Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Marcela's Cookery

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.3
106 reviews
|American|Seattle, WA 98104

106 James St, Seattle, WA 98104

(206) 223-0042

https://www.hugedomains.com/domain_profile.cfm?d=marcelascreolecookery&e=com

Open now:12:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(19) · American

16510 State Route 9 SE

(360) 668-4433

2 people are looking at this business

5.0
(42) · Seafood

15838 Sandy Hook Rd NE

(360) 394-7127

3 people are looking at this business

4.8
(513) · American

2715 6th Ave

(253) 327-1862

1 person is looking at this business

4.8
(319) · Restaurants

5609 Corson Ave S

(206) 762-3330

4 people are looking at this business

4.7
(69) · American

4700 Ohio Ave S

(206) 747-7041

3 people are looking at this business

4.7
(382) · Restaurants

611 Summit Ave E

(206) 420-2238

2 people are looking at this business

About

Marcela's Creole Cookery opened in 2008 featuring authentic New Orleans cuisine as well as other cajun dishes. The restaurant is a partnership between Anthony McDonald, who brings 25 years of experience in the restaurant industry in New Orleans as well as many of his family's recipes, & Marcela Fuenzalida, who adds five years experience as co-owner of a restaurant along with 25 years in the financial industry. Marcela's Creole Cookery's authentic creole flavors & outstanding service has received local & national recognition, placing it amongst Seattle finest locally owned restaurants. In 2009 Marcela's Creole Cookery was honored with a menu exhibit at The Southern Food & Beverage Museum in N

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.3
106 reviews
561
  
421
  
38
  
25
  
14
  
7 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
602dana review for Marcela's Cookery
602dana on Trip Advisor

5 years ago

07/31/2016, 12:09 PM
Listen to the waiter's recommendations Cajun and Creole are my favorite foods, and I measure local places against the real thing (New Orleans, that is). I'm not going to tell you that everything they serve here is brilliant. The Jambalaya didn't really impress this time, nor did the etouffee. Fortunately, we only got one sampler to share and had listened to the chef's recommendations on everything else. The alligator appetizer was as good as any I've ever had. The fried catfish was delicious. The BBQ prawns were as well. But the blackened redfish with crabcake and cream sauce was... well, it's the kind of dish you'll fly across a country for - the kind that instantly becomes one of the high points of your trip. A dish you won't forget. So go to Marcela's and listen to your waiter - trust their judgement, and odds are you'll have a meal to remember, in a restaurant that captures the true flavor of New Orleans in more ways than one.
SouthseaCouple review for Marcela's Cookery
SouthseaCouple on Trip Advisor

5 years ago

07/21/2016, 12:43 PM
Great evening meal, well worth a visit I went here whilst in the City for business. A fantastic place in a up and down part of town. The crab cakes to start were perfect followed by the Cajun trio which was amazing. When we arrived there was a cookery lesson going on too, a fantastic family run restaurant serving authentic food and truly friendly.
MattN670 review for Marcela's Cookery
MattN670 on Trip Advisor

5 years ago

07/10/2016, 03:50 AM
Not close to New Orleans The service was great, our alligator app was delicious. However, the etouffee was a broth, not a roux. The red rice/beans were also more like a generic dish than the thickened/gravy version found in New Orleans. The viscosity of the dishes were simply watered-down. If you're not a stickler for authenticity, you might like it. But this restaurant wouldn't make it a month in Louisiana.
Featured content
SMS Marketing: How to collect phone numbers for opt-in

SMS Marketing: How to collect phone numbers for opt-in

SMS Marketing: How to collect phone numbers for opt-in
A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews

A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews

A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews
nehasonipatel review for Marcela's Cookery
nehasonipatel on Trip Advisor

5 years ago

06/25/2016, 08:57 AM
Wow! I saw this restaurant as I was starting my tour of underground Seattle and couldn't wait to try it. As I walked in the manager said they were closing the kitchen. I don't know what possessed me but I asked if they had any leftovers! (It must have been the great aroma). He said he could fix me up a sampler plate. Amazing! I had jambalaya, gumbo, and crawfish pie. They were fantastic! I can't imagine what it would have been like had I eaten there. This place is so affordable and tasty. Definitely worth the stop!
LynneandWoody review for Marcela's Cookery
LynneandWoody on Trip Advisor

5 years ago

05/31/2016, 06:29 AM
A taste of NOLA in Seattle Dropped in after an afternoon Mariners game at about 4:45, the witching hour between the lunch and dinner menus. Andrew was helpful in advising us on food and drink. I got a Hurricane (and it was a good, strong one--a la Pat O'Brien's in New Orleans) and my hubby got one of the Abita beer choices. As we weren't incredibly hungry, we split the Cajun Sampler with a salad (our choice of dressing was Citrusy Italian), Gumbo, Crawfish Pie, and Shrimp and Andouille (sausage) Jambalaya. The to-die-for item was the Gumbo, with a bit of a (spice) kick. I enjoyed the Jambalaya and my husband liked the Crawfish Pie. The salad was a basic green salad with tomatoes, carrots and purple kale--dressing was good. Then I topped off the meal with Pecan Pie. It was made with dark syrup, but was quite good. Marcella's is a true taste of NOLA in Seattle and, were we not visiting from out of town, we would visit often! The service was terrific and Andrew was most helpful in answering our questions.
Kacie W review for Marcela's Cookery
Kacie W on Trip Advisor

5 years ago

04/22/2016, 15:14 PM
Loved it We went for a later dinner, and there was a cooking class in the back. It's a cute little place. I was worried that things may be too spicy, but we both had meals that were fairly mild. I had friend catfish with a crayfish cream sauce, and my husband had a friend chicken cutlet with the same cream sauce, but with andouille sausage. The waitress was great, try a chickory coffee. Oh, the tables had the names of the regulars posted. I now have a new goal in life.
teeberry29 review for Marcela's Cookery
teeberry29 on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

03/27/2016, 03:56 AM
Fun Time! My Mother and I took the cooking class offered to sharpen up our Creole skills! Had a great time and added to my knowledge base. Anthony was entertaining and engaging. Love the shrimp bruschetta!
James K review for Marcela's Cookery
James K on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

02/18/2016, 13:49 PM
Excellent food and service I wasn't sure what to expect based on the very unassuming exterior of the restaurant, but this was a real find. I enjoyed the "Uptown Chicken," which was the lightest and most flavorful chicken I have had in a really long time. It came with steamed broccoli and potatoes, which were okay, but the chicken was divine. I finished with the bread pudding, which was soaked in a very strong liqueur. It was also very good. The value for the meal was better than I expected with it only costing about $26 for dinner, an iced tea, and desert. I would definitely go back to eat there again.
hokulani57 review for Marcela's Cookery
hokulani57 on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

01/28/2016, 10:53 AM
Marcela's Creole Cooking and Dining Experience Six of us (son and daughter-in-law, her parents and we, the parents of said son) had TravelZoo vouchers for a Creole cooking class & meal, The cost of the vouchers was around $40 for two people. Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday evenings and Saturday afternoon experiences are available. The restaurant is in Seattle's iconic Pioneer Square. We found parking on the street easily (Thursday) so we had time to walk thru Occidental Park as well as window shopping along 1st Avenue. Marcela's is an authentic Creole(New Orleans) restaurant. Old brick walls, with art work from the New Orleans area. Small, intimate, probably seats 60. The class group was seated together in an area where there was a table set up for cooking. Anthony (comic, husband of Marcela and all around expert of Creole cookery) was our host and instructor. He was engaging, informative and included all the guests in preparation of the 4=course dinner. Our learning and feasting centered around Shrimp Gumbo, Creole Garlic Shrimp Crostini, Shrimp Etouffee and Peach Cobbler. All courses were magnificent in flavor. We especially enjoyed the Crostini! All Recipes were printed for our personal use. This experience was perfect with genuine Hurricane's, camaraderie between groups that arrived together as well as the new "friends" we met. We will be back to sample other menu offerings and a Sunday afternoon "boil" of crayfish. Thank you to Marcela and Anthony - for the New Orleans Creole escape on a Seattle winter evening!
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.