Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

La Campagne

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
3.4
22 reviews
|Restaurants|Kingston Estates, NJ 08034

312 Kresson Rd, Kingston Estates, NJ 08034

(856) 429-7647

https://www.hugedomains.com/domain_profile.cfm?d=lacampagne&e=com

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(1) · Bagels

1500 Market St

(215) 582-0076
5.0
(36) · Coffee & Tea

32 Germay Dr

(302) 654-4088
5.0
(3) · Pizza

655 N Broad St

(215) 765-4000

3 people are looking at this business

5.0
(8) · Meat Shops

960 Spruce St South wing

(609) 396-3966

2 people are looking at this business

5.0
(7) · Italian

200 S Broad St

(215) 546-9200
5.0
(12) · Burgers

16 Wilson Ave

(732) 446-9312
About

Four intimate dining rooms, hardwood floors & a turn-of-the-century fireplace complete the ambience at this 150 year old Cherry Hill farm house. The attention to detail in La Campagne's classical cuisine sets the bar in South Jersey. This BYO has been serving patrons for over 18 years & was recently voted most romantic restaurant in a reader's poll by SJ magazine. In warmer months guests take advantage of the garden terrace. The manicured gardens, brick walks & bocce ball court make this outdoor dining space a rare find & a picturesque setting for any occasion.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

3.4
22 reviews
52
  
42
  
31
  
23
  
10
  
14 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Ty L on Citysearch

10 years ago

08/27/2011, 03:25 AM
Great experience with new chef-owner. – Apparently there has been a new chef/owner for a few years now. We had avoided it because we thought it was the guy from 2003 still. We were wrong. We had a great time and will be back again - wish we had known sooner. We were here this week for italian week and the food was fantastic. Loved the bruschetta and gnocchis. The homemade gelato was better than italy. Great server at our table and the chef came out to talk to us, making the experience even better.
Simply H. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

08/27/2010, 06:03 AM
High school French - not the real thing! This restaurant's authenticity is quite a disappointment. We've been to France several times and we recognize the imposter easily. It is really quite a pretty place; the decor is an American version of country French. The food reminds me of the tiny portion madness that was so often derided in The New Yorker magazine cartoons. In Provence, portions are larger, tables are spaced. In the tourist areas of Paris, portions are tiny - just as they are at La Campagne. My husband will not go back there with me. He took me once for my birthday and gritted his teeth throughout. I had an excellent pear and goat cheese salad (that reminded me of California) paired with the chef's special: a fine rare tuna steak and 3 green beans. Family members gave us a quite large gift certificate at Christmas so we returned - but forgot to bring it with us. So I convinced my husband to return yet a third time to use the gift certificate - but they would not honor it - because by then it was Christmas again. I guarantee you, the French restaurateurs are much more generous with the food and much more gracious with the gifts. La Campagne is a money factory that takes aim at Cherry Hill tourists. To experience an extravagance of French authenticity, just continue around the corner to Nonna's on Haddonfield-Berlin Road for pure French provencal food exquisitely prepared by a man born in Cannes.
Simply H. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

08/27/2010, 01:31 AM
High school French - not the real thing! This restaurant's authenticity is quite a disappointment. We've been to France several times and we recognize the imposter easily.
Featured content
The End of Anonymous Google Reviews and the Rise of the Trust Economy

The End of Anonymous Google Reviews and the Rise of the Trust Economy

The End of Anonymous Google Reviews and the Rise of the Trust Economy
How a mass text service can help real estate agents (with templates)

How a mass text service can help real estate agents (with templates)

How a mass text service can help real estate agents (with templates)
Ann D. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

11/13/2008, 00:21 AM
Now were talking This is what you call fine French Dining. Great gathering restaurant with family and friends or want to impress your love ones this is the place. I have the Dover Amendine EXCELLENT that is just what I enjoy not fishy and just the perfect buttery taste. I have sampled other foods here that was very good but this is the one I'm sticking with!
cindy c. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

10/12/2008, 02:32 AM
Intimate setting. Nice restaurant for that special night out. The setting is intimate and the food is good. We always order from the chef's special menu. Different and creative.
RetiredChef1 on Citysearch

13 years ago

06/11/2008, 01:19 AM
Best French restaurant between Philly and Atlantic City – My wife and I had our anniversary dinner there last month. I am a retired French Chef. This was the best meal I ever ate in all my 50 years. On a quiet Wednesday May night we were seated outside on the patio. Our daughter played on the bocce ball court. We ate melt-in-your mouth foie gras done perfectly with a light Sauterne glaze, escargot with a mild Dijon sauce, and a cheese platter. Chef Benussi selected a French cheese, a Dutch chese, a Pennsylvania sheep's milk cheese and a NJ cheese that were distinctly different served with homemade fruit jams and toast points. A tartufo of king crab and mussels complemented each opther perfectly. My lamb was dead on medium rare, my wife's salmon appropriately just barely medium. Service was perfectly attentive without being obtrusive. We were greeted and seated immediately. If you want perectly prepared food with matching service and appropriately priced for its genre, I would urge you to go here. The Chef actually came out and answered our questions - a friendly but low key man, pointing out their own fresh herb garden as we spoke. Don't miss this excellent restaurant!!! My training was classic French so my wife and I don't eat out much, but when we do this is where we go. La Campagne's chef's over the past 20 years are a veritable who's who of the best chefs in the area, and Chef Richard Benussi is another in a long line, and luckily for my family, he is the owner, so we'll be going back to eat his handiwork hopefully for many more years.
Judith A. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

03/29/2008, 01:22 AM
delicious I've had many wonderful dinners at this restaurant. The atmosphere is French provincial and so is the food. The prices are reasonable for the quality of food. It is not for family dining, in my opinion, but it certainly is suitable for a night out with someone special.
restaurantrose on Citysearch

14 years ago

03/23/2008, 01:29 AM
This is not fine dining – I can't believe this is supposed to be a really fine restaurant. It was just barely run of the mill ordinary. Which is a real problem because the prices are extremely high--$30 brunch and $40 prix fixe Easter menu. Not run of the mill for the area. The best word I can use to describe this place is lazy, from the decor to the food. The whole restaurant is painted bright kitchen yellow, with tacky fake French impressionist prints in the entrance dining room and not particularly interesting modern art elsewhere. The color has no relation to the lovely plank floors and brick fireplace. The overall impression is of a 1970s kitchen (especially with the 1970s-style brick tile entrance). Nothing French or tasteful about it. The table settings are cheap and tacky when they are desperately needed to create some kind of atmosphere. The dinner menu was astonishing for any place that calls itself a fine restaurant. EVERY single prix fixe dinner entree from salmon to lamb to ham came with the same sides: whipped potatoes and sauteed escarole with no particular taste. That is just lazy. I cannot believe any well-trained chef even wants to serve the same bland sides for salmon as for lamb. But he obviously couldn't be bothered to come up with flavors for side dishes that enhanced the different entrees---Isn't that the very point of fine dining? The bread slices had no taste and mine was actually stale on one side (at first I thought it was toasted). They were served with rock hard flavored butter. The mushroom soup was overwhelmed with pepper and could have come from a can for all its subtlety. The set dessert was a chocolate mousse cake served cold--which meant your mouth tasted mostly the cold and then some chocolate. I think the new owner is banking on the restaurant's previous reputation, the wood floors and the fireplace to somehow do the cooking and create character all at the same time. It isn't working. At this price point, it's actually arrogant.
mahoneeg on Citysearch

14 years ago

02/21/2008, 02:22 AM
Great food – I grew up in the area and had always wanted to go here, but never really got the chance. I went here on Valentine's Day and loved the whole experience. The place has apparently come under new ownership (the chef took over) and it really shows. I would recommend for a date or a special night of going out with friends. I had thought that it was mainly an older crowd, but noticed that a lot of younger people were there. It made me wish I had gone in sooner.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.