Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Spring Valley Animal Hospital

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.7
144 reviews
|Emergency Pet Hospital|Arcadia Lakes, SC 29223

8913 Two Notch Rd, Arcadia Lakes, SC 29223

(803) 788-8481

https://www.svanimalhospital.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Healthcare in your area
4.9
(291) · Healthcare

124 Stonemark Ln

(803) 750-7387

10 people are looking at this business

4.8
(213) · Emergency Pet Hospital

452 Old Cherokee Rd

(803) 359-0700

3 people are looking at this business

4.7
(524) · Emergency Pet Hospital

912 Daly St

(803) 254-9257

3 people are looking at this business

4.7
(192) · Emergency Pet Hospital

3947 Platt Springs Rd

(803) 755-6888

10 people are looking at this business

4.7
(218) · Emergency Pet Hospital

3214 Platt Springs Rd

(803) 939-9061

1 person is looking at this business

About

Spring Valley Animal Hospital provides comprehensive veterinary services for the convenience of our clients. Serving Columbias pet community since 1978, our staff includes full and part-time vet techs as well as an on-site groomer. We provide a general medical practice that includes surgical, dental, emergency services during business hours and a full grooming and boarding facility.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.7
144 reviews
5121
  
412
  
35
  
21
  
13
  
2 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Randi C. on Citysearch

7 years ago

03/12/2015, 15:34 PM
We love Spring Valley Animal Hospital! After I purchased an 8-week old Great Pyrenees, I knew how important it would be to find a great Veterinarian. It was equally important to find a hospital that our puppy Leena could grow with through vet care, boarding, and grooming all in the same place! We definitely found that at Spring Valley Animal Hospital. The Receptionist couldn't have been any more helpful and pleasant - the Dr and Tech were wonderful and patient with her, and answered all of my questions and addressed concerns - the Groomer was also top notch. Leena came out looking like a million bucks and smelled fantastic, without breaking the bank :)
Randi C. on Insider Pages

7 years ago

03/12/2015, 03:51 AM
GREAT Vet & Groomer! We love Spring Valley Animal Hospital! After I purchased an 8-week old Great Pyrenees, I knew how important it would be to find a great Veterinarian. It was equally important to find a hospital that our puppy Leena could grow with through vet care, boarding, and grooming all in the same place! We definitely found that at Spring Valley Animal Hospital. The Receptionist couldn't have been any more helpful and pleasant - the Dr and Tech were wonderful and patient with her, and answered all of my questions and addressed concerns - the Groomer was also top notch. Leena came out looking like a million bucks and smelled fantastic, without breaking the bank :)
J M. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

03/08/2011, 06:38 AM
MISDIAGNOSED 2 TORN ACL'S EVEN AFTER X-RAYS! PLEASE DO NOT TAKE YOUR PET TO SPRING VALLEY ANIMAL HOSPITAL!!
Respond to negative reviews
Featured content
How to use video chat for customer service in 2021

How to use video chat for customer service in 2021

How to use video chat for customer service in 2021
Net Promoter Score Explained

Net Promoter Score Explained

Net Promoter Score Explained
A B M on Citysearch

11 years ago

03/07/2011, 04:32 AM
MISDIAGNOSED 2 TORN ACL'S EVEN AFTER X-RAYS!! – PLEASE DO NOT TAKE YOUR PET TO SPRING VALLEY ANIMAL HOSPITAL!! To put it briefly- they completely missed that my lab tore BOTH of his ACL's, even AFTER taking X-RAYS!! If you need more info to convince you not to take your animal there, please keep reading... We just moved to Columbia in Nov 2010 and decided to take our two dogs to Spring Valley Animal Hospital. In Dec. 2010 we took our Black Lab back into the doctor because he was limping and it seemed like some days were worse than others. The doctor said he couldn't feel that anything was wrong and maybe he just ran too hard and maybe he was sore. We were to bring him back if the limping continued. Jan. 2011- We bring our lab back into Dr. Alexander because he wasn't getting any better and in fact sometimes the limp would be on the left back leg and other times on the back right leg. We took him in for X-Rays on a Saturday morning. Besides the fact that we had to wait close to three hours to be seen, we wanted to find out what was going on with our dog so we waited. After the x-rays were done the basic prognosis was that he eventually will get hip dysplasia. He told us to give him over the counter Glucosamine and be prepared for hip dysplasia in his future. March 2011- Our dog is still limping and although I tend to trust the experts, I just had to get a second opinion. We took him to a new vet in Elgin (Wateree Animal Hospital) and had more x-rays done. It was very clear to the doctor that our dog had definitely torn his left ACL and his right one too! HOW DOES A VET (Dr. Alexander) WITH SO MANY YEARS EXPERIENCE MISS TWO TORN ACL'S? THANK YOU to WATEREE ANIMAL HOSPITAL for CORRECTLY DIAGNOSING MY DOG!! We are scheduled for surgery next week to complete the first of two TPLO surgeries our dog will require. Although we appreciated the way Dr. Alexander handled our two dogs, I just don't understand how something that is actually very common can be completely missed. Also if you're planning on getting your pet medications through any place but their office (which they only carry generic & none that protect against ticks) they will deny the request from any place that you want to buy it from. You will have to go to their office, pick up the prescription and mail it in because Dr. Alexander doesn't 'fax' or do 'authorizations over the phone'. Once they found out we had switched vets, they made it almost impossible to get the prescription for my smaller dog that needed Heartworm. I literally had to go to their office and demand a prescription. And when I asked if she could fax it to the company, the girl behind the counter just looked at me and said, "We don't fax." SERIOUSLY?? No problem. We are so happy to have found an amazing vet in Columbia - go Wateree!! It's funny that we have lived in Summerville, Greenville, Mount Pleasant and now Columbia- going to new vets in every location and this is the ONLY vet I would not recommend!! Please check out any other vet than Spring Valley! It could mean the difference in the health of your pet. I'm just glad we now know what's wrong with him and we look forward to seeing him back to normal after his surgeries!!
Katherine O. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

05/18/2009, 05:22 AM
Reliable, patient, and caring Dr. Alexander is a wonderful vet! He cares about our two dogs and is patient when explaining something to my husband and me. He takes a lot of time and we never feel rushed. He is also very patient with our nervous baby Border Collie - even though she can be EXTREMELY hyper and growls when scared (or hides under chairs). I like the fact that Dr. Alexander listens to what you have to say and that he doesn't over-medicate. We have had other vets prescribe drug after heavy drug to a nine-week old puppy. He not only took her off the heavy meds, but prescribed lower dosages. Her health is now wonderful! We never believed that our dog could be healthy (she had mange, two ear infections, worms, fleas, flea dermatitis, infection from her spay sutures, a large tumor on her shoulder, Giardia, AND food allergies). She is now a healthy 11 month old, with a beautiful coat, weighing 52 pounds. This clinic saved her life. Our other vet was even going to put her on meds that are deadly to collies! We had no idea until Dr. Alexander told us. If you are at your wits end with dog health problems, this is the place to go. They even have FABULOUS prices! GO HERE!!
Sarah B. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

08/16/2008, 02:31 AM
Yay Spring Valley!! Spring Valley is a great clinic. My dog was recently ill and they wasted no time getting her in for treatment. They did a wonderful job taking care of my baby. She recovered quickly and they made sure to keep me informed as to what was going on. They did a great job and I will gladly recommend them to any pet owner.
allison m. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

07/21/2008, 01:09 AM
We love Spring Valley!! We have had nothing but good service---from the receptionist at the front desk to the docter to the groomer!!! Thanks for saving me from the overpriced "shandon" animal hospital!
sandra n. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

06/22/2008, 07:56 AM
He's our doctor I've been going since 1986 - he has always been kind and understanding. A great place! I have never had a dog come home sick or dirty when boarding.
Amy R. on Insider Pages

15 years ago

04/03/2006, 02:47 AM
I love my Vet! I've had several vets in Columbia, and all were good....but, Spring Valley Animal Hospital is the best! The staff is very caring and loving towards the animals, and Dr. A is an experianced vet who understands his patients - 4 legged and 2 legged! :-) Don't let the understated exterior confuse you - this is a wonderful vet! I have not boarded my dogs yet, but the other 2 reviews provide very positive feedback on those facilities.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.