviews
|Body Shops|Temecula, CA 92590

27620 Commerce Center Dr #110, Ste 110, Temecula, CA 92590

(512) 203-9487

http://www.3rdgearcustoms.com/about-us.html

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Top Automotive in your area
5.0
(3) · Automotive

8635 Commerce Ave

(858) 566-8807
5.0
(5) · Automotive

36705 Perez Rd

(760) 328-5669
5.0
(1) · Automotive
5.0
(2) · Automotive

2602 S Harbor Blvd

(714) 545-8287

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(4) · Automotive

68845 Perez Rd

(760) 770-0066

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(1) · Auto Detailing

8910 University Center Ln

(858) 623-8568
About

3rd Gear Customs SoCal custom paint shop in Temecula Ca is a locally owned automotive garage that specializes in custom paint and restoration finishes.

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.4
69 reviews
534
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
16
  
29 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
khadijah N on BBB

2 years ago

06/28/2019, 10:51 AM
On 19 Jan 2018 I dropped off my truck for a full restoration. I was promised it would be done upon my return from deployment in August 2018. When I got back I was told he would need until Sept 2018. Sept came; he said he needed another month. Oct 2018 came; he said he needed two more months. Dec 2018 came; he said he would have it done by the New Year. Jan 2019 came. I went to his shop to find the doors he replaced mine with were not the right ones. They were for a 2008-2016. My truck is a 2001. This was discovered when he went to put my panels on and the pegs did not line up with the holes in the door. He claimed he could not find the right ones anywhere. A couple of weeks later, I got tired of waiting for him to locate the right doors and came upon a salvage yard that looked like they would have them. I gave him their phone number. He never called them. Feb 2019 came; he said he needed another month. March 2019 came. I went to pick up my truck. Right off the bat, he tells me he broke the lock to my toolbox and just gives me a blank stare. I'm not sure why he didn't just replace the $4.00 part and give me a new key instead. Before I even got it in the truck I had to ask him to for two missing bolts that secured metal rods from my bed to my frame, two missing nuts from the bumper, and my radio antenna. I found that my CB antenna was not reinstalled. Instead, it was just thrown in the back of the cab. My CB radio handle had been broken off, and my driver’s side lumbar did not work. It wasn’t until I got home that I realized it was missing two striker bolts (one for each back, half door)…yes, the things that keep your door closed and secure. When I sent him a text in frustration he replied with, “For a 95% tear down and restoration…We have literally 4 or 5 bolts/minor issues.” So the 4 screws that hold the 2 striker bolts on, that bear 50% of the load to keep the door closed are considered “minor” to him. After a more thorough look, I realized there was a missing a kick panel and the two U-bolts from my bed that hold safety chains when towing a fifth wheel. As I write this review, I am still waiting on those parts. Later in March, I called the same salvage yard I gave him the number to in Jan 2019 and found they had the correct doors in stock. I ordered them and drew up a legal contract that he had to sign since the doors he put on my truck were considered a safety hazard and could have his shop shut down for putting a customer at risk. In the contract he was responsible for painting the new doors and swapping them with the incorrect ones. It also had a deadline of three weeks, which he still missed by a few days. After picking up my truck the second time, there was a wind noise from the driver’s side that was extremely loud because he did not align the doors correctly. I have since taken my truck to a reputable shop who is now fixing all of the issues caused by 3rd Gear Customs. Throughout this entire evolution, he has NEVER initiated contact through email, text, Messenger, or phone except to let me know when my next installment was due for payment. He promised he would send me pictures and updates while I was deployed, which never happened. When I returned to the states, it was the same lack of communication. Only after several failed attempts to reach him would I luck out and he would happen to answer his phone. On one occasion I asked if he received my voicemail and he said he doesn’t ever listen to his voicemails. What kind of small business relies only on Facebook Messenger as a primary means of communication? This one. I had to make several trips to his shop just to see what progress (if any) was being made. I live 50 miles away so this was a huge inconvenience. The only consistent communication he had with me was when I drew up legal documents holding him accountable for the doors, and when I posted my horrible experience on Google and Facebook. Only then did he initiate a text to say, “I will be filing slander suit 1st thing in the morning. Remove the review in 10 minutes”. He is a liar and a crook that takes on jobs he does not know how to do. Do not trust anything he tells you. In person, he's very convincing. But once you leave he will not follow through with anything he promised.
Respond to negative reviews
Khadijah Nashagh on Facebook

2 years ago

06/26/2019, 09:02 AM
Jacob Chambers on Facebook

3 years ago

06/16/2018, 03:51 AM
Killed it on my retro paint job!! I will be using Sergio and 3rd gear customs always!!!
Featured content
Why Customers Don't Trust 5-Star Reviews

Why Customers Don't Trust 5-Star Reviews

Why Customers Don't Trust 5-Star Reviews
Why a Digital Marketing Agency Should Offer Online Reputation Management

Why a Digital Marketing Agency Should Offer Online Reputation Management

Why a Digital Marketing Agency Should Offer Online Reputation Management
James McCann on Facebook

4 years ago

02/14/2018, 01:05 AM
Sergio fixed a dent in my car without having to replace a part that 5 other auto body shops said would absolutely have to be replaced. He saved me hundreds of dollars and the finished product looks amazing. Thank you Sergio for doing such a great job and being an honest and trustworthy shop owner
Kevin Burke on Facebook

4 years ago

01/25/2018, 01:32 AM
Logan Vaughn on Facebook

4 years ago

10/02/2017, 09:13 AM
This place does amazing work! They just installed airlift performance on my subaru and they more than exceeded my expectations. Super friendly owners and they were extremely helpful in answering any questions i had!
Eva Ann on Facebook

5 years ago

10/01/2016, 09:25 AM
I am so glad I went to 3rd Gear Customs for work on my truck! They do great work, fast and to top it off they are so nice! I am extremely happy with the work they did! Will be a return customer for sure!
Stephanie Thomason on Facebook

5 years ago

07/25/2016, 01:44 AM
Andy Orozco on Facebook

5 years ago

07/22/2016, 07:01 AM
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.