Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Marcela's Cookery

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.3
106 reviews
|American|Seattle, WA 98104

106 James St, Seattle, WA 98104

(206) 223-0042

https://www.hugedomains.com/domain_profile.cfm?d=marcelascreolecookery&e=com

Open now:11:00 am - 9:00 pm

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(19) · American

16510 State Route 9 SE

(360) 668-4433

2 people are looking at this business

5.0
(42) · Seafood

15838 Sandy Hook Rd NE

(360) 394-7127

4 people are looking at this business

4.8
(513) · American

2715 6th Ave

(253) 327-1862

2 people are looking at this business

4.8
(319) · Restaurants

5609 Corson Ave S

(206) 762-3330

7 people are looking at this business

4.7
(69) · American

4700 Ohio Ave S

(206) 747-7041

3 people are looking at this business

4.7
(382) · Restaurants

611 Summit Ave E

(206) 420-2238

3 people are looking at this business

About

Marcela's Creole Cookery opened in 2008 featuring authentic New Orleans cuisine as well as other cajun dishes. The restaurant is a partnership between Anthony McDonald, who brings 25 years of experience in the restaurant industry in New Orleans as well as many of his family's recipes, & Marcela Fuenzalida, who adds five years experience as co-owner of a restaurant along with 25 years in the financial industry. Marcela's Creole Cookery's authentic creole flavors & outstanding service has received local & national recognition, placing it amongst Seattle finest locally owned restaurants. In 2009 Marcela's Creole Cookery was honored with a menu exhibit at The Southern Food & Beverage Museum in N

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.3
106 reviews
561
  
421
  
38
  
25
  
14
  
7 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
jazzoid review for Marcela's Cookery
jazzoid on Citysearch

13 years ago

07/06/2008, 03:46 AM
New Orleans Food in Seattle – Marcela's Cookery - New Orleans food in Seattle - a place you should visit. My wife and I had dinner there this weekend, and the food is excellent, authentic New Orleans Cuisine, in a casual, brick walled, artsy atmosphere. Anthony, the owner, is charming and gracious making you feel that you are, in fact, in a little piece of New Orleans. We had delicious, rich Red Sapper and a spicy Crab au Gratin. Their bread pudding is hard to resist. I even tried fried alligator for the first time - I really liked this local treat. I truly had trouble deciding which of the many dishes to order, so I'll have to be back soon. The music is Zydeco, Cajun, funky and fun,and not too loud. The prices are reasonable as well. With all th taste - alike restaurants in Seattle,this one is different and delicious.
cooknengr review for Marcela's Cookery
cooknengr on Citysearch

13 years ago

06/24/2008, 03:59 AM
cajun food in Seattle – Went there last night, dissapointment and expensive too. Food portion was way too small. Gumbo: blend, no holly rolly trinity, rice was partially cooked, no sausage/andouille...need at least some cajun spice, file was a nice touch..NO OKRA! Alligator tail : Fried too long in cookng oil which in not fresh anymore, instead of golden brown, were dark brown with some burnt bits, tasteless, need at least salt and pepper. Salad: nothing to write home about. Veal Tchoupitouse : soggy crust was falling off the meat, Hollandaise Sauce was no way close to emulsion like it's supposed to be. Waiter was excelent in explaining the menu, kitchen crew needs basic deep fry training . However, they were open to comments and suggestions, and I hope food quality will improve, good luck. Oh, no bread or rolls either.
csmk review for Marcela's Cookery
csmk on Citysearch

13 years ago

05/12/2008, 01:59 AM
marcela's cookery is now my new pioneer square favorite. i work in the area and love that it's a quick 5 minute walk. but even if i had to drive, street parking is not too hard to find. lunch was fabulous. i had the shrimp po'boy sandwich...the flavoring of the shrimp was amazing. if you are in the pioneer square area or looking for a taste of the creole south, you must come by.
Featured content
'Facebook Reviews' are now 'Facebook Recommendations'

'Facebook Reviews' are now 'Facebook Recommendations'

'Facebook Reviews' are now 'Facebook Recommendations'
Introducing Birdeye Interactions

Introducing Birdeye Interactions

Introducing Birdeye Interactions
jillholliday review for Marcela's Cookery
jillholliday on Citysearch

14 years ago

03/26/2008, 01:43 AM
Totally fantastic food, atmosphere and personal service! – I was anxious to try Marcela's Cookery as I had heard from a friend that their original New Orleans cuisine was something they thought I would enjoy and appreciate. They were certainly right! When my dining partner and I got out of our car, we were hoping that the delectable smells that immediately teased our noses were indeed coming from Marcela's. Lucky for us, the food that creates those delightful smells fully met our expectations. Everything from the homemade red wine blue cheese dressing on my salad to the fresh, homemade pecan pie for dessert was so yummy! I am new to New Orleans cuisine, but now look forward to going back and trying more of their offerings. The atmosphere of the restaurant, as well as the personal service, makes this a place I want to take my sweetheart!
PurpleTime review for Marcela's Cookery
PurpleTime on Trip Advisor

14 years ago

03/10/2008, 08:15 AM
Not yet...maybe someday? I’ve endured failed attempts at all manner of cuisine. I am hesitant to send dishes back, but not above doing so. I swallow just about everything I put in my mouth, and there is nothing I don’t eat. I was looking for something to eat while down near Pioneer Square and the promise of a little New Orleans fix caught my eye so I parked in the nearby garage. Upon entering, we were greeted then promptly told that they were not open until 5PM. After killing an hour in nearby shops, we returned to enjoy some rich soulful treats. I must agree that Anthony is an asset when it comes to personality, his banter is both homey and engaging. We were taken in by the suggestion of a special, the contents of which were made up on the spot. The food however left much to be desired. We managed to eat the gumbo and etoufee which were uniquely bitter, and very much enjoyed the house made salad-dressings although it was served with old greens and tomatoes that wouldn’t be ripe for another month. Upon trying the Red Snapper, I actually had to spit it out. We sent this back, and it was replaced with some Salmon which while identified as King, presented with the taste and texture of Chum (And not fresh chum at that!). Anthony said he tried the Snapper we sent back and found that it tasted fine. This is only the surface of what I expect to be a larger problem, but the real kicker here is that we were presented with a bill on which everything was ala carte totaling over $100. I’m no stranger to laying down plenty of money for great food, and gladly do so at many of Seattle’s fine restaurants. At this point in the experience I was too frustrated to do anything beyond paying the bill and leaving. This place should be on Ramsay's Kitchen Nightmares, but perhaps this can snap them back to reality without the need for reality TV. Avoid at all costs until they hopefully get their act together.
Respond to negative reviews
JasonTheFoodie review for Marcela's Cookery
JasonTheFoodie on Trip Advisor

14 years ago

02/29/2008, 05:46 AM
Went here for lunch today and had the New Orleans Sampler, along with a side of broccoli and holindaise. The broccoli... Went here for lunch today and had the New Orleans Sampler, along with a side of broccoli and holindaise. The broccoli could have been hotter, and the holidaise was a bit runny and a little more sour than I would have liked. The sampler consisted of cajun rice, red beans with rice, gumbo with rice, and rice-based jambalaya. For a sampler plate, I was disappointed that everything was rice-based because it just got very heavy and repetetive. The flavors and textures were okay (of all of the dishes, the jambalaya was the best.. it had a nice smoky flavor), though I would have preferred stronger flavors and more spiciness. The sampler was $15, which I felt would have been more appropriately priced at $10 for lunch. The $5 broccoli was also overpriced in my opinion. Aside from the food, the service was fine and the decor was cute.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook review for Marcela's Cookery
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook on Trip Advisor

14 years ago

02/28/2008, 16:57 PM
Anthony the proprietor of this very new place is a recent transplant from New Orleans and is trying to get to know all... Anthony the proprietor of this very new place is a recent transplant from New Orleans and is trying to get to know all his new customers. He is friendly and working hard to bring a great taste of the South to Seattle. That said the muffaletta was dynamite but the shrimp gumbo could have done with a bit of salt but nothing that couldn't be be solved at the table. Give this new friendly place a try
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.