Claim this profile

This profile has not been claimed by the business owner or representative.

Claim this business to update business information, get new reviews, respond to reviews, receive messages from prospective customers, and more!

Maxwell Auto

4.9
Get directions

About this business

Maxwell Auto, in Iowa City, IA, is the area's leading auto repair and service shop serving Iowa City, Coralville, North Liberty, Cedar Rapids and surrounding areas since 2005. We specialize in engines, alignments, transmissions, high performance builds and tests, customization work, tires, wheels, oil changes and much more. For all your auto repair and service needs, contact Maxwell Auto in Iowa City! 

Location details

3527 Dolphin Dr SE suite a, Ste a, Iowa City, IA, 52240, United States

Get directions
WeekdayScheduleStatus
Mon8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Tue8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Wed8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Thu8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Fri8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
SatClosed
SunClosed
4.9198 reviews
5
188
4
3
3
2
2
0
1
2
3 reviews have no rating
Select a rating
Sam Kilgore's profile image
Sam Kilgore 
3 years ago
Kenny Shaw's profile image
Kenny Shaw 
3 years ago

I've been coming to Maxwell Auto for several years and it's always good service. Before coming to Maxwell Auto, I had a problem with my Volkswagen Jetta in which I had several different private mechanics as well as a few different VW dealership mechanics try to diagnose to no avail. Maxwell Auto was not only able to diagnose the problem, they also repaired it for a reasonable price. Since then I've always brought my car here. I just had a bunch of different work done, door latches, fan module, cooling fans, etc. These guys d... read more

Charlie Bui's profile image
Charlie Bui 
3 years ago

Chris and his team are both thorough and communicative. I always know what's going on with my car and trust their work and knowledge 100% 

Kylee Nicole's profile image
Kylee Nicole 
recommend  Recommended
4 years ago

These guys have all been great to work with. They are all very kind and explained things so I could understand. They went above and beyond for me and I’m incredibly thankful for this. I will definitely be coming back in the future for any of my auto needs! Thanks for having such great customer service! 

Wm Dorst's profile image
Wm Dorst 
recommend  Recommended
4 years ago

Much better at Customer Service than many dealerships provide. Some technitions are in training at accredited schools while working at Maxwell Automotive. Citing an example, my wife's VW Golf needed a front end alignment. Results were spot on. Fair prices too. Since knowing Chris Maxwell for over twelve years, I've used his shop for all my VW repairs. Everything he was asked to fix/repair has spot on, and reasonable $$ prices too. 

Phuong Tran's profile image
Phuong Tran 
recommend  Recommended
5 years ago

These guys are honest, thorough, and get the job done! If it's not an easy part to find, they will look until they find it. They are upfront about costs and don't try to upsell unnecessary parts or services. Best of all they do a free inspection that is well above and beyond others in the area. 

Darcie Hutzell's profile image
Darcie Hutzell 
5 years ago

Super great shop! Always honest, always upfront. Very happy with them. :) Chris and his team keep our VW wagon running super well. 

Jeff Mark Nielsen's profile image
Jeff Mark Nielsen 
6 years ago

A big shout out and thank you to Chris and the guys at Maxwell Auto for going above and beyond to repair my car on such short notice before my cross country trip. 

Kim Cole Klein's profile image
Kim Cole Klein 
6 years ago

Chris and his staff are amazing! I am always so grateful for their knowledge, time they take for my repair and to explain what is needed. They are always trying to help be the most cost effective repair and to find a time that works well for me. They are amazing at keeping my VW Jetta running at 160k miles +. They are seriously the best! 

Frequently asked questions about Maxwell Auto

How is Maxwell Auto rated?

Maxwell Auto has a 4.9 star rating with 198 reviews. 

When is Maxwell Auto open?

Maxwell Auto is closed now. It will open on Thursday at 8:00 a.m.