Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Southern Eye Institute

Claimed
4.8
65 reviews
|Laser Eye Surgery/Lasik|Houma, LA 70360

446 Corporate Dr, Houma, LA 70360

(985) 228-6343

https://www.southerneyeinst.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Top Healthcare in your area
5.0
(352) · Ophthalmologists

2424 Edenborn Avenue

(504) 518-7992
5.0
(2) · Laser Eye Surgery/Lasik
5.0
(2) · Healthcare

268 Corporate Dr

(985) 879-2393
4.9
(57) · Laser Eye Surgery/Lasik

91 Westbank Expy Suite 510

(504) 366-9435
About

Eyesight is a precious gift and it's important to find a team of providers who make their patients' eye health a priority. Southern Eye Institute has a team of experienced ophthalmologists and optometrists in Houma and Thibodaux, Louisiana, who strive to provide the most advanced, effective care to every patient. Every provider at Southern Eye Institute stands behind the practice's mission: to provide quality eye care with compassion. They welcome all patients like family and do their best to make each person feel comfortable from the moment they enter the door. Southern Eye Institute offers state-of-the-art facilities and uses some of the most advanced technologies available to diagnose and

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.8
65 reviews
554
  
43
  
30
  
20
  
13
  
5 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Recommended
Ben Boone review for Southern Eye Institute
Ben Boone on Facebook

2 years ago

09/23/2020, 03:42 AM
I’d like to thank Dr. Kellum and the team at Southern Eye Institute for an excellent experience with my LASIK procedure. I couldn’t be happier with the results! It’s such a relief to have BETTER THAN 20/20 vision without the hassle of using corrective lenses! Dr. Kellum take much pride in his work, which is made evident by his willingness to take calls day or night after the procedure should any problems arise. While there were absolutely none, it was a great feeling knowing he would be there if needed. The entire staff at Southern Eye Institute acts with the utmost professionalism and is very accommodating with schedule changes and any other issues that may arise during the process. If you are considering getting LASIK eye surgery, Southern Eye Institute should absolutely be your first choice! Thank you again!
Business Response:

Thank you Ben. It was our extreme pleasure to help you out. So very happy you have such amazing vision. Thanks again for putting your trust in us.

Patricia Lawrence review for Southern Eye Institute
Patricia Lawrence on Facebook

2 years ago

08/11/2020, 01:00 AM
My experience at Southern Eye Institute was amazing and I would recommend them to anyone who is looking for a caring eye doctor. The staff and Dr. Kellum were very professional. I had cataract surgery in both eyes. Over this process I had numerous office visits. Procedures were in place to make me feel safe from Covid, and they were on time with all of my scheduled appointments. Thanks for making my experience a pleasant one.
Business Response:

Thank you so much. It is such a privilege and honor to provide eye care to you. So glad you had a good experience

Chad Jackson review for Southern Eye Institute
Chad Jackson on Facebook

3 years ago

07/31/2019, 01:01 AM
One star operation. I have made 2 appointments with them. The first was scheduled a day before tropical storm Barry hit. So they were closing the office and needed to reschedule. Ok cool I understand that. The second one was scheduled today at 10am. They left a message yesterday saying my appointment was for 10am. While I’m driving over at 9:30am I get a call saying I missed my 8:45am appointment. I was 5 minutes away and wanted to play the missed message. They blamed the Thibodaux store said they can’t honor it and I can wait a couple hours for an opening. Bottom line is they probably gave my 10am to one of their repeat customers or buddies and the person didn’t want to deal with new customer paperwork. Do not waste your time. My wife loves the Thibodaux office, but both myself and my wife’s mom had issues with Houma. My wife asked if she wanted to try to get me in at Thibodaux I told her no. They lost my business. All I need is new glasses and it has been almost 2 months dealing with this.
Business Response:

Chad Jackson, I apologize for the misunderstanding. I have researched this to try to see where we messed up. I found your original appointment for 10:00 am on 7/12. When we had to cancel for Hurricane Barry, it looks like your appointment was rescheduled for 8:45 am on 7/31. I am truly sorry if this was not communicated very well to you. Also, I am very concerned that our automated calling service may have given you the wrong time as well. I can see how you would be very upset about this. I am not sure if you would be willing to help me out but if you could replay the message and let me hear it to see if our messaging service is doing things incorrectly, I would be very appreciative. I need to know if something needs to be fixed. According to our printed records, it says it left a message stating the appointment was for 8:45 but that could obviously be in error. Especially if it says it did one thing and actually did another. If you would be willing to do this for me, I would be willing to offer you a substantial discount on your glasses in appreciation for your help. If you are not willing to do so, I can completely understand your frustration and again, apologize profusely. We strive very hard to provide good service. I cannot say we never make mistakes but we do like to learn from those mistakes and try to get better. Thank you for taking the time to read this.

Featured content
Negative feedback examples: 8 strategies to turn bad reviews into wins

Negative feedback examples: 8 strategies to turn bad reviews into wins

Negative feedback examples: 8 strategies to turn bad reviews into wins
Reviews not showing up on Google? Here's what you can do.

Reviews not showing up on Google? Here's what you can do.

Reviews not showing up on Google? Here's what you can do.
Linda McCord review for Southern Eye Institute
Linda McCord on Facebook

4 years ago

11/13/2018, 07:14 AM
The ability to listen to the problem of the patient and form a plan to work on the healing process.
Business Response:

Thank you Ms. Linda. Listening is definitely the most important part of the exam.

Charlene Porche review for Southern Eye Institute
Charlene Porche on Facebook

4 years ago

11/13/2018, 04:58 AM
Everyone is always very friendly and professional. There is little to no wait time for your appointment.
Business Response:

Thank you Ms. Charlene. We appreciate your kind words and really try hard to take good care of all our patients.

Jason Hebert review for Southern Eye Institute
Jason Hebert on Facebook

4 years ago

07/18/2018, 06:24 AM
Well run medical practice. I really like the design how the rooms opens to the waiting room. The nurse who ran me through test appeared to be highly technical and competent! Very progressive and Dr. Kellum was great.
Business Response:

Thank you Jason. I appreciate the kind words. We really strive to do our best.

Kelly Preston review for Southern Eye Institute
Kelly Preston on Facebook

5 years ago

10/21/2017, 01:27 AM
Mike N Tina Doucet review for Southern Eye Institute
Mike N Tina Doucet on Facebook

5 years ago

05/23/2017, 05:53 AM
Beryl Bourgeois review for Southern Eye Institute
Beryl Bourgeois on Facebook

7 years ago

08/28/2015, 06:41 AM
Respond to negative reviews
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.