Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Standard Optical

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.3
145 reviews
|Laser Eye Surgery/Lasik|Layton, UT 84041

1076 Layton Hills Mall, #2090, Layton, UT 84041

(801) 546-0255

https://www.standardoptical.net/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Healthcare in your area
5.0
(3) · Laser Eye Surgery/Lasik

1300 N 500 E #220

(435) 753-5220

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(1785) · Ophthalmologists

5241 South State Street

(866) 921-2392
5.0
(499) · Ophthalmologists

7440 South Creek Road

(801) 270-2087
4.8
(190) · Healthcare

908 N 2000 W St

(801) 492-6393

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(31) · Laser Eye Surgery/Lasik

60 S 200 E

(801) 756-4731

4 people are looking at this business

4.7
(115) · Healthcare

5532 ⛉ West Herriman Main Street #120

(801) 302-3080

3 people are looking at this business

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.3
145 reviews
5102
  
413
  
33
  
27
  
116
  
4 reviews have no rating
  • 141 Reviews4.3Google
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Desert W. on Citysearch

8 years ago

10/11/2013, 10:01 AM
The customer service was good 99% of the time. Unfortunately, the end products (2 pairs of glasses) were horrible. It took 3-1/2 & 4 weeks for the glasses to be delivered. Then they were delivered separately requiring two trips to the store.. Each time, there were problems with the glasses. The no line bifocals were completely incorrect. The paper I was asked to read with the new glasses would not come into focus regardless of positioning. I've worn no-line bifocals for 5 years and understand their use. It took some discussion before it was acknowledged that the bifocals were not placed correctly. They finally determined the glasses needed to be re-manufactured. I asked for a refund on the glasses ($918) but was told that Standard Optical has a no refund policy. I pointed out that it had been 4 weeks and the error was theirs. Another week into the process and they finally conceded to refund $150 but no more. and the glasses would be sent back to the manufacturer. The new timeline is now approaching 8 weeks. Between repeated trips into the store, the phone calls and the unsatisfactory results, I'm not a happy camper. UPDATE: The re-manufactured glasses were still incorrect. A re-examination was scheduled but it was 10 days later before an evening appointment was available. Before the scheduled re-examination I contacted Standard Optical Home Office in SLC and left a voice message. A call was received the next day from the store in Layton stating that a full refund would be issued. Everyone was very courteous when I returned for the refund. This story began on July 26 and closed on September 24.
timnerwolf919 on Citysearch

10 years ago

11/17/2011, 11:19 AM
Confident in services and product – This will be the third time I've purchased from Standard Optical in the Layton Hills Mall. Every time I have been received in a short amount of time, the receptionists have been more than helpful, and transfer of prescriptions to and from the store have gone smoothly. Dr. Purdy has been more than accommodating and was very clear about the procedures he was performing as well as telling me in plain terms what I can expect from my eyes in the future. Although he recommended contact lenses that were a little more expensive than I wanted to pay, he was more than happy to work with WalMart/1800contacts in order to get me into lenses that fit my budget. Now, although I have appreciated the service, I have noted that their frame prices aren't upfront - everything is coded as a 'dot' or 'star'. I was given a list, however, to reference the frames, and the receptionists were more than helpful in determining which ones were right for me (even mentioning in a kind way that certain frames just didn't look good on me - which I requested). Also, although the frames weren't the most inexpensive things in the world, the receptionists were very informative on deals they had, and I was able to secure two complete pairs (with polycarbonate lenses) for about 160 each. Killer deal, if you ask me. I would absolutely recommend checking this location out.
WCSofUtah on Citysearch

10 years ago

08/26/2011, 11:37 AM
Standard Optical Violates Utah Optometry Practice Act – I (L.G.Hill) had an eye exam at Standard Optical in April of 2010. They wrote me two prescriptions, one for clear contacts and one for colored contacts. In July 2011 I attempted to order contacts from another supplier and when Standard Optical was contacted they refused to provide my prescription, saying it was expired. The other supplier called them back and informed them that according to Utah Law contact lens prescriptions are valid for two years, unless documented medical reasons require otherwise. Standard Optical then provided the prescription for clear contact lenses. I informed the other supplier that I wanted the prescription for the colored contact lenses. They called Standard Optical a third time and they refused to supply the prescription for the colored lenses. I called Standard Optical myself and requested the prescription and they refused my request as well. I then obtained a copy of the Utah Optometry Practice Act from the website of the Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing and took it in to Standard Optical. They still refused to provide me with a copy of my prescription. I requested that they show me the "documented medical reasons" in my file for why they would not provide the prescription. They gave me a copy of my examination record which did not document any medical reason why my prescription would not be valid for two years. I sent the copy of my examination records (which included the two prescriptions) to the other contact lens supplier and they were in the process of filling my order on August 25th, 2011, when Standard Optical faxed them a notice that said my prescription was expired because I had not had an annual examination. Standard Optical is in violation of the Utah Optometry Practice Act because they refused to provide me with a copy of my prescription (which according to Utah law did not expire for another nine months) and there are no documented medical reasons that would require the prescription expire prior to the two years specified by Utah law.
Featured content
The Ultimate Guide to Responding to Reviews

The Ultimate Guide to Responding to Reviews

The Ultimate Guide to Responding to Reviews
Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?

Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?

Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?
Dbug41 on Citysearch

11 years ago

01/19/2010, 12:56 PM
Horrible Customer Service – I don't know why I got stuck with this guy but in my experience his integrity is crap I ordered glasses in Dec and I'm still waiting go some place else and do yourself a favor i'm sure other people in there are cool but its worth not going if your giong to get stuck dealing with this guy LAME!!!
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.