Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Shanghai Garden

Own this business?

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.2
392 reviews
|Chinese|Seattle, WA 98104

524 6th Ave S, Seattle, WA 98104

(206) 625-1688

https://theshanghaigarden.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.7
(505) · Chinese

2621 NE 46th Street

(206) 525-0958

7 people are looking at this business

4.6
(291) · Chinese

8204 12077

(425) 825-8948
4.6
(18) · Restaurants

5604 E Portland Ave Ste B

(253) 302-4051
4.6
(244) · Chinese

21226 84th Ave S

(253) 872-6820
4.5
(45) · Chinese

1715 E Olive Way

(206) 535-7270
4.5
(202) · Chinese

88 Yesler Way

(206) 748-9999
About

If you're afraid of stereotypically greasy, meaty Chinese food, try this eatery, which emphasizes on fresh, lightly cooked food with plenty of vegetarian options. The restaurant is justly famous for its succulent rice, corn and barley green noodles, shaved by hand from a block of dough. Try the crisp, sweet Sugar Pea Vine, and the unusual starters, such as Spinach Dumplings, and Black Moss and Bamboo Fungus Soup. Service can be slow, but it's worth it.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.2
392 reviews
5191
  
481
  
340
  
211
  
119
  
50 reviews have no rating
  • 337 Reviews4.2Google
  • 3 Reviews4.7Insider Pages
  • Show All
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Dorothy D. on Insider Pages

6 years ago

04/03/2015, 05:01 AM
Perfect! The ambiance in here feels like rural Chinese provinces. I love that earthy feel and the hearty meals. A perfect place for a night out in the town.
Blake T. on Yellow Pages

7 years ago

05/06/2014, 15:41 PM
Good Chinese food. We like it.
ju on Citysearch

10 years ago

08/05/2010, 18:33 PM
One of my favorites – I've been going here for years, and love the place. The House Special Hand Shaven Barley Green Noodles are delicious and unique. When we have visitors from out of town, this is often the place we take them. I hear about it months and years later from them, "I really liked that Chinese restaurant we went to." and when they return to Seattle there are often requests to return to Shanghai Garden.
Featured content
Review Responses and SEO

Review Responses and SEO

Review Responses and SEO
Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?
sjcannata72 on Citysearch

11 years ago

05/31/2010, 06:55 AM
Disappointed – I went there for some good fried rice and soup. they stuck me in a corner and I was ignored most of my meal. I only got one refill of my drink and could've used at least 3. I wanted a a bowl of soup so I got their "side order" which was an $8 container of soup as big as my head. I wanted one bowl! Overall the service was terrible, the food was ok but at least I have leftovers.
STEVE CUMMINGS on Citysearch

11 years ago

05/16/2010, 05:31 AM
A DRAB RIP 0FF – Where do I b egin? I ate here today by accident since I found a parking space right next to this place. I like Szechwan bean curd a lot and eat it all over the Northwest. The Shanghai folks really shanghai'ed this dish by serving it in sweet gloppy sauce, accompanied by a miniscule bowl of rice they charge $1.50 for. Sczechwan is supposed to be spicy; this dish was bland and sweet. At the end, the waitress asked how I liked the food. I told her that it was not Szechwan and she said it was "our style." It and other dishes are also extremely expensive compared to greater Seattle restaurants. I have no idea who is posting the positive reviews: either people who do not eat Chnese food or friends of the owners.
manwithshades on Citysearch

11 years ago

02/07/2010, 00:03 AM
Expensive but Mediocre Food – Our opinion of the place dropped when we realized that they were going to charge us extra for rice. They did not bring out a huge bucket, as is the case in most of the Chinese restaurants we've been to, instead they brought out three small bowls of rice. The average price for each entree was $15, which we felt was overpriced for the mediocre food we were getting. The food was just okay and not too exciting. The only exception was soup, which seemed to justify the price because it came in a huge bowl. Everything else was just okay. Except for the price -- which was high. This is definitely the place to go if you want a lighter wallet.
Muhammad007 on Citysearch

11 years ago

10/10/2009, 06:17 AM
Great Chinese food – Great chinese food, I only eat seafood there but the quality of food is fantastic.
luckychineseguy on Citysearch

12 years ago

07/22/2009, 13:23 PM
Big Time Over-rated – oily, cold and very disappointing. We've been here at least 6x over a period of 5 years and their food did not change. Mostly, out-of-towners want to try Shanghainese food, but each time we try, we are disappointed by the quality and the price. Trust me I am chinese and know my chinese food. Someone is putting high reviews to ramp up their rating.
ohmn on Citysearch

12 years ago

03/26/2009, 01:14 AM
Taste like cheap chinese buffet – nothing chinese about the menu. If you want to have real chinese food, don't bother go there. ordered 4 dishes. All tasted like cheap chinese buffet dishes. If you want to grab a quick bite, maybe. Definitely not going back. There are a couple of restaurants around the blocks that are way better than this one.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.