Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Marcela's Cookery

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.3
106 reviews
|American|Seattle, WA 98104

106 James St, Seattle, WA 98104

(206) 223-0042

https://www.hugedomains.com/domain_profile.cfm?d=marcelascreolecookery&e=com

Open now:5:00 am - 9:00 pm

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(19) · American

16510 State Route 9 SE

(360) 668-4433

2 people are looking at this business

5.0
(42) · Seafood

15838 Sandy Hook Rd NE

(360) 394-7127

4 people are looking at this business

4.8
(513) · American

2715 6th Ave

(253) 327-1862

4 people are looking at this business

4.8
(319) · Restaurants

5609 Corson Ave S

(206) 762-3330

7 people are looking at this business

4.7
(69) · American

4700 Ohio Ave S

(206) 747-7041

3 people are looking at this business

4.7
(382) · Restaurants

611 Summit Ave E

(206) 420-2238

4 people are looking at this business

About

Marcela's Creole Cookery opened in 2008 featuring authentic New Orleans cuisine as well as other cajun dishes. The restaurant is a partnership between Anthony McDonald, who brings 25 years of experience in the restaurant industry in New Orleans as well as many of his family's recipes, & Marcela Fuenzalida, who adds five years experience as co-owner of a restaurant along with 25 years in the financial industry. Marcela's Creole Cookery's authentic creole flavors & outstanding service has received local & national recognition, placing it amongst Seattle finest locally owned restaurants. In 2009 Marcela's Creole Cookery was honored with a menu exhibit at The Southern Food & Beverage Museum in N

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.3
106 reviews
561
  
421
  
38
  
25
  
14
  
7 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
AM P review for Marcela's Cookery
AM P on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

11/15/2015, 01:32 AM
Great food, fun cooking class! We used a Groupon to attend a Saturday afternoon cooking class. Chef Anthony is very entertaining.....it felt like a cooking show! He has a charming New Orleans accent and is very knowledgeable about Creole Cooking. The dishes we made and then ate all contained lots of shrimp, so this is not for anyone with a fish allergy. Marcela's Cookery (named after his wife) also sells bags of the spices used in his dishes and gives you a copy of the recipes so you can try them at home.
CPORT65 review for Marcela's Cookery
CPORT65 on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

10/15/2015, 01:35 AM
Very unique New Orleans experience in Seattle Haywood or server was incredible! He loves to chat and loves his job. A real taste of New Orleans as everything is shipped in from NO. If you are not sure if you will like the tastes, think of a flavor explosion of tantalizing spices! Try anything on the menu and you will be delighted. Oh, and the prices are very good as well!
RonTSmithers_B_C_ review for Marcela's Cookery
RonTSmithers_B_C_ on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

10/08/2015, 07:50 AM
Great service, great food, fun ambience Prompt and constantly attentive service. Wide ranging creole menu. I had a soft-shell crab apple, the catfish/crawfish entree and pecan pie. All tops! $41.00
Featured content
How to write a review on Google

How to write a review on Google

How to write a review on Google
Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?
967annea review for Marcela's Cookery
967annea on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

09/15/2015, 15:12 PM
Quaint New Orleans style cafe We stopped by for a light lunch and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the meal. It was like eating lunch in a quaint French Quarter cafe. The seafood gumbo was spot on and our Poor Boy couldn't have been any better. The pacific oysters were fried to perfection and the fresh crab meat was the lagniappe! This was an unexpected surprise to the commercial nature of the Pioneer Square area.
Melicent S review for Marcela's Cookery
Melicent S on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

09/03/2015, 01:39 AM
Great Creole Cooking Class I visited Marcela's to attend the Creole Cooking Class they offer, with the benefit of a discount through Amazon Local. The class took place towards the back of the dining area, with 5 tables arranged around a small set up for demonstrations. The class is a great mix of observation, audience participation, and food tasting. Two participants at a time would be selected to help with the cooking process (lots of mixing!), and the teacher made sure that all the people had a chance to help in some way. If you have no cooking experience, don't worry, as this is not a technical cooking class, anyone can do it. The teacher was engaging, entertaining, and very personable. Plus, the food was delicious. I definitely recommend this class, and look forward to going back simply as a diner.
Shirley G review for Marcela's Cookery
Shirley G on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

09/01/2015, 09:32 AM
Very "New York" Like OK ...so I was in Seattle as a tourist but my heart was in New York City! Walking the downtown streets of Seattle I noticed this interesting and sweet smelling restaurant. My first impression walking in was that the ambiance was so relaxed and slower paced than the previous places I had checked out. Now you might think that it was the deco that I found so New York'ish. NOT! It was the mannerism of the server. He was so attentive, helpful and offered suggestions for the four of us. One person in the party ordered a Bloody Mary and went on and on about how great it was. Three in the party ordered the "Sampler" plate. I am posting a picture of the Sampler Plate. I ordered the crab cakes and a side order of red beans and rice. The crawfish pie was divine and one could almost hear Jazz music if you let your mind wander. The food lived up to our demands. Do save room for the pecan pie! When we moaned we were to full for dessert our server suggested we all share a pice of pecan pie. We agreed and a large piece of pie with ice cream was perfect for sharing. I will be making a special trip to enjoy this pie in the future. Don't hesitate to try out this adventure and entertaining restaurant. I so appreciated the professional service that was available but not intrusive.
axs666 review for Marcela's Cookery
axs666 on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

06/13/2015, 17:25 PM
Pretty good Cajun/Creole Pro tip - the best dish here is the fried alligator. Expatriates of Louisiana, the owners have provided a reasonably authentic representation of a good restaurant in NOLA. The vibe is pretty cool and service is definitely friendly. The food is okay but not exceptionally executed. A decent place. Boiled crawfish were mediocre.
joannef452 review for Marcela's Cookery
joannef452 on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

06/04/2015, 07:32 AM
Lunch Excellent food all homemade made to order, melt in your mouth delish. Great service, knowledgeable waiter, recommended the sampler was the best a definite go back to visit enjoy
Ron K review for Marcela's Cookery
Ron K on Trip Advisor

7 years ago

04/09/2015, 14:40 PM
This place is to be avoided. We were a group of 14, and we had reseervations a couple of weeks in advance. We were seated right away, and ordered wine. About an hour after we ordered our food, we still had nothing on the table. We finally asked for some bread. TThe waiter apologizedforthe slow service, saying they had only one cook that evening. (There wwere just two other parties--of two each.) I had the pan-fried trout, which the waiter recommended. The trout was fried to a crisp, and had to be cut with a knife. The worst part was that it was so spicy it was almost inedible. In fact I left about half of it. One member of our group liked her food. Getting our bills (yes, we had separate checks) was as long an ordeal as waiting for our food. We arrived at this restaurant at 5:30, and got out of there at 7:55. The wine was good, and the waiter was friendly, even if not efficient. I won't be back.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.