Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

The Craig

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
3.8
47 reviews
|Nursing Schools|Amarillo, TX 79106

5500 SW 9th Ave, Amarillo, TX 79106

(806) 352-7244

https://erseniorliving.com/the-craig/

Open now:12:00 am - Midnight

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
About

The Craig Senior Living is the premier choice for senior living in Amarillo. You will feel right at home within our welcoming and comfortable community. Fill your days however you would like with an abundance of events and activities. As a continuing care retirement community (CCRC) we offer services at multiple levels including Assisted Living Medicare Rehabilitation Independent Living & Senior Apartments Long-term care Nursing Home The Craig Senior Living is the premier choice for senior living in Amarillo. You will feel right at home within our welcoming and comfortable community. Fill your days however you would like with an abundance of events and activities. As a continuing care retire

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

3.8
47 reviews
526
  
42
  
32
  
22
  
19
  
6 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Sharrise Ball on Facebook

a year ago

10/25/2020, 09:48 AM
My family’s experience with The Craig was, at the very least, frustrating and disappointing. My mother moved into the memory care unit in Windflower in January 2020. There was a complete lack of communication from the facility to family that just got worse as months went by. Both her cochleae implant device and hearing aid were lost as well as her eyeglasses and all clothing we took and labeled for her from the start. Her teeth were not being brushed, she was not being showered regularly and it was evident by the appearance of her skin and hair. When asked about anything of concern we were always told they would check into it and get back to us. No one took the time to check into it or to return any calls regarding anything. Our inability to get into the facility at all due to COVID only complicated matters. As for her daily care, their lack of compassion regarding her Alzheimer’s disease was staggering and upsetting since they run a memory care facility expressly for people like her. Her wandering within the locked facility and need for redirection seemed to be something that was unacceptable. They demanded, after zero communication with family that there was an issue at all, that she be transferred to a behavioral health facility in Plainview immediately. After many conference calls trying to gain information and their refusal to give any concrete information as to why this was necessary, the administrator, Steve Schmidt, resorted to bullying tactics and an immediate discharge letter stating my mom would be dropped off at her house. During this time I was speaking to lots of people in the industry to try to figure out why they would be attempting to send her to a behavioral health facility, it became clear to me that they had also made her look like a risk for other facilities to take on and she was declined by 3 other area facilities because of their notations. None of the things noted in her chart were ever reported to our family until they were calling and demanding an immediate transfer. Fortunately for our family and for my mom, she is now in a wonderful facility in Wheeler, TX. They care about my mom as a person and work with keeping her busy to reduce her wandering. None of the claims of aggressive behavior by The Craig have been duplicated or seen by the behavioral health facility she was sent to in Pampa nor the facility in Wheeler. It is an awful feeling to leave your loved one in a facility in the first place. The Craig failed my mom and my family at every turn. I would not recommend The Windflower unit for memory or long term care to anyone. Our experience was only negative and absolutely heart breaking to have to put my mom through. This place needs an overhaul from the top all the way down. Poor management, zero communication and lack of compassionate care.
Sharrise Ball on Facebook

a year ago

10/25/2020, 09:47 AM
Kaitlin Ruiz on Facebook

a year ago

10/13/2020, 08:13 AM
I’m sharing my personal experience working at the Craig from January- feb. I loved it all in all, the staff was nice as for most of the managers. There was an incident where one of the newer managers Barbara (which I was in orientation with) handled a situation very unprofessionally. Embarrassing us waitresses at the time. She purposely would pick favorites and even though I was only there for a month or so as new as she, based off reasons which had nothing to do with my work ethic or concerns. She sent me home Friday afternoon and wouldn’t tell me why, made me come in once Monday to “talk” and sent me home again. All During hardship w Covid-19 I finally call on Tuesday and they finally stopped beating around the bush. I was told by the woman who hired me that “we are going to go ahead and let you go because we can’t go over Barbara’s head”. My aunt also worked there for years and said it’s not always a fair place to work at. She has her personal reasons to stay though. She tried to help get my job back but I had nothing, no power but to file for unemployment. Which I did receive, they tried to tell the unemployment office that they fired me but sent me home the first day for no specific reason that was aware to me and boom like that on Tuesday it was taken from me. My friend/former coworker is a CNA there and loves it. But as far as the kitchen/dining staff apply with caution in my personal experience.
Featured content
Introducing Birdeye Interactions

Introducing Birdeye Interactions

Introducing Birdeye Interactions
How to respond to negative feedback from a customer

How to respond to negative feedback from a customer

How to respond to negative feedback from a customer
Berkley Robertson on Facebook

2 years ago

03/06/2020, 03:57 AM
Verónica Weinheimer on Facebook

2 years ago

03/06/2020, 03:57 AM
Twila Brame Compton on Facebook

2 years ago

12/05/2019, 04:52 AM
My mom just moved into the independent living at The Craig! I have been in this community for years seeing residents in my profession. Being on this side of it is amazing! Everyone has been exceptionally sweet to my mom and very helpful! They have so many activities and they truly care about their residents. It is in a great location with everything she needs just a few blocks away, Walmart, United, Walgreens and many eating choices for the meals not provided. It’s comforting to know my mom is in good hands. Highly recommend The Craig!
Loretta Conn on Facebook

3 years ago

12/16/2018, 03:34 AM
I worked there 7 years the best job I ever had loved all the residents and staff.
Barbara Rudd on Facebook

3 years ago

10/27/2018, 14:04 PM
Very friendly - good food - nice activities - bus service to plays and symphony - Craig auto to doctors - grocery delivery available - well kept facilities beautiful grounds and small lakes and gazebo
Amber Cox on Facebook

3 years ago

09/14/2018, 14:17 PM
I work at The Craig, and I couldn’t be at a better community. Hands down one of the best places to work in Amarillo! I believe my colleagues are simply the best and truly care about the community and our residents. Beautiful place, with a family friendly atmosphere/environment.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.