Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

John Bryan State Park

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.7
1979 reviews
|Parks|Yellow Springs, OH 45387

3790 Ohio 370, Yellow Springs, OH 45387

(937) 767-1274

https://ohiodnr.gov/wps/portal/gov/odnr/discover-and-learn/safety-conservation/about-odnr/division-parks-watercraft

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
About

John Bryan State Park

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.7
1,979 reviews
51,556
  
4334
  
354
  
211
  
115
  
9 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Bloom Chemist on Trip Advisor

6 months ago

03/11/2021, 10:46 AM
Snow trilliums! First snow trilliums are beginning to bloom in the gorge! (March 10, 2021) John Bryan State Park is one of my favorite places to hike with wildflowers. Also found a first hepatica blooming and a bit of harbinger of spring. It's great that the south bridge has reopened, allowing for a loop walk inside the gorge.
Gafilpoo on Trip Advisor

10 months ago

11/10/2020, 09:09 AM
Cool little gorge You can see the whole park in one day. Hike the gorge in the morning and do the mountain bike trails in the afternoon! Family fun.
Nicole0223 on Trip Advisor

a year ago

08/11/2020, 07:00 AM
My favorite park John Bryan State Park is one of my favorite parks in Ohio! We camped with friends and hiked. It was a wonderful time and beautiful scenery! My only complaint was that everyone feeds the raccoons at the campground so they are not afford and will walk right up to your cooler and tents when you are sitting right by them.
Featured content
Trust Economy: Why Google and Birdeye Are Against Review Gating

Trust Economy: Why Google and Birdeye Are Against Review Gating

Trust Economy: Why Google and Birdeye Are Against Review Gating
5 Top Review Sites for Lawyers

5 Top Review Sites for Lawyers

5 Top Review Sites for Lawyers
rebecca g on Trip Advisor

a year ago

07/28/2020, 01:49 AM
A green and watery hike Bring water and a sense of open-eyed adventure. This park has low river beds and gorge topped trail paths.
klbarth39 on Trip Advisor

a year ago

07/21/2020, 02:11 AM
Nice smaller park with camping They have nice shelterhouses, walking trails disc golf and a lot of pinic tables. Their camping area is mostly in a large open area with only a few with pull of sites. Most of the sites are primitive with a lot of tent camping. They have fire rings at some sites. The area does have restrooms. The park has a day lodge and a park observatory along with several mountain bike trails. In another part of the park is a group only camping area with must be reserved in advance so that the park Rangers can unlocked and open the group area. The park is very well maintained.
Tim Michaliszyn on Facebook

a year ago

05/17/2020, 12:25 PM
The first time I tried riding at John Bryan I ended up leaving because the trails are not clearly marked and I did not want to risk riding on a hiking trail. The "map" at the kiosk seems to be out of date or incomplete and is not clear about which trails are designated for hiking and for riding. Because of COVID-19, the trails are one way, but the exits are not marked "Do Not Enter" like at MoMBA. The trail heads aren't marked well either, with a few small yellow arrows on the trees once you get down the shared hiking trail. There are no signs on where the trail heads are to guide you from the parking area. Since the map isn't helpful, you really don't know what you're getting into when you get on the trail and it's very easy to get lost. The trails themselves don't seem to flow all too well, with lots of roots and small stumps in the trail. They are mostly flat without much downhill to look forward to and no challenging or "fun" sections that make you want to go back and ride the same trail again. Half way through the loops I was on I just wanted them to be over. The trails are also very long without the option to get off the trail and head back. I'd say this would be a good place for beginners, but the lack of proper signage and a good trail map make it difficult to figure out where to go. You'll find a better beginner experience at the Troy Mountain Bike Area at Duke Park.
Business Response:

Thank you for your feedback. Trail building and maintenance on the mountain bike trails is all done by a small group of volunteers and we do the best that we can.

Erika Mehta Linderman on Facebook

a year ago

04/28/2020, 05:08 AM
Thanks for early morning updates on trails!
Sara McClaskey Smith on Facebook

2 years ago

10/31/2019, 02:40 AM
I rode the beginners loop in August....my very first mountain bike trail ride. It was awesome. Yes, I need to practice and there were some tough spots for me. But, I will be back, again and again!
ishouldbediving on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

10/16/2019, 11:58 AM
Beautiful Area, Enjoyed Hiking, Nice Campground We camped at John Bryan State Park (JBSP) campground for a long weekend. We had no electricity (site #42) which was a bummer because it got cold, therefore no heat. There are a few sites with electric. The campground is nice with some big sites (#43, #11) and some trees. Many sites are not level. Only the electric sites had a paved pad for campers. No bathrooms except pit toilets. The campground was clean and well maintained. We took a long hike through the gorge next to the creek which was beautiful and we will go back again just to do that trail again! It was a very easy hike. We hiked back via the upper rim trail which was nice but not as beautiful as being next to the creek. I recommend hiking all the way to the end to see the Narrow Gorge section, or there is a parking lot there. Part of this trail was next to the road but then veered away a bit so you don't feel like your hiking next to the freeway. The scenery was worth the easy hike. Our only complaint is the lack of trail signage in JBSP. We started our hike from the campground and didn't know where we were going to come out. But it worked out fine and we thoroughly enjoyed our hiking at JBSP. There are many picnic tables for a picnic, a small camp store, a playground and a Frisbee golf course in the park. It is only a couple of miles from Yellow Springs, so the next visit we plan to bring our bikes as there is a bike trail in YS. I don't know about riding my bike to YS from the campground because you have to ride on the road. JBSP is a great place to visit for a day to picnic and hike, or to stay for a long weekend. We plan to go back after the leaves have fallen to hike the gorge so we can see more without the leaves blocking some views. This park is also very close to Glen Helen Nature Preserve which we heard has good hiking too.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.