Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Marcela's Cookery

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.3
106 reviews
|American|Seattle, WA 98104

106 James St, Seattle, WA 98104

(206) 223-0042

https://www.hugedomains.com/domain_profile.cfm?d=marcelascreolecookery&e=com

Closed now

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(19) · American

16510 State Route 9 SE

(360) 668-4433

2 people are looking at this business

5.0
(42) · Seafood

15838 Sandy Hook Rd NE

(360) 394-7127

4 people are looking at this business

4.8
(513) · American

2715 6th Ave

(253) 327-1862

4 people are looking at this business

4.8
(319) · Restaurants

5609 Corson Ave S

(206) 762-3330

7 people are looking at this business

4.7
(69) · American

4700 Ohio Ave S

(206) 747-7041

3 people are looking at this business

4.7
(382) · Restaurants

611 Summit Ave E

(206) 420-2238

3 people are looking at this business

About

Marcela's Creole Cookery opened in 2008 featuring authentic New Orleans cuisine as well as other cajun dishes. The restaurant is a partnership between Anthony McDonald, who brings 25 years of experience in the restaurant industry in New Orleans as well as many of his family's recipes, & Marcela Fuenzalida, who adds five years experience as co-owner of a restaurant along with 25 years in the financial industry. Marcela's Creole Cookery's authentic creole flavors & outstanding service has received local & national recognition, placing it amongst Seattle finest locally owned restaurants. In 2009 Marcela's Creole Cookery was honored with a menu exhibit at The Southern Food & Beverage Museum in N

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.3
106 reviews
561
  
421
  
38
  
25
  
14
  
7 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Christina1119 review for Marcela's Cookery
Christina1119 on Trip Advisor

4 years ago

04/30/2017, 05:00 AM
OMG and We Are from Nola !! Im sorry for how Lon this is BUT 5 stars does not really say it. My husband and I just arrived earlier today & were looking for something close to our hotel. We rarely ever eat seafood out bc no one can do New Orleans food right. WELL let me say this place went beyond our expectations. Not the touristy food people may be familiar with but GREAT ole southern New Orleans food we know & love. I truly can not say enough on how good this food was. I am so proud & pleased someone did not fall to what people "think" our food is but actually what it "IS" basic flavor filled food. We will be going back before we leave in 3 days. Hubby wants a catfish poboy lol We had the catfish & crawfish, crab cakes & Baked Stuffed flounder. All I can say is if you don't love this ... I'm sorry. Don't go in with what you "think" or have had in some big fancy restaurant in NOLA because this is truly the real deal. Thank you thank you ... we were missing our home food in the middle of a long multi city trip. Let me add my husband is a GREAT cook and he was raving too.
Roberta H review for Marcela's Cookery
Roberta H on Trip Advisor

5 years ago

02/05/2017, 11:41 AM
From Lousianna to Seattle We met a group of people here for dinner and had a wonderful time. I have decided I am not a fan of southern food in the respect that I am not a deep fried kind of gal. So many of the dishes are absolutely deep fried and battered. All dishes people ordered were greatly liked, tasty and good presentation. The atmosphere is quaint and cozy. The only draw back was the restrooms which were not in the restaurant but across a hall in back of the restaurant. It was cold using the facilities as it is winter. Not the tidiest either. But back in the restaurant things were good. The owner is a very pleasant and entertaining gentleman who made all of us feeling looked after and very special. The waitstaff was very attentive and the service was quite fast. Again even though I was not thrilled with the style of meals I would recommend this restaurant as a unique and enjoyable experience. Also the drinks were very good.
Michael_05495 review for Marcela's Cookery
Michael_05495 on Trip Advisor

5 years ago

01/27/2017, 14:03 PM
A great option. Give it a try! This is a pretty fun place in pioneer square. The staff is friendly and the decor is pretty cool. The place has a pretty fun vibe. My dinner was good but maybe just short of spectacular. Étouffée was very enjoyable. I will definitely hit this place up the next time I'm in town.
Featured content
How financial institutions can leverage the power of SMS marketing (includes free templates)

How financial institutions can leverage the power of SMS marketing (includes free templates)

How financial institutions can leverage the power of SMS marketing (includes free templates)
Handling negative reviews- 4 important tips

Handling negative reviews- 4 important tips

Handling negative reviews- 4 important tips
Sheelm14 review for Marcela's Cookery
Sheelm14 on Trip Advisor

5 years ago

12/11/2016, 05:39 AM
Interesting food options and good atmosphere The food was just average but the atmosphere is great. The service is very good. I liked the alligator appetizers.
hectop review for Marcela's Cookery
hectop on Trip Advisor

5 years ago

10/29/2016, 04:15 AM
Creole in Seattle Had a great introduction to creole cuisine here. It was recommended by the hotel I was staying at and I'm glad I followed up on it. Tried a couple of their apps to get a more of an overall experience never having had creole before. Everything was very tasty. Staff are quite friendly. I found out that night that they run a cooking demo throughout out the week and the next time I was in Seattle, I attended that. Had a great time and some great food.
Samantha S review for Marcela's Cookery
Samantha S on Trip Advisor

5 years ago

10/26/2016, 18:24 PM
Delicious! I stopped in after a long day of walking and was dismayed to hear they were closed because of a private party. However, they were willing to do a takeaway for me. I'm so glad they did because it was phenomenal. I've been to New Orleans many times and this was authentic and very tasty. I hope to come back soon and experience the full menu!
sanderson_10 review for Marcela's Cookery
sanderson_10 on Trip Advisor

5 years ago

09/09/2016, 03:31 AM
Authentic Cajun Been to a handful of restaurants in New Orleans and I would pick this place over all of them. Fantastic staff and great food. Crawfish Etoufee and the Gator Bites were delicious. If you're in the mood for Cajun food in the Seattle area this place is a must.
Charlene M review for Marcela's Cookery
Charlene M on Trip Advisor

5 years ago

08/23/2016, 09:56 AM
Perfect lunch in every way We were trying to find a spot that appealed to our need for flavor, spice, and quantity. We happened upon Marcela's Cookery - delicious Cajun, New Orleans food along with good, knowledgeable service. Would love to go back for Dinner sometime too.
nikkitrev review for Marcela's Cookery
nikkitrev on Trip Advisor

5 years ago

08/16/2016, 04:32 AM
Cooking class was awesome!! I purchased a cooking class here because my fiancée and I love Creole & Cajun food. It was perfect- just the right amount of hands on participation and tasting! The classes were a great size- around 12 or 14 of us, so we could see the demo and ask questions easily. You have the option of buying drinks during the class and purchasing a bag of Anthony's delicious seasoning. It was a fun evening - we learned how easy it can be to make gumbo and etoufee at home! Definitely worth it!
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.