Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Marcela's Cookery

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.3
106 reviews
|American|Seattle, WA 98104

106 James St, Seattle, WA 98104

(206) 223-0042

https://www.hugedomains.com/domain_profile.cfm?d=marcelascreolecookery&e=com

Open now:5:00 am - 9:00 pm

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(19) · American

16510 State Route 9 SE

(360) 668-4433

2 people are looking at this business

5.0
(42) · Seafood

15838 Sandy Hook Rd NE

(360) 394-7127

4 people are looking at this business

4.8
(513) · American

2715 6th Ave

(253) 327-1862

4 people are looking at this business

4.8
(319) · Restaurants

5609 Corson Ave S

(206) 762-3330

7 people are looking at this business

4.7
(69) · American

4700 Ohio Ave S

(206) 747-7041

3 people are looking at this business

4.7
(382) · Restaurants

611 Summit Ave E

(206) 420-2238

4 people are looking at this business

About

Marcela's Creole Cookery opened in 2008 featuring authentic New Orleans cuisine as well as other cajun dishes. The restaurant is a partnership between Anthony McDonald, who brings 25 years of experience in the restaurant industry in New Orleans as well as many of his family's recipes, & Marcela Fuenzalida, who adds five years experience as co-owner of a restaurant along with 25 years in the financial industry. Marcela's Creole Cookery's authentic creole flavors & outstanding service has received local & national recognition, placing it amongst Seattle finest locally owned restaurants. In 2009 Marcela's Creole Cookery was honored with a menu exhibit at The Southern Food & Beverage Museum in N

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.3
106 reviews
561
  
421
  
38
  
25
  
14
  
7 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
dmtg review for Marcela's Cookery
dmtg on Trip Advisor

10 years ago

08/11/2011, 07:51 AM
Love, Love, Love this place As a New Orleans native, this is one of the few restaurants in Seattle that offers up true, authentic creole cuisine. The BBQ shrimp is to die for as well as the gumbo, crabcakes and bread pudding. Anthony and Marcela are wonderful. Between the excellent food and their genuine southern hospitality, Marcela's truly makes for an awesome dining experience. I'd highly recommend!
LindseyEdmonton review for Marcela's Cookery
LindseyEdmonton on Trip Advisor

10 years ago

07/14/2011, 04:46 AM
Delicious! My husband and I went to Marcela's for dinner after the Seattle Underground Tour (which is right around the corner). Since it was a Monday it was less than half full, but we enjoyed the music and atmosphere. Our food was amazing - starting with the BBQ shrimp, which was delicious with bread for dipping in the butter and spices. (I probably could have eaten a whole loaf of bread with it!) My husband had the sampler and I went with the Jambalaya, both of which were excellent. Our server was friendly, prompt and knowledgeable, and overall I don't have anything negative to say about our dining experience! A bonus is that the meal was fairly inexpensive. Definitely a great value!
gnadivi review for Marcela's Cookery
gnadivi on Trip Advisor

11 years ago

09/23/2010, 10:25 AM
Creolicious! Having found myself in downtown during lunch hour the other day, I whipped out my iPhone, selected the Yelp app, and clicked on Nearby Restaurants to find a good place to eat. The first listing was Marcela's Creole Cookery, so I headed over for a little taste of New Orleans. Upon being seated, my eyes drifted upwards and I noticed that Marcela's ceiling (picture included) had $1 bills with people's names stapled all over it. Anthony, one of Marcela's owners stopped by my table to introduce himself and I asked him about it. He said the practice was inspired by a 200-year old bar in New Orleans called Absinthe House which was very popular with sailors who came through the port. Before departing, they would leave some money with the bartender to buy a drink for a buddy of theirs who was on another ship scheduled to dock a few days later in New Orleans. Anthony pays homage to this home-town custom by letting people write their buddy's name on a $1 bill and stapling it to his ceiling. Nice tradition! Since it was my first visit, I decided to try the French Quarter Sampler with Crawfish Pie, Jambalaya, and Shrimp Gumbo, and got a side of Garlic Bread to boot. Everything was very tasty, but the combination of the garlic bread dipped in the shrimp gumbo was outstanding. I decided to indulge a little and ordered the Bread Pudding with Whiskey Sauce (my favorite dessert), which was served in the shape of a hockey puck, and pre-sliced into quarters. This dessert was rich, dense as a chewy brownie, and syrupy sweet. I found the whiskey sauce had a wee bit too much emphasis on the whiskey, but that's just a personal thing. While I was enjoying lunch, one of the waiters went around to the female patrons and bestowed beaded necklaces upon them, but apparently ignorant of New Orleans custom, none of the women flashed him in gratitude. ;-) The food at Marcela's Creole Cookery was very good, and I will definitely be going back the next time I'm in the neighborhood.
Featured content
Why a Digital Marketing Agency Should Offer Online Reputation Management

Why a Digital Marketing Agency Should Offer Online Reputation Management

Why a Digital Marketing Agency Should Offer Online Reputation Management
Trust Economy: Why Google and Birdeye Are Against Review Gating

Trust Economy: Why Google and Birdeye Are Against Review Gating

Trust Economy: Why Google and Birdeye Are Against Review Gating
m10036 review for Marcela's Cookery
m10036 on Trip Advisor

11 years ago

06/18/2010, 17:01 PM
It Really Did Taste Like New Orleans I got takeout for my wife and me here. The selection was good. The food was good. The people were nice.
Jeninnw review for Marcela's Cookery
Jeninnw on Citysearch

11 years ago

05/12/2010, 02:48 AM
Excellent – I went to this place last week for the first time and have been back twice already. The bread is just like you get out of New Orleans and so is the andouille sausage. Since leaving the South 12 years ago I've never eaten at a Southern or Creole restaurant that I've liked- this place I LOVE! I've had a couple of po' boy sandwiches a sampler of Creole dishes and the red beans and rice and they were all great. Can't wait to go back and work my way through the whole menu. I'll admit they are a tad pricey compared to what these meals cost in New Orleans BUT worth it. I'd rather pay a few bucks more and get great food...especially in the Pac NW where people just don't know how to cook this stuff.
Wundercluck review for Marcela's Cookery
Wundercluck on Trip Advisor

12 years ago

02/08/2010, 12:43 PM
Wonderful and gracious people, AWESOME food! My wife and I saw the review for Marcelas Cookery in the March issue of Food Network Magazine and immediately knew we had to try it. We were going to be in Seattle the next weekend but had other engagements, so we called and asked if we could get the food to go. They were more than pleased to box up anything we liked so we came back with crawfish pie, jambalaya and the best Muffaletta we had ever eaten! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!
enchantedlady review for Marcela's Cookery
enchantedlady on Trip Advisor

12 years ago

12/13/2009, 12:44 PM
A great romantic experience I went to Marcelas for the first time and loved it .The food was fabulous the atmosphere was wonderful and very romantic a great place to bring a date .The menu was good and not too expensive ,alot more affordable than I thought . I will definitley go back.
Trish2000 review for Marcela's Cookery
Trish2000 on Citysearch

12 years ago

10/09/2009, 01:48 AM
Sad imitation of NOLA – We were excited to try this restaurant. I used to live in New Orleans and always want to find a place that serves that cuisine. We were very disappointed. We were the only table in the restaurant the entire time. Waitress/Owner couldn't provide descriptive explanations of food, forgot our salads and served our 4 entrees cold. 2 people had the French Quarter Platter - gumbo tasteless, crawfish pie -fair but cold, jambalaya luke warm. I had the Uptown Chicken - it couldn't have been a thinner piece of chicken with a bland sauce, same with Chicken Devin. Expensive!!! We were 4 people - 4 entrees, 2 desserts and 8 drinks - bill was $160!! The well drinks were $7.50!! Restaurant is cute, but the bathrooms were filthy - we were the first customers. Seating is chairs and benches and very hard for long sitting. Overall very disappointing and won't return. Too bad.
amberjharmon review for Marcela's Cookery
amberjharmon on Citysearch

12 years ago

08/07/2009, 03:03 AM
Great Atomsphere and Wonderful People – Marcela's Creole Cookery has the only authentic creole food in Seattle that I have been able to find. And I have been on quite a search since I moved here in February. The blackened red snapper, crawfish pie and jambalaya are amazing.They also have all you can eat catfish night on Thursday and shrimp boils every Sunday. Which is a blast to take friends too who have never been to Louisiana or are looking for a new experience. The owners are down to earth and great people. I have been to Marcela's many times and have never had a bad experience.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.