Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Marcela's Cookery

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.3
106 reviews
|American|Seattle, WA 98104

106 James St, Seattle, WA 98104

(206) 223-0042

https://www.hugedomains.com/domain_profile.cfm?d=marcelascreolecookery&e=com

Closed now

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(19) · American

16510 State Route 9 SE

(360) 668-4433

2 people are looking at this business

5.0
(42) · Seafood

15838 Sandy Hook Rd NE

(360) 394-7127

4 people are looking at this business

4.8
(513) · American

2715 6th Ave

(253) 327-1862

2 people are looking at this business

4.8
(319) · Restaurants

5609 Corson Ave S

(206) 762-3330

7 people are looking at this business

4.7
(69) · American

4700 Ohio Ave S

(206) 747-7041

3 people are looking at this business

4.7
(382) · Restaurants

611 Summit Ave E

(206) 420-2238

3 people are looking at this business

About

Marcela's Creole Cookery opened in 2008 featuring authentic New Orleans cuisine as well as other cajun dishes. The restaurant is a partnership between Anthony McDonald, who brings 25 years of experience in the restaurant industry in New Orleans as well as many of his family's recipes, & Marcela Fuenzalida, who adds five years experience as co-owner of a restaurant along with 25 years in the financial industry. Marcela's Creole Cookery's authentic creole flavors & outstanding service has received local & national recognition, placing it amongst Seattle finest locally owned restaurants. In 2009 Marcela's Creole Cookery was honored with a menu exhibit at The Southern Food & Beverage Museum in N

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.3
106 reviews
561
  
421
  
38
  
25
  
14
  
7 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
TulsaGal2011 review for Marcela's Cookery
TulsaGal2011 on Trip Advisor

7 years ago

09/11/2014, 07:22 AM
AMAZING!! We went for the cooking class/feast, and were not disappointed! The chef had us all participate in the cooking, and the multi-course meal we had was great, not to mention the fabulous wine! We were only sorry that we did not have time to go back while we were in Seattle, but there is always next time!!
Sparky725 review for Marcela's Cookery
Sparky725 on Trip Advisor

7 years ago

09/04/2014, 10:16 AM
Wow- sooo good This is a fantastic restaurant. The food takes a while to make because I think they are making it with pure love, so this is not a place you want to go to if you are limited on time. This is more of a 1.5-2 hour dinner event. I love the fried chicken with andouille sausage sauce on top! This food is SO rich, you can only eat here a maximum of 1 time every two weeks :). My husband and I came here twice, one week a part, and I was too full! It is amazing food, and honestly better than the food we had in NOLA when we were there last year. I highly recommend this place, and if you have time, they put on cooking classes that look like a lot of fun!
Tom M review for Marcela's Cookery
Tom M on Trip Advisor

7 years ago

08/19/2014, 12:44 PM
Delicious Creole in Down Town Seattle - unexpected Being a lover of Louisiana cooking, I am always skeptical when someone outside New Orleans area tries to serve me "Creole" or "Cajun". This place was special - great food, New Orleans ambiance, friendly service. Highly recommended.
Featured content
Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network

Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network

Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network
Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website

Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website

Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website
SalopHatter review for Marcela's Cookery
SalopHatter on Trip Advisor

7 years ago

08/15/2014, 17:24 PM
Everything just right... Ended up here from a recommendation by Rick, the Underground Seattle tour leader and I'm so glad we asked for his advice. Cracking restaurant, food was delicious and felt authentic and we had friendly attentive service (Andrew, our charming server, even suggested a red wine that was not listed and was actually cheaper than anything on the menu - feeling that you're not being ripped off as 'tourists' is really important). The owner was doing a cookery demonstration in one corner and the smells were out of this world. The evening was made even more special as we got talking to a couple of local Seattle-ites and made some new friends. Can't guarantee that'll happen every time but it IS that sort of place - it just engenders a sense of good will. We just loved it and can't wait to return when we next visit this fantastic city.
lorik562016 review for Marcela's Cookery
lorik562016 on Trip Advisor

7 years ago

08/13/2014, 01:06 AM
Not worth the time I made a reservation for what I hoped would be a memorable meal. The restaurant was reasonably busy but only had one waiter trying to serve everyone. Another waiter paid his entire attention to one couple sitting by the cash register. Our waiter genuinely tried to take care of us but the service was extremely lacking. My boyfriend ordered the blackened chicken and when his dinner came it was the blackened fish. The waiters response was oh I thought you ordered the special. The fish wasn't just blackened,it was completely burnt with the outside edges not edible and the inside quite dry We didn't even know there was a special. I ordered the prawn appetizer which turned out to be four prawns floating in what I can only describe was a pool of melted butter with spice at the bottom. $12 for four prawns that were completely drowned in butter with so much spice you couldn't taste anything in the city of Seattle was disappointing. With all the amazing restaurants that were available this turned out to be our biggest's disappointment of our trip. We had hoped for this to be a reminiscence of our trip to New Orleans but it was nothing but overpriced disappointment.
Partyof5ish review for Marcela's Cookery
Partyof5ish on Trip Advisor

7 years ago

07/31/2014, 10:45 AM
Hidden Gem Luckily walked past here on our way to Safeco and had to stop when we aromas came flying out the door when it was opened! Had the shrimp & andouille sausage creole pasta...amazing! My wife had the catfish & she enjoyed it as well. Only disappoint was the gumbo...off taste and only luke warm. Don't suggest sitting outside due wobbly tables & people asking for money.
Rodrigo C review for Marcela's Cookery
Rodrigo C on Trip Advisor

7 years ago

07/29/2014, 02:49 AM
A bite of New Orleans in the North West It has been years since my last visit to Louisiana and more specifically to New Orleans. Wondering around with the family in Seattle we found this cozy little place called Marcela's Cookery. Since the moment we saw it we decided to go in and try it's "Mardi Gras" theme and style. We were served by the co-owner and husband of the chef, after whom the restaurant was named, Marcela. We were immediately transported to Bourbon Street, New Orleans with it's music and decoration. Anthony, our host, gives you the extra feeling of actually being in the south with his particular southern-louisianian accent. As we looked at the menu we just had to try a little bit of every authentic, typical food from New Orleans. The Jambalamba, crawfish pie, shrimp gumbo, fried alligator, po-boy, etc., etc., etc. Their menu is extensive and further more DELICIOUS! We tried one of the best New Orleans plates outside Louisiana. The experience is wonderful. Marcela was born in Chile so if you know Spanish she will be delighted to talk to you and serve you as all Latin Americans do, with love. The next time you're in Seattle and have a craving for Cajun style dishes, I highly recommend Marcela's Cookery. Say hi to Anthony, her husband and host for he is a great guy.
readytograbasuitcase review for Marcela's Cookery
readytograbasuitcase on Trip Advisor

7 years ago

07/08/2014, 07:01 AM
Wonderful Cajun food We ate here twice. We loved the food and the service. The first time, I had the shrimp and grits. I was impressed. A lot of shrimp, as I was expecting just a tiny few. The second time, I had the crawfish pie and barbecued shrimp. Prices were reasonable, staff was friendly, and was a great atmosphere.
cmelk4re review for Marcela's Cookery
cmelk4re on Trip Advisor

7 years ago

07/01/2014, 02:46 AM
Pretty Good Cajun Food Pretty good food but service left something to be desired. We were there on a Sunday evening for dinner. Arrived sort of second in a line with several other couples arriving about the same time behind us. Single server. Got us seated with a promise to be right back. Seated the others and then proceeded to take orders. Promised he'd be right with us. Wasn't. When he finally did get to us, we ordered a bottle of wine and also our main dishes. The wine, a Spanish Syrah, was a good choice and didn't break the bank. Had their cat fish, which was pretty good but nothing spectacular. All in all it appears to be a good choice for a change of pace, but I'd not expect anything too spectacular. And be patient...it might take awhile to get served.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.