Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

The Lancaster Hotel

Own this business?

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.7
487 reviews
|Hotels|Houston, TX 77002

701 Texas Ave, Houston, TX 77002

(713) 228-9500

https://www.thelancaster.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Hospitality in your area
5.0
(1) · Hotels

900 Rogers Ct

(281) 316-9750

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(105) · Hospitality

942 5th St

(281) 339-3143

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(28) · Hospitality

17617 North Fwy

(281) 895-8989
About

This luxury hotel is a noted downtown landmark. The interior offers fine antiques, beautiful artwork and plush rooms. Geared toward the business traveler, each room features voice mail and call forwarding systems and a private in-room fax machine. In-room CD and VCR players and a fully stocked mini bar provide diversions after a day of meetings. The hotel restaurant, Bistro Lancaster, offers an array of delicacies from Cajun to Italian to Mexican dishes.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.7
487 reviews
5381
  
460
  
315
  
22
  
116
  
13 reviews have no rating
  • 471 Reviews4.7Google
  • 3 Reviews1.7Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Earl J. on Citysearch

8 years ago

06/09/2013, 11:54 AM
Thank you for giving the most relaxing week of my travels! I really appreciate the effort that you guys have shown just to make sure that my room is always clean.
LocalOfficer on Citysearch

9 years ago

09/16/2011, 03:14 AM
Poor service, incompetent billing department – We stayed there 1 night for our aniversary. We have stayed at other boutique hotels, and though not nearly as luxurious as others we have visited, I thought the Lancaster was fairly nice and quaint. We went to Jones Hall, and the location was great. The issues started a couple of days after we left, when they overcharged us by $300 for out stay. I discovered that their accounting dept doesn't seem to ever answer their phones, only take messages and call back several hours later. It took a couple of days to convince them that I checked out when I said I did. Evidently, the bistro reopened by bill to charge me for a free breakfast (???) that my package included, and never closed the bill. Shortly after being told that they were issuing the refund, I get charged another $3.99, 4 days after I checked out. Other than to make sure that I am annoyed enough to never return, I have no idea what the additional charge could be for. Of course, I am waiting for accounting to call me back, since they are the only ones that can answer a question, and they don't answer their phone.
anne r. on Insider Pages

10 years ago

02/18/2011, 00:27 AM
Bad Experience The night we stayed there, we valet parked our car with the Lancaster Hotel. After another valet service's driver tore up 6 vehicles "joy riding" in the parking lot where the Lancaster valet service parked it, the Lancaster staff says "we are not responsible. The valet service is a separate company". Now we learn there is NO INSURANCE to repair our cars! DO NOT SYAY THERE and NEVER PARK YOUR CAR WITH THE LANCASTER OR THE RICE HOTEL!
Featured content
5 common CX metrics: What they measure and where they fall short

5 common CX metrics: What they measure and where they fall short

5 common CX metrics: What they measure and where they fall short
How to Track Competitor's Customer Reviews and Use Them to Your Advantage

How to Track Competitor's Customer Reviews and Use Them to Your Advantage

How to Track Competitor's Customer Reviews and Use Them to Your Advantage
Sandy612 on Citysearch

10 years ago

01/13/2011, 10:02 AM
Worst Service – If I could give this hotel 0 stars, I would. I made a reservation to this hotel and then changed it to add an extra night of stay. I received confirmation of the change. However, when I arrived at the hotel, they told me that I did not change my reservation, even though I had a printout of my confirmation. They did not apologize or try to assure me that they would make it right, they just kept saying that I didn't change my reservation. Then, they tried to force me into a smoking room, saying that I wouldn't notice the difference. I noticed the difference right away. The room was disgusting, with the smell of smoke only slightly overpowered by the massive potpourri they used. The chair by the bed had a cigarrette burn in it, even though I was assured that they removed all the furniture in the room to get rid of the smoke smell. When I got back from my trip, my travel agent called the manager to ask what had happened. The manager was ridiculously rude and accused the agent of lying about changing the reservation, even though the agent had proof that he did in fact change it! I can't imagine a more ridiculous "customer service." From now on, I'm staying somewhere else.
Sharon Z. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

03/08/2010, 08:57 AM
Will not recommend This hotel is rating itself as a 4 star hotel but trully it's not! Rooms are so tired and really need some updating. Staff is friendly, but if they wouldn't mislead their customer, I would give it a 4 star rating. I liked the food, but then again my room had stained furniture, TV is super old school, marbled vanity in the bathroom was all covered in rust. Very disappointing :(
Respond to negative reviews
Irene W. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

03/08/2010, 01:57 AM
Sad... This hotel used to be so cozy, beautiful and very special, so much has changed since the last time we have stayed there. I don't think I will be back until they will do a much needed renovation...
SteveRad on Citysearch

12 years ago

02/19/2009, 01:46 AM
A Good Romantic Getaway – OK.. so maybe I'm biased because we spent our wedding night at the Lancaster, but I really like this hotel. It is small, elegant, and close to all the action downtown. They usually have weekend specials for romantic weekends that are reasonably priced and great to plan with a show or concert. Now that downtown Houston is a happening place, this is a fantastic choice for a romantic weekend getaway without having to fly anywhere. If you are like me, it is hard to check off the "romantic" box with your wife... this one totally works.
TheBestCritic on Citysearch

14 years ago

07/14/2007, 06:28 AM
Way over rated... – We selected the Lancaster Hotel for our wedding night based on the reviews from City Search. We booked a Deluxe King room through Expedia and prepaid. When we arrived they only had a Queen room, a bit of a disappointment but we thought we would make the best of it. It was down hill from there. No TV remote in the room, the toilet malfunctioned during the night and would not work, the outlet in the bathroom worked intermittently, the towels were old worn and frayed, the shower head was horrible, there was no plug for the bath tub, and soundproofing in the rooms was that of Holiday Inn. We are both seasoned global travelers spend over fifteen nights a month in hotels throughout the world, so we have goods points of relativity for judging. The room and decor was nice, the TV was Seventies Vintage, and the bathroom in dire need of updating. I would not recommend this hotel, nor will we return. The restaurant looked very nice, but we did not dine there. The location is great, but that did not overcome the negatives. The staff was nonchalant, with minimal regrets for the substandard conditions. Houston has much, much better accommodations to offer in the same price range; I suggest you explore your options before selecting the Lancaster. Oh yeah, if you have a car there is a per day parking charge which is WAY out of line for Houston. They don?t tell you about this when making reservations.
Contributor on Citysearch

14 years ago

02/14/2007, 07:54 AM
Small luxury hotel charms guests with English manor looks, and status as one of Houston's historic downtown landmarks. – In Short The Lancaster, now surrounded by Theater District performance halls, was built in 1926 in the neighborhood where the city first took root. Eighteenth-century art and antiques adorn the interior, and rooms are wired for two-line speaker telephones, modem ports and private-line fax machines. Bistro Lancaster specializes in regional American food, such as fettuccine with lobster and black caviar, grilled quail salad, and grilled leg of south Texas antelope.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.