Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Mena Michael C MD

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
3.8
27 reviews
|Doctors|Chattanooga, TN 37343

2051B Hamill Rd, Ste 403, Chattanooga, TN 37343

(423) 870-2081

Not Specified

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Suggest edits
Top Healthcare in your area
5.0
(6) · Healthcare

1609 Decatur Pike

(423) 745-1030

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(1) · Doctors

2108 E 3rd St #200

(423) 629-1491

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(1) · Doctors

1110 N Main St

(706) 638-2002

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(4) · Healthcare

2620 Peerless Rd NW

(423) 472-2171

3 people are looking at this business

5.0
(1) · Internal Medicine

5600 Brainerd Rd

(423) 308-0280

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(5) · Doctors

509 Burlington St

(256) 574-1050

1 person is looking at this business

About

Dr. Michael Mena, MD is a general surgery specialist in Hixson, TN and has been practicing for 40 years. He graduated from Baylor College Of Medicine in 1978 and specializes in general surgery.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

3.8
27 reviews
517
  
41
  
30
  
22
  
16
  
1 review has no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Anonymous review for Mena Michael C MD
Anonymous on Healthgrades

a year ago

09/20/2020, 04:42 AM
Very caring and conscientious doctor. Highly recommend
BeLinda S review for Mena Michael C MD
BeLinda S on Healthgrades

3 years ago

08/07/2018, 01:54 AM
Dr. Mena is very highly respected, as well as, recommended by my family and myself. He has provided excellent care time and time again.
Anonymous review for Mena Michael C MD
Anonymous on Healthgrades

4 years ago

02/23/2018, 02:43 AM
Great doctor and communicator. Will always be glad I found him.
Featured content
Reviews not showing up on Google? Here's what you can do.

Reviews not showing up on Google? Here's what you can do.

Reviews not showing up on Google? Here's what you can do.
'Facebook Reviews' are now 'Facebook Recommendations'

'Facebook Reviews' are now 'Facebook Recommendations'

'Facebook Reviews' are now 'Facebook Recommendations'
Anonymous review for Mena Michael C MD
Anonymous on Healthgrades

4 years ago

08/21/2017, 05:07 AM
0 stars! Several years ago, my mother was to have surgery (with Mena) for pancreatitis, which she suffered after gall bladder surgery, done by Dr Mena. Reading abt the surgery, we became concerned, & my mom called to postpone her surgery until she could look into it. Dr. Mena called her back & said that without it she would die & it "wouldn't be pretty." Went to UAB. Learned that WITH that surgery, she could have died. The pancreatitis resolved itself. Don't let this man touch your loved one!
Respond to negative reviews
Anonymous review for Mena Michael C MD
Anonymous on RateMDs

5 years ago

01/28/2017, 03:32 AM
My 84 year old mother was referred to Dr Mena in 2004 by her gynecologist after a mammogram and biopsy confirmed that she had a small lump in one of her breast diagnosed as cancer. When my mom told me that she was referred to a surgeon/Dr Mena and he had told her that she needed to have her breast removed I told my mom that we needed to get second opinion before she had her breast removed. She said she was afraid to tell the surgeon afraid he would be mad at her. I told her not to worry that I would go with her to see him and let him know we were going to get a second opinion. Before I had a chance to tell Dr Mena him why I was there with my mom he said that he suggested both breast should be removed and said if it were his mother he would remove both. I advised him that I was there to let him know that we were going to get a second opinion and he immediately started dialing the phone and acted as if he were talking to another surgeon and hung up and said the doc he just spoke with agreed with his recommendation. I told him I was not sure who or if he talked with anyone and that I was going to pursue another specialist for a second opinion. I sought a referral from a friend that had breast cancer and they recommended Dr Witherspoon for a second opinion which did not recommmend breast removal and removed the small cancerous area of my mom's breast. No radiation or chemo and she has been monitoring my mothers breast with yearly mammograms for the last 13 years and there have been no signs of cancer!! My mom has enjoyed the last 13 years cancer free. I hope the experience My mom and I had will encourage others to seeek a SECOND opinion before any surgery!!!
Respond to negative reviews
Anonymous review for Mena Michael C MD
Anonymous on RateMDs

5 years ago

12/31/2016, 03:06 AM
Horrible doctor with a complete lack of human compassion and care for his patients. I had an emergency appendectomy in August of 2015. He sent me home with gaping holes in my abdomen because "You are too fat and will rip this stitches anyway". Those are the exact words this doctor told me. He has since been reported to memorial and the medical board because of his horrific bedside manner. Run away from this doctor!!
Respond to negative reviews
Natasha D. review for Mena Michael C MD
Natasha D. on Yellow Pages

6 years ago

01/21/2016, 03:12 AM
Absolutely horrible doctor! I am 70 lbs overweight and had an appendectomy. He didn't stitch my incisions or even cover them when sending me home. His reason behind it was "Fat people tend to bust their stitches anyway". He said these words to me. Horrible.
Respond to negative reviews
Anonymous review for Mena Michael C MD
Anonymous on RateMDs

7 years ago

05/12/2014, 02:55 AM
Wait times always over an hour and has an exceedingly rude receptionist who talks in a very condescending manner. Receptionist will talk a lot when you ask questions but never actually answers the question and then rolls her eyes at you when you ask for clarification. Doctor has no ability to empathize with you. Has a nice general manner but nice isn't what sets you apart.
Anonymous review for Mena Michael C MD
Anonymous on RateMDs

10 years ago

08/17/2011, 05:10 AM
Dr. Mena is very helpful and has a heavy workload. He is always there for his patients.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.