Logo White
Watch Demo

Maymont Foundation

Own this business?
4.7
1930 reviews
|Hospitality|Richmond, VA 23220

1700 Hampton St, Richmond, VA 23220

(804) 358-7166

Open now:10:00 am - 7:00 pm

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits

Top Hospitality in your area

Balloons To Go
5.0
(2) · Hospitality

13546 Waterford Place

(804) 495-9883

About

Maymont Park is a 100-acre stretch of verdant green in southern Richmond. The serene park lands dotted by myriad trees with rich vegetation, flora and fauna that are a treat to the eyes. Within the park is located the sprawling Maymont Mansion, an esteemed venue for weddings, private bashes, concerts and a host of other events. The 'Italian Garden' with is gorgeous statues and fountains and the 'Japanese Garden' with its soft, intimate ambiance and beautiful waterfalls are major attractions at Maymont Park. Horticulture enthusiasts can take a round of the Arboretum, while leisure-seekers can enjoy the cool shades of trees. Maymont Park is a delightful oasis by Richmond's Lakeside. Check webs

Suggest edits

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES

Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.7
1,930 reviews
51,485
  
4381
  
345
  
29
  
110
  
  • 1929 Reviews4.7Trip Advisor
  • 1 Review3.0Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
LinneaMarie on Trip Advisor

9 years ago

07/30/2010, 01:11 AM
Great Experience!
A friend and I met up at Maymont to have a girls' outing together. It was a treat! We wish we had left more time to explore the excellent exhibition underneath the house.
6sandytoes0 on Trip Advisor

9 years ago

05/17/2010, 02:41 AM
Beautiful Gardens!!
My family and I visited Maymont mansion and grounds in May 2010. Although some of the grounds do not permit a stroller (due to steps), we were able to see most of everything this beautiful place has to offer. We toured the basement and it was like taking a step back in time! My six-year-old especially loved the clothes on display that were worn during this period. The gardens of Maymont are spectacular!! The walkways are stone and there are blooms as far as the eye can see. My daughters (ages 2, 5, & 6.5) (okay, myself, too!) LOVED the childrens' barn! We got to pet goats, sheep, and even see a peacock up close! There were roosters, donkeys, bison, and even a couple of gr
...  more>>
ElCache65 on Trip Advisor

9 years ago

04/27/2010, 07:29 AM
This place was incredible, you need to go in spring!
We were there in Mid-April and all the flowers were all blooming. We did ther Maymont masnion tour after our dination, and learned about the Wooley family. We did the carraige ride around the mansion for $5 a person. The garden's were spectacular, just check out the pic's. Must see in spring!
Featured content
Hotel Reputation Management Strategy - 10 Useful Tips to Enhance It

Hotel Reputation Management Strategy - 10 Useful Tips to Enhance It

Hotel Reputation Management Strategy - 10 Useful Tips to Enhance It
9 advantages of having good customer service reviews for hotels

9 advantages of having good customer service reviews for hotels

9 advantages of having good customer service reviews for hotels
clamj on Trip Advisor

9 years ago

04/07/2010, 05:39 AM
Maymont House Museum in Richmond - great family park!
My daughter, grandson, and I took a train from Newport News to Richmond (Main Street Station), then a taxi for the less than 4-mile ride to Monmount House Museum. I was interested in the place because of its reputation as a Victorian mansion; ironically, we never even made it inside the mansion, but spent all our time walking about the 100-acre grounds. It reached into the high 80's the day we were there (April 6, 2010) so we got a little bit of sunburn, but there are shady areas all over the place to either sit on the grass or a bench.
The attraction name is misleading, given that the grounds cover 100 acres and more of the attractions a
...  more>>
katrinaalvarez on Trip Advisor

9 years ago

04/06/2010, 07:03 AM
Maymont is a beautiful treasure...something for everyone
This was our third trip to Maymont. We come back because of the beauty. The gardens are spectacular, especially in the Spring. Our favorite place to go is the Japanese Garden and the falls. We arrived at 3:30 pm and toured the Nature Center. The cost for 4 people was $11. Most of the displays were in bad shape, broken, or closed altogether. The only highlight was the otters at the end of the tour. The other tanks of fish and turtles are not exciting, nor worth paying to see. (skip the nature center)
We spent most of our time in the gardens. We did not tour the house this time as we have seen it before.
Adeela S. on Insider Pages

10 years ago

02/02/2010, 02:55 AM
Great place to take children
Maymont is another family favorite. We would visit more often if we lived closer. The only thing is that now they charge to visit the nature center which isn't really worth paying money to visit. Haven't been to the nature center since they started charging.
rfmnj on Trip Advisor

10 years ago

11/13/2009, 00:54 AM
Better than I expected.
I was not excited about going to Maymont, but I must admit the grounds are beautiful and the house itself was amazing if you are a history buff. Was originally planning on spending and hour or so and ended up spending 3 hours here.
kkyle60 on Trip Advisor

10 years ago

10/19/2009, 01:45 AM
If you do only one thing in Richmond, Maymont should be it!
The turn-of-the century estate of the Dooley family, Maymont is a wonder that I am still discovering after more than fifty visits. At her passing in 1925 Sallie May Dooley gave Maymont to the city of Richmond to be used as a public park, and it is free to the public.
This estate truly has something to do and see for everyone. Tours of the original mansion are offered daily, and there is a very interesting exhibit in the basement detailing the lives of household servants in the early 20th century. The barn area has an assortment of farm animals to see, pet and feed. Their newest exhibit revolves around birds of prey and a beautiful p
...  more>>
TheNatureInUsdotcom on Trip Advisor

11 years ago

09/09/2008, 04:03 AM
Nature Center Farm Area
We always enjoy seeing animals, wild and domestic. Maymont has a variety and there's many things to see at this estate within the city of Richmond. We focused on the Nature Center and enjoyed it very much. The grounds are well kept and the animal areas very clean. A great place for children - they were squealing with delight!
More photos of Maymont and other Richmond sights on my photo album: http://www.theherbsplace.com/gallery/richmond2008
Footer Banner

Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.