Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Two Rivers Psychiatric Hospital

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
2.0
97 reviews
|Counseling & Mental Health|Kansas City, MO 64133

5121 Raytown Rd, Kansas City, MO 64133

(816) 356-5688

https://www.tworivershospital.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Healthcare in your area
5.0
(2) · Counseling & Mental Health

1711 Massachusetts St

(785) 749-4442
5.0
(1) · Counseling & Mental Health

9400 Noland Rd

(913) 438-3880
5.0
(3) · Counseling & Mental Health

13400 Briar St A

(913) 991-3974

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(1) · Psychologists

3805 N Oak Trfy Ste H

(816) 453-5566
5.0
(3) · Counseling & Mental Health

101 W 3rd St

(816) 632-6161

2 people are looking at this business

5.0
(1) · Healthcare

2619 W 6th St # A

(785) 842-2752

2 people are looking at this business

About

Two Rivers Psychiatric Hospital is a Hospital in Kansas City, MO. This facility has 105 total beds.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

2.0
97 reviews
517
  
45
  
31
  
27
  
162
  
5 reviews have no rating
  • 88 Reviews2.0Google
  • 3 Reviews2.3Insider Pages
  • 2 Reviews4.0Wellness
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
T H. on Citysearch

6 years ago

12/22/2014, 06:12 AM
After reading the online reviews of this place I was terrified about sending my loved one there. I have to say that while we did have a scary moment or two almost none of what had been written in the reviews applied to us. My loved one was in the partial hosp program and after the initial wariness wore off she was actually able to get help for the first time in years. The relief of having a diagnosis that wasn't "depression and anxiety" was enormous, having the correct diagnosis helped us get the right treatment plan in place and has made the world of difference to all of us. The staff, which my loved one initially described as uncaring and rude, turned out to be the exact opposite. Making every effort to help and accommodate her. Were there scary moments? Absolutely. Do you have to be open for treatment? ABSOLUTELY. Was it worth it? ABSOLUTELY. I would recommend this facility especially if you are at the point that nothing else is working.
TB M. on Citysearch

7 years ago

02/10/2014, 06:59 AM
This facility is nothing but a private hospital more interested in taking your money than actually helping you out. Search past articles concerning issues with Medicare and Medicaid, and nearly received sanctions for suicide patients killing themselves on site. The staff was not very sympathetic to new patients or their families, in fact were threatening and rude. Communication with family members is also not very professional and hard to come by. New patients had no idea where to go, what to do, and individual sessions were minimal. Also be sure that your insurance provider will cover it, INCLUDING any doctors that will visit. Take the time to plan ahead, read reviews on other sites, and if you really love the person you are about to place in their care I wish you luck. You will need it.
Jennifer C. on Insider Pages

8 years ago

04/04/2013, 05:47 AM
HELL ON EARTH Never, ever, ever, ever go to this hospital. I have yet to hear a single good thing about it. Most of the problems I have heard are out of the adolescent unit. I was deluded and thought that surely the psychiatrists who see adults are more rational. The problem is that it is not solely the psychologists who must be rational. When our insurance changed, my husband, who had for many years been taking medicine for panic attacks and anxiety, was in need of a new psychologists to prescribe this. After a particularly bad week of panic attacks, we went to our primary care physicians office to request a referral. They said that the fastest way to get him his anti-anxiety medication that day was to go to an outpatient psychologist at one of the local mental health hospitals. We randomly chose Two Rivers because it was closest to me. Mistake #1: Get a referral based on something other than proximity. We asked to be assessed for an out-patient psychologist. In spite of repeatedly stating that we were only interested in out-patient treatment, we were there for over an hour before they admitted that they dont do out-patient treatment. By that time we were behind a locked door. During that hour, they had lied to us repeatedly on numerous points. Mistake #2: Dont let them take you behind a locked door to talk to you and dont trust anything they say to get you there. Once you are behind a locked door, YOU CANNOT LEAVE. It doesnt matter how old, how sane, how calm you are you are giving up the right to leave on your own terms if you walk behind their locked door. My husband made a flippant remark about how his anxiety about going to work was making him want to drive off a bridge on the way there. Mistake #3: Their staff is unable to discern hyperbole from actual threat. They decided to involuntarily commit him. They could not be convinced that he was not a threat to anyone, including himself, even though he was perfectly rational. The bottom line is that my husband found himself locked up when we declined in-patient help and said wed go home and make an appointment with a local psychologist. Were they really concerned about him? Or about money walking out the door?
Respond to negative reviews
Featured content
The Ultimate Guide to Responding to Reviews

The Ultimate Guide to Responding to Reviews

The Ultimate Guide to Responding to Reviews
How to respond to bad reviews and repair your online reputation

How to respond to bad reviews and repair your online reputation

How to respond to bad reviews and repair your online reputation
Jennifer C. on Insider Pages

8 years ago

04/04/2013, 04:23 AM
HELL ON EARTH Never, ever, ever, ever go to this hospital. I have yet to hear a single good thing about it. Most of the problems I have heard are out of the adolescent unit. I was deluded and thought that surely the psychiatrists who see adults are more rational. The problem is that it is not solely the psychologists who must be rational.
Respond to negative reviews
Jenn C. on Citysearch

8 years ago

04/04/2013, 02:55 AM
Never, ever, ever go to this hell on earth. In spite of repeatedly stating that we had only been referred here for OUT-PATIENT, we were there for over an hour before they admitted that they don’t do out-patient treatment. By that time we were behind a locked door. During that hour, they had lied to us repeatedly on numerous points. Don’t let them take you behind a locked door to talk to you and don’t trust anything they say to get you there. Once you are behind a locked door, YOU CANNOT LEAVE. It doesn’t matter how old, how sane, how calm you are – you are giving up the right to leave on your own terms if you walk behind their locked door. The bottom line is that my husband found himself locked up when we declined in-patient help and said we’d go home and make an appointment with a local psychiatrist. Were they really concerned about him? Or about money walking out the door? It's like the 1930s here. I'm afraid when I go back for my husband he's going to have had a lobotomy performed.
Anonymous on Wellness

10 years ago

06/07/2011, 05:38 AM
Anonymous on Wellness

10 years ago

06/07/2011, 01:21 AM
Bertha Ann on Citysearch

10 years ago

03/31/2011, 02:32 AM
Watch Out! – If Two River's mobile assessment unit is called in for evaluation, you will be given no options or choices. If you push back, the mobile assessment rep will file legal papers to take your rights away…they will lock you up in their facility for 96 hours and not let you leave. Their treatment/care is very concerning…
Irene R. on Insider Pages

16 years ago

08/26/2005, 02:25 AM
Very Helpful to our family This hospital has helped many families in the Kansas City area for many years. They have many doctors affiliated with this hospital. This hospital has a special place in my heart because it helped our family and I know it can help yours.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.