Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

The Camera Company

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.6
389 reviews
|Consumer Goods|Madison, WI 53719

6742 Odana Rd, Madison, WI 53719

(608) 234-5280

https://cameracompany.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Consumer Goods in your area
5.0
(3) · Embroidery & Crochet

1021 N Spring St

(920) 356-1129

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(3) · Electronics

2515 Frazier Ave

(608) 221-7500
5.0
(37) · Consumer Goods

305 N Industrial Park Rd

(608) 764-5343

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(6) · Computers

2965 Cahill Main

(608) 288-0100
5.0
(4) · Consumer Goods

10 Liberty St

(608) 764-3114
5.0
(4) · Kitchen Supplies

3854 Laudon Rd

(608) 628-8884
About

History Established in 1977. Edmund Erickson and Ward Lundgren opened their first store on the capitol square in 1977. At the time Ed was a sales rep in the photo industry and Ward was working at Lundgren Camera in Rockford Illinois. The Camera Company now has three locations and offers the largest selection of camera gear and photo processing services in the area.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.6
389 reviews
5285
  
455
  
314
  
23
  
113
  
19 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Madison M. review for The Camera Company
Madison M. on BirdEye

4 months ago

09/29/2021, 14:22 PM
I've shopped at the Camera Company for all of my photographic needs since 1994 and their top notch staff and expert advice have always assisted me in making the right choice the first time. Today, September 29 2021 was no different I was serviced by Wendy, a CC sales associate and I inquired if they had the metal split triangle tabs that you attach to the camera metal nub atop the camera inorder to attach a camera neck strap. Without hesitation Wendy secured two metal triangle tabs. I asked if there was any charge for this item and she said no charge. Talk about going the extra mile for a customer. This comes as no surprise as I have always had excellent service in the past and today was just icing on the cake. Thankyou Wendy for your professionalism and excellent service. Its people like you that make your customers wanting to come back and to make the Camera Company their camera store of choice for all of their photographic needs!
Joanna Ivey review for The Camera Company
Joanna Ivey on Facebook

2 years ago

04/16/2020, 02:59 AM
Super knowledgeable staff- they are a tremendous resource. Print quality is fantastic as well
Ace Elliott review for The Camera Company
Ace Elliott on Facebook

2 years ago

01/06/2020, 09:47 AM
Great staff and amazing at recommending cameras of any kind. Great service also.
Featured content
How to Ask for a Review (with Templates)

How to Ask for a Review (with Templates)

How to Ask for a Review (with Templates)
How to ask for customer feedback - A go-to guide for small businesses

How to ask for customer feedback - A go-to guide for small businesses

How to ask for customer feedback - A go-to guide for small businesses
LuAnn Greiner review for The Camera Company
LuAnn Greiner on Facebook

2 years ago

11/29/2019, 03:51 AM
Friendly staff and extremely knowledgable.
Steve Noll review for The Camera Company
Steve Noll on Facebook

2 years ago

11/20/2019, 03:31 AM
Staff really knows their stuff.
Barb Steinhorst review for The Camera Company
Barb Steinhorst on Facebook

2 years ago

09/13/2019, 13:24 PM
Great service and quality.
Gil review for The Camera Company
Gil on BBB

2 years ago

08/25/2019, 05:11 AM
What a difference time seems to have made with The Camera Company. This week I found that the reason I am not receiving their newsletter for some time is that there is no newsletter any longer. Too bad because when those went out to those on the list - many things of interest about the store, sales, etc could be found. . Today, August 24, 2019 - I had the unfortunate experience in dealing with an employee at the east side Madison store. My wife and I went in for several things and we were met by this employee who seemed nice - at first. We started with a back pack camera bag for my wife. The three of us looked at several bags and we tried explaining to him that the bag we're looking for needed to be big enough to accommodate the items in my wife's current camera bag. We only brought along a picture of what that bag looked like, but it clearly showed what type of compartments we were looking for. This included a compartment where the camera could be held snugly. The ones he showed us allowed the camera (from the shelf that he brought down and about the same size as ours) to jostle about. We were then told, smugly, that camera bags are no longer made for the cameras (a Pentax K2000) of this size. All camera bags are now made for medium format cameras. We tried explaining that is not true as we found a bag with that camera compartment at Walmart, but the overall size of that bag wasn't what we were looking for. He disgustedly told us he needed to help another customer. We then watched him go to the back right of the store and putz with products on a shelf - no customer in the area. So, he simply decided to walk away from us. . While my wife continued to look for back pack camera bags, I approached another store employee about an issue I was having with a wide angle lens for my Nikon Coolpix P900. This was a lens that came bundled with the camera. The included adapter (67mm-72mm) did not allow for that lens to fit the camera. I had ordered a 67mm-82mm adapter and that was too big. This second employee was nice enough to try some things out - like a 67mm-77mm adapter. That didn't work. He found that there really aren't any other adapters in that range, even looking at the used inventory of The Camera Company and trying another adapter. He even brought over a similar wide angle lens from another company, but this one required a step-down adapter and I didn't like that as I could see the edges of the lens. We needed a step-up adapter for the lens I brought in. . This second employee then approached that first employee and was explaining things to him. I joined them and was then BLASTED by this first employee that the thread on the lens I brought in was bad - something must have happened to it. That's not true because that wide angle lens fits the marco lens that it came with - a two part lens. He then stated that the wide angle lens was not meant for DSLR cameras - it was only meant for film cameras. I asked why would Nikon bundle it then and why was a similar lens being sold in the store for DSLR lenses. He then insisted that the macro and wide angles lenses needed to be fit together for them to work. I told him I tried that and it didn't work and if that was the case why were the two pieces able to be separated. Mr. Know It All, with his attitude, then told me that the threads were bad and I was out of luck. . That first employee then walked away from his co-worker and me. The second employee apologized, but it was a moot point. I decided not to make the several purchases of items I had intended to buy at the store. . Oh, and while the three of us were talking, my wife came up and said she found a back pack camera bag that was not only large enough to fit all her camera gear, but it had a compartment to snugly fit the camera. So much for bags only fitting medium format cameras. . So, Mr. Know It All, with his holier than thou attitude, was proven wrong several times during this encounter. There was a camera bag that would work for my wife. The threads on my wide angle lens were not bad. The wide angle lens I brought in and was similar to lenses the store sells for DSLR cameras was just that - for DSLR cameras. Oh, and my camera is a BRIDGE camera - there is a difference, but he didn't seem to know or realize that. . Really unfortunate that this guy, who thinks he knows it all about cameras, gave us such an attitude. The store lost about $400.00 in sales today because of him. My wife, while this guy was lecturing me, looked up that same bag on Amazon and found it - for $10.00 cheaper. She tagged the page and we ordered it once we got home. . It's people like this first employee that intimidate and provide inaccurate information to customers. I've been involved with photography longer than this guy has been alive. Does that make me an expert? No, but I know when someone is trying to blow smoke up someone's rear end....and I proved this guy wrong several times. He didn't like it and walked away from me - twice. How many other customers does this guy treat like this? How many people not so knowledgeable about photography is he blowing smoke at? . The Camera Company is the only game in town for in-depth camera equipment and knowledge, but that's in town - not in the camera world. With employees like this one, maybe I'll just take my business elsewhere. After all, they don't sell or support Pentax cameras, my first choice in cameras, so my decision is probably justified. That K-1 camera I'll be ordering before year's end won't come from TCC - they don't sell Pentax after all. . UPDATE: On 8/25/2019 - after looking at the lens Mr. Know-It-All was playing with - the lens may be damaged now. I tried contacting TCC on their Facebook page, but after the above review on their Facebook page - they have deactivated my ability to interact with this company. CLEARLY this shows this business allows their employees to treat customers poorly, they take action against customers who try to respectfully complain to them (even if the details are "pointed"), and now I find that the lens I took in to have looked at may be damaged. This will cause me to go to another store (there is none in Madison so I'll have to go a distance) or ship it somewhere (costing me money) to have it looked at. TCC must think it real cute to treat customers this way!
Respond to negative reviews
Timothy Hansel review for The Camera Company
Timothy Hansel on Facebook

2 years ago

08/13/2019, 07:12 AM
Great customer service and selection. I go here for all of my shooting needs.
Bryan Drewyor review for The Camera Company
Bryan Drewyor on Facebook

2 years ago

07/31/2019, 20:23 PM
Very helpful staff and wonderful location and prices... Think Local and support The Camera Company!!!!
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.