Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Parrots & Pups

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
5.0
44 reviews
|Other|New York, NY 10014

45 Christopher St, New York, NY 10014

(212) 352-8777

Not Specified

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Other in your area
5.0
(1) · Other

535 Connecticut Ave

(203) 523-4700
5.0
(13) · Other

3304 30TH Ave

(718) 721-3440
5.0
(1) · Other

35 Magro Drive

(516) 376-4104

2 people are looking at this business

5.0
(1) · Other

1775 Oak Tree Rd

(732) 548-2598
5.0
(1) · Other

1 Beechwood Ave

(914) 663-9423
5.0
(1) · Other

75 Middle Neck Rd

(516) 482-4729
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

5.0
44 reviews
51
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
43 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Thea M. on Citysearch

6 years ago

09/30/2015, 10:58 AM
I wanted a specific dog breed 9 yrs ago and that breed could only be found at Parrots and Pups. Since the inception of seeing her, it was love at first sight, my heart grew with emotion but my bank account decreased in money. She was sick from the minute we left P&P. The years to follow were filled with heartache and monetary depletion with so many expenses. She was in and out of the hospital with all kinds of issues, ranging from sores on her skin to pnemonia to a blood disorder. The cost of my little baby since I bought her 9 yrs ago has totaled to a whopping $14,000! I would not change a thing because of how much I love her. She is my adopted fur baby, dogauter! Thank goodness I am a holistic health practitioner. I was able to build and boost her immune system naturally so she can thrive in health and harmony. Although I did not get her from a shelter...this place might as well be one! I believe I rescued her. If it wasn't for me this precious baby would have been dead 9 yrs ago. So Thank you Parrots and Pups but I'm sure there is a better way to conduct business than to purchase sick puppies from over stressed female dogs having multiple litters per year. It's not fair and inhumane! Think about it!
SophieB on Citysearch

11 years ago

01/08/2011, 06:23 AM
GREAT EXPERIENCE – We purchased our French Bulldog from Parrots & Pups and could not be happier with him and with the pet store and the service we received. Despite claims that they buy from puppy mills, I researched where my dog came from & made sure it was not a puppy mill. He is healthy and strong We bring him by and they love to see him. When we purchased him, we were given the owners cell numbers and were told to call any time with questions or concerns. Any tiime we go in, they are so nice to let us see a puppy and spend time with him or her. They are never pushy. I recommend this pet store to everyone who asks about our frenchie!
in my opinion on Citysearch

11 years ago

01/06/2011, 04:33 AM
A greally great experience – I see a lot of bad reviews about pet stores in general and I understand where some people are coming from because I swore that I would go right to a breeder. I am a first time dog owner and have put a lot of thought into the breed that is right for me and how to do everything properly. I fell in love with a shiba inu from Parrots and Pups and the staff here were really patient with my indecision to get him. I was indecisive for several reasons; timing - it felt a little too early for me to take on the responsibility and second, it was a pet store. I spent three days going back in a spending hours with my puppy-to-be. The staff was extremely helpful in answering all my questions about what to do about training and food etc etc. I finally decided to take my little guy and it was one of the best decisions I have ever made. I received a full information package with all of his medical records to date and all the info on house training and what to expect. I was even given the staff and owner phone numbers that I was told I could call at any time if anything at all came up or I had any questions. They had a health guarantee where I could go get him checked out by a vet and make sure everything was fine. They recommended several vets and the practice I chose from their recommendation and go to now, Heart of Chelsea is absolutely amazing (so Citipups/Parrots and Pups have aligned themselves with excellent care providers). I'm talking about email reminders for overdue shots and mail reminders for medications etc...and follow up calls and very attentive and caring vets. But I digress...I had many questions for the staff at Parrots and Pups and they were so helpful. I would even walk in with my pup to chat and get help if I needed it. My shiba is strong, healthy and simply fabulous. He's got a darling personality and I could not have dreamed up a better dog. My neighbors have a mini schnauzer from this store and all around the neighborhood I talk to happy dog owners with dogs from Parrots and Pups. I have not heard a single bad thing - honestly - not one bad thing and you know people are quick to complain if they have the chance. I understand that going to a breeder ensures you know exactly where the pets come from, but this was not an options for me. I was supplied with my dog's paperwork and breed history and I even called the breeder to inquire about timing on neutering. I got an answering machine to the family's home and no call back, and normally I would have followed up, but I talked to my vet about the timing, and felt very comfortable with everything and didn't feel the need to get in touch again with the breeder. In short, I have a rigorous, healthy, very happy pet and I have been extremely pleased with the entire experience and everyone at both locations of this store.
Featured content
Realtor ratings - The most important sites

Realtor ratings - The most important sites

Realtor ratings - The most important sites
5 Top Review Sites for Lawyers

5 Top Review Sites for Lawyers

5 Top Review Sites for Lawyers
Alfiesmom on Citysearch

11 years ago

08/25/2010, 02:48 AM
Recommend this pet store – This neighbor pet store has given my the love of my life. Alfie. Of all my pets Alfie had been the healthiest and best! My little love is 9 yrs old and still acts like a puppy. In the neighborhood I have seen puppies of the same bred and they all have the loving personality & seems like they came from the same breeders. Alfie was bred by a family w/ kids, this I know as bec shortly after buying him, on a walk - he heard a group of children laughing and he immediately pulled me across the street to them. --- he's a very special animal.
Lou Hogan on Citysearch

12 years ago

10/05/2009, 20:24 PM
Specifics - my P&P terrier came from a known Missouri mill – If you're interested in knowing for a fact whether your Parrots and Pups dog came from a puppymill, go to Stop Puppy Mills and fill out their very detailed form. This requires your having your Parrots and Pups paperwork in front of you. In the meantime: Consumer Tips to Avoid Supporting Abusive Puppy Mills * Consider adoption first when getting a pet. Animal shelters are filled with dogs and cats of all breeds and sizes who need and deserve loving homes. Nationwide, approximately 25 percent of the dogs in shelters are purebreds. * Find a responsible breeder and visit their premises in person to see how the parent dogs are living and the conditions in which the puppy was raised. Responsible breeders house their dogs as members of the family and do not keep them confined to cages. * Don't be fooled by common claims made by pet stores when pushing their puppies. Good breeders do not sell to pet stores because they want to meet the families who are taking home their puppies. * Don't be swayed by a great website or advertisement; many of the puppy mills The HSUS has raided in recent years hid behind beautiful and deceiving websites promising "family raised" puppies. * Avoid the temptation to "rescue" a puppy mill puppy by buying him — your purchase will only help perpetuate a cruel industry and another dog will quickly fill his cage. * For more information on how to get a puppy from a shelter or a responsible breeder, go to humanesociety (dot org)/ puppymill
K1122 on Citysearch

12 years ago

09/30/2009, 08:19 AM
Very satisfied!! – I can only speak of my experience but I have to say it was a pleasant one! I have been a dog rescuer for almost 20yrs now & would have been the 1st one to tell someone to never buy from a pet store but rather go rescue from a shelter. However, we walked into the store just to view the cute puppies and fell in love with our Bulybo (Boston Terrier/English Buldog hybrid). We walked away, debating on whether or not to buy from a pet store but ultimately couldn't resist & walked back in & purchased him. The store was clean, the staff was extremely helpful and were very willing to negotiate on the price. Once we agreed to take him, the paperwork was filled out, all our questions were answered and our newly groomed puppy was given to us to take home! It was a very pleasant experience. That was 3 weeks ago. We just got a follow-up call yesterday to ensure all was going well with our pup (which, of course, it is!). I was very surprised & pleased that they were concerned enough to follow up (quite honestly, they got our $$ and have no obligation at all to follow up but they did!). I have read through other people's bad reviews and I feel like others do on this site -- the negative reviews are general, in nature. No specific instance or situation is referenced (it seems to be the 'nay-sayers' opposing buying from a pet store in general). I don't live in NY so I took the expense of taking my puppy directly to my own vet although the store offers you a free vet visit at their vet's office. The vet was pleasantly surprised that our pup was up-to-date on all his shots and was in great health! Our new pup plays constantly with our older dog (Staffordshire bul terrier mix) and is a welcomed addition to our family. I would recommend this store to anyone interested in getting a puppy who can't necessarily get to a breeder and who doesn't want to get one from a shelter (although it may be hypocritical of me to say, i would still encourage shelter dogs as they need homes, too!). I think this is as pleasant an experiance at a pet store as you can have & I feel confident that I would purchase again from them. Maybe I'm lucky in that my pup is healthy so I haven't had the experience of going back to them with any problems. But in my long dog-owning experience, my 1st Rottie pup was from a breeder and he was extremely sick and the breeder was unwilling to incur the vet costs to treat him. So you can have bad experiences anywhere is my point! The store offers you a free visit to get the pup checked out at their vet & you also have the right to get it checked out at your own. They give you a few days to do all this & return the pup so I think they're being more than fair. Just my 2cents....
Sarah G. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

08/14/2009, 07:19 AM
Best Place for Small Breeds After trying to adopt for over 2 years I got fed up and looked into breeders. After not having much luck - with deals falling through, finding out they were mills, or receiving general harassment I caved and just went to the store. I looked up where the dogs came from. They actually were from real breeders with sites describing their show dogs. The paperwork did take some time to come in but when it did I had no trouble registering them with the AKC. They were both healthy, from 2 different litters and perfect examples of the breed standard. Its been over a year now and the largest vet bill I had was when I had them spayed. There are no signs of any genetic diseases - which can be a major issue with yorkies. The staff seemed to be pretty well educated when I was there. The also seem to rotate the dogs between the crates and the play pen in the window.
EastVillage22 on Citysearch

12 years ago

07/23/2009, 14:33 PM
I think it's interesting that a lot of people who post negative reviews speak very generally. A lot of the positive reviews are from people who have specific stories and experiences. Here is my story. I wanted a French Bulldog for years. I did everything right. I contacted breeders. I did so much research. Then I walked into Parrots and Pups and fell in love with a puppy. After a lot of debate....(Am I doing the right/wrong thing? What if he is from a puppy mill? Is he sick?)...I took him home. The guilt was unbearable. I just felt so badly for supporting a pet store. I told myself I knew better. Then I decided to do my own research. I found his breeder. I emailed her immediately. And she put all my fears to rest. It is true that she is from the midwest, but she is NOT a puppy mill. She sent me pictures of my pup's mom and dad, as well as pictures of his grandparents. She told me all about his litter, what he was like as a puppy, etc. She let me ask a million questions about her dogs as well as her human family. In the end, I got everything I would have gotten had I gone through a breeder. On that note, it's just as dangerous to go through a breeder over the Internet. For some reason, people think it's more reputable to purchase a puppy online because they are from a "breeder," not a pet store. Just because they call themselves a breeder does not make them safe, reputable, honest, etc. Even though I felt better about my pup's background, I was still skeptical of taking him to the vet the pet store is affiliated with, so I took him to a vet who specializes in bulldogs. Without telling him where I got him, the vet complemented my pup's great build and health. He did have a very common and easily treatable parasite, but the vet assured me it's something ALL puppies are prone to, not just pet store pups. Overall, the vet said he was a happy, healthy puppy. I've now met about 8 people (coworkers, friends, and neighbors) who have dogs from Parrots and Pups. Not one of us has had a bad experience. So in the end, would I recommend Parrots and Pups? Yes. Am I a pet store advocate? No. You have to trust your gut. You should do your research. You should know the breed you are buying. You should know what to expect in terms of health. You are just as responsible as the pet store the minute you walk outside with your puppy. It's up to you to provide your puppy with a good life. Don't just stereotype this pet store. It's been in business for a long time for a reason.
petepress on Citysearch

12 years ago

02/01/2009, 10:03 AM
Just have to say that I purchased a dog there that they told me was one breed and it turned out to be another breed. Plus the fact that the dog had not been socialized with other dogs. I don't think they take them out of their cages unless someone is interested in looking at them. I wonder if they ever get excersized
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.