Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Smart Dogs

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
5.0
30 reviews
|Other|Plainfield, IL 60544

14521 Independence Dr, Plainfield, IL 60544

(815) 557-1610

https://www.smartdogstrainingandlodging.com/

Closed now
Suggest edits
Top Other in your area
5.0
(2) · Other

1813 Hicks Rd

(847) 359-4005
5.0
(1) · Other

845 N Michigan Ave

(312) 751-1111

2 people are looking at this business

5.0
(4) · Other

13717 S US-30

(815) 436-6262
5.0
(1) · Other

5030 W Lawrence Ave

(224) 255-3167
5.0
(1) · Other

11635 Centennial Ave

(224) 569-6888
5.0
(1) · Other

6719 W Albion Ave

(773) 631-4465

1 person is looking at this business

About

Message from Smart Dogs Training and Boarding We are huge dog lovers that want to bring peace to your home. We can train any dog. Call us. We are friendly and will help you.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

5.0
30 reviews
530
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Sheri O. review for Smart Dogs
Sheri O. on Insider Pages

7 years ago

10/21/2014, 02:09 AM
Couldn't Be Happier!! Kristy and Ian worked wonders on our little man, Blake. We brought Blake home to our other furry baby, Bella who is 7. They were not getting along at all. Bella was agitated by Blake's "puppy" behavior and Blake was ill mannered.
Sheri O. review for Smart Dogs
Sheri O. on Insider Pages

7 years ago

10/21/2014, 01:26 AM
Couldn't Be Happier!! Kristy and Ian worked wonders on our little man, Blake. We brought Blake home to our other furry baby, Bella who is 7. They were not getting along at all. Bella was agitated by Blake's "puppy" behavior and Blake was ill mannered. Blake spent 5 days at Kristy and Ian's home. We CANNOT believe the amazing change in him! Blake has settled down considerably. He listens to commands, he does not bother Bella like he used to, he FINALLY sleeps through the night...but most importantly, Blake's screaming and howling when we are not in the room with him has stopped. We are absolutely amazed at the work Kristy and Ian have done with Blake! We went from frustrated puppy parents to happy puppy parents. In fact, we are setting up Bellas time with Smart Dogs Training! We want Blakes big sister to be a good example to him. We will recommend Smart Dogs Training to anyone who will listen!
Jeanne S. review for Smart Dogs
Jeanne S. on Insider Pages

7 years ago

07/15/2014, 08:30 AM
Rescued our rescue! Our rescue, Dante, was 90% wonderful but 10% impossible. He barked at everything & nothing, had severe anxiety and lacked doggy manners. We worked with a trainer in our home, but hectic work schedules created problems with implementation and consistency leaving us all frustrated. We were at the point of deciding whether or not Dante would be better suited with another family. The Smart Dogs 15-day Lodge & Learn program was our savior. Kristy & Ian have created a doggy palace in their home! While it looks like a country club, it is an elite in-home training facility. Dante was also taken on field trips to test & enforce his new learned skills. He came back to us a new dog! He is obedient, confident, and in more control of his impulses. Who knew our rarely used treadmill would now be a staple of Dantes day? We still have extensive homework, but Smart Dogs laid the foundation we all needed. So, if youre looking for a miracle, revelation or phenomenon, for your dog, dont give up! Send your dog to Ian & Kristy at Smart Dogs. You absolutely will not regret it.
Featured content
Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network

Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network

Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network
'Facebook Reviews' are now 'Facebook Recommendations'

'Facebook Reviews' are now 'Facebook Recommendations'

'Facebook Reviews' are now 'Facebook Recommendations'
Belinda D. review for Smart Dogs
Belinda D. on Insider Pages

8 years ago

01/04/2014, 11:16 AM
A Changed Puppy We recently finished 15 days of Lodge and Learn at Smart Dogs. We are first time dog owners and needed some help with our 10 week old Ozark Mountain Dog, Yogi. He was nipping and biting, chewing on my rugs, the kitchen table, etc. He wouldnt walk on his leash, wouldnt come when we called him, and would not sleep in his crate and would have accidents in the crate.
Kelly S. review for Smart Dogs
Kelly S. on Insider Pages

8 years ago

07/23/2013, 04:11 AM
They saved our puppy! When we first adopted Cody, we had pictured many different things. Never once, however, did we envision the issues that we experienced. The biggest and worst one had to be the fact that our adorable new puppy had no issue whatsoever urinating in the house and even in his crateand then laying in it. This occurred several times a day! We were giving him baths almost daily. It was horrible. While I hate to admit it, we actually considered bringing Cody back to the shelter, even though my family and I were completely in love with him. Instead, as a last resort, we called Smart Dogs. If someone would have told me that my dog would have virtually no accidents after just a one-hour session with Kristy, I never would have believed it. Thats exactly what happened, though. Kristy and Ian have taught us how to interact with Cody in a loving but firm way, establishing him as part of the family but also letting him know his role in our pack. Cody is a wonderful and friendly pup who makes everyone who meets him want to get one of their own! He has earned a tremendous amount of freedom now! He is a joy to walk on a leash; he rings a bell on our back door whenever he needs to go outside; he is amazing with our children; he sits, stays, heels, comes I could go on and on. Weve only had a handful of sessions with Kristy and Ian, and we look forward to many more! I cant say enough positive things about Smart Dogs! I recommend them to everyone I know who has a new puppy or an old dog who needs to learn new tricks! Please, please, PLEASE call them before finding a new home for your dog!!!!!
Pat B. review for Smart Dogs
Pat B. on Insider Pages

9 years ago

02/28/2013, 08:56 AM
Kristy and Ian are truly pros! I cant say enough about how helpful Smart Dogs Training has been to us with our Golden Doodle, Gordon. After only 20 minutes of instruction, they had Gordon walking right by my side rather than pulling so hard on his leash. One of our biggest concerns was when Gordon and our neighbors dogs would all be outside at the same time. Although we do have a fenced yard, Gordon would be running back and forth at the fence barking nonstop and we did not know how to get him in control. Kristy showed us how to use a remote control collar to correct Gordon. We have had the collar for over 2 months and I can honestly say we have only had to correct Gordon 3 or 4 times at the very lowest level. Now when he sees the neighbor dogs outside, he responds to my command of Gordon no and he comes running happily over to me for praise. It has been a true blessing and we are looking forward the spring and summer and being able to be spend time in the yard with Gordon being happy and calm. Smart Dogs also helped us to keep Gordon in control inside the house when the doorbell rings and someone comes in. He will sit in his spot waiting patiently until I tell him ok. It has made having company arrive at our home a pleasant situation and Gordon just seems like a happier dog! Kristy and Ian are truly pros!
Paige T. review for Smart Dogs
Paige T. on Insider Pages

9 years ago

02/20/2013, 01:41 AM
Great Experience! Being 130 pounds at 10 months old, my mastiff puppy Arnold could look pretty threatening. He would become very protective of the house when we had visitors, and would bark and growl at people when they were in the house. People didnt want to come into our house because they were scared of Arnold. After he bit someone, I knew I needed help, so I called Smart Dogs. I have to say it was one of the best decisions Ive made! I am now completely comfortable inviting people into my house. Instead of barking and growling at visitors, Arnold is very relaxed and comfortable, which makes everyone else relaxed and comfortable. Also, since he is so big, Arnold was hard to control on walks, but Ian gave us tips on how to walk him, and now he walks right by my side at all times. The training worked so fast, and I saw an improvement after just the first session. I highly recommend Smart Dogs!
becky p. review for Smart Dogs
becky p. on Insider Pages

9 years ago

02/18/2013, 01:40 AM
Rescued Us We love our rescue dog Lucy so much, but she was having a really difficult time adjusting to our house and her behavior was so inconsistent. She was cuddly and sweet, but then wouldnt ever listen to anything we said. She was friendly to us, but would jump and bark at guests as soon as they walked in. We were told she could never be crated because she was older, so we never did and it resulted in her completing freaking out when we got homebarking, crying, jumping, and running around like crazy. We realized early she had some serious anxiety issues as well as fear and had no idea what we could do. To say the least, we were stressed out and thought maybe we werent able to meet her needs, but couldnt imagine the thought of giving her back. A friend referred us to Kristy and Ian and I have never met such compassionate and caring people ever in terms of our welfare as well as Lucys. Lucy is a work in progress, but knowing that Kristy and Ian are there to ask questions and to share successes makes you feel like you have a support team on your side. We signed her up for the Lodge & Learn program. Shes been back for two weeks and is so much better. She is comfortable, she listens, and she is crate trained! She is amazing on walks, never pulling. When people come over she is calm, most of the time not even barking when the doorbell rings. Our life is so much easier now. She is happier and less nervous knowing that we are in charge and each day we see improvement. The skills that Kristy & Ian taught all of us has made Lucys transition into her forever home so much better because we know why she acts the way she does and how to react appropriately. Most importantly, we now set expectations of her behavior to create an environment where she always knows what she is supposed to do in situations that are new. I cant imagine not seeking out SmartDogs. I know anywhere else wouldnt have worked for her needs. They are so attentive and caring. They want to see success as much as you do! I feel like weve met people well always be in touch with, they are so amazing!
Littlest A. review for Smart Dogs
Littlest A. on Insider Pages

9 years ago

09/28/2012, 03:52 AM
Beau and Me It was love at first sight when I first met Beau, a four year old American Staffordshire, Being a long time Cesar Millan fan, and never an alpha dog owner before, I knew that the breed can be determined , even though Beau first appears to be too submissive, and needs an assertive pack leader. I deliberately searched for a trainer who could help me be the kind of leader Beau needed, who had the same beliefs which I held, that dogs need exercise, discipline and a job as an important part of being a happy member of our pack. From the moment I met Ian, I knew Beau and I were in the right hands. Beau and I both are so excited to learn new behaviors, skills and new jobs that we have also been able to be examples of a happy pack with our friends and their dogs when we visit them, even calming their dogs just by going on a pack walk and letting Beau and me lead. Beau and I have also been able to change a couple of prejudiced minds about his breed, just by practicing our new skills confidently. Being a strong believer that nothing happens by chance, I am so grateful that Smart Dog Training was available to us. We both are better beings because each other and Ian. (And Elizabeth and Kristy too)
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.