Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Jing Fong Restaurant

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
5.0
36 reviews
|Chinese|New York, NY 10013

20 Elizabeth St, New York, NY 10013

(212) 964-5256

http://jingfongny.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
About

Jing Fong Restaurant is a lavish dining place that specializes in dim sum cooked in the Hong Kong-style. The chefs are Chinese, thus lending authenticity to the food, which is prepared using traditional recipes. The dim sum is served in the classic style in bamboo baskets and garnishes are used to make the dishes visually attractive. Savor items like Barbecued Spare Ribs, Roasted Peking Duck, Salt Baked Lamb Chop and Diced Pork With Cashew Nut for the main course, accompanied by rice and noodle dishes. This restaurant has a luxurious ballroom with a seating capacity of 800 guests and can be hired for business functions, wedding receptions and bridal showers.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

5.0
36 reviews
51
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
35 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Randy J. on Yellow Pages

8 years ago

12/05/2013, 03:35 AM
Although the service isn't the greatest, the food makes up for it! Go during the week (Monday-Friday) for $2.35 for all items.
Mari R. on Citysearch

9 years ago

08/05/2012, 13:49 PM
don't go to this restaurant.....we were there yesturday...8/4/12...our waiter messed up my children's order, my daughter first ordered a chicken....she said half chicken, my son ordered chicken and broccoli with chicken fried rice...the waiter said to us, that the chef gives large portions of food enough for two people, i said fine because my children can share the meal...i ordered the stuffed egg plants.....so my daughter said to the waiter, ok forget the chicken and just bring us chicken and broccoli and the chicken fried rice.....my order came, so i waited for my children's order to come to the table....the waiter brings us a whole chicken....she said i told you to forget the chicken...i said its ok, then he brings a huge plate of the chicken fried rice....the waiter kept checking off on his pad what he brought....it was written in chinese......so we started eating and then he brings us the chicken and broccoli....we wound up eating half the food and took it home....then it was time to leave...i asked for the check....decent price.... 46.11.....so i gave the waiter 60.11 he says to me ok thank you good night......i said to him wait a minute i want my change..so we followed the waiter to the cashier and he spoke in his language, and when the cashier handed over my change to the waiter and the waiter passed to me....i got back 4 dollars.... i said to the cashier.....give me my ten dollars its suppose to be 14 dollars, i'm not going to tip the waiter.....she gave me my 10 dollars and we left.....never again am i going back to china town or any restaurant....china town has changed way too much.....
harveycritic on Citysearch

11 years ago

11/19/2010, 10:59 AM
Fun place – If you go on a weekend, Saturday is less crowded than Sunday. Arrive not at 1 pm. or 2 p.m. (if you arrive later than 2 p.m., forget it). Get there at 10.30 a.m. The food is freshest then, and you will not have to wait in the lobby or out on the street. Sometimes the dim sum will be luke warm, sometimes nice and hot, but always delicious. I almost always ignore the women with the carts but go straight to the buffet table which, surprisingly, is not crowded as most people wait for the carts. Sitting with strangers is no problem at all. The place is clean. When a group leaves, the waiters turn down the dirty tableclothes, and set up clean ones for you. I've never found an insect EVER in the place. Some critics have said the waiters throw the tea and utensils at you. This is not The Four Seasons. I've found everyone polite.
Featured content
How to ask for customer feedback - A go-to guide for small businesses

How to ask for customer feedback - A go-to guide for small businesses

How to ask for customer feedback - A go-to guide for small businesses
Reviews not showing up on Google? Here's what you can do.

Reviews not showing up on Google? Here's what you can do.

Reviews not showing up on Google? Here's what you can do.
Evanismo on Citysearch

11 years ago

03/09/2010, 11:48 AM
A dining adventure – Eating at this dim sum restaurant is an exercise in organized chaos, one that leaves the diner full, happy, and only slightly overwhelmed. First entering can be something of a hassle, as the line is often long and the wait system complicated. After going up a set of escalators and entering the football field-sized dining room, you are shuffled to your table, often shared with other diners. This is where the action begins. In true dim sum style, the wait staff races around the room wheeling carts plied high with delicacies, from steaming noodles to coconut dessert pudding. Catch them as they run by, point at something that looks good, and enjoy. A number of dishes are also available in the back of the room, including some rare vegetables. I had the opportunity to witness a dragon and drum parade while eating there, which, while entertaining, went about 20 minutes too long. Even with the loud thumping, this was something of an experience. Secret tip: word is that for Sunday brunch, the best food comes out first, so get here by 11.
Jian SHAN on Citysearch

12 years ago

11/21/2009, 05:11 AM
Good Dim Sum but DIRTY!! – my cousin threw up after eating dim sum here... and i found a fly in a one of the dim sums....
gepp on Citysearch

12 years ago

10/07/2009, 03:11 AM
Great dim sum – Everything we had tasted great - and love to go back to try more. Staff was friendly - at times it was a long wait for the card.
MashaGeller on Citysearch

12 years ago

04/26/2009, 07:43 AM
YUM!!! – SO good! Definitely going back to try everything still left on the menu after eating my body weight in dumplings earlier today.
igas on Citysearch

13 years ago

11/22/2008, 11:53 AM
incredible variety and a fun cultural experience if you take it with a smile! – great eating experiences are not about decor or presentation. Just great food. So anyone reviewing a restaurant and spending half the review talking about the quality of the bathrooms should not be reviewing restaurants. Nevertheless, this place sports a HUGE dining hall (and I dont mean by new york standards) and endless cart service. Yes they seat you with perfect strangers but they did put me with a couple of cute girls so it was all good. The food was simply delicious and the variety was unbeatable. I pointed at whatever looked good and they served it and I was not dissapointed. I'm definitely going again and you should too. As far as the service, if you have ever eaten or bought anything in chinatown you're probably used to it. You just smile and enjoy your delicious snails! I ordered 6 different plates for under 20 bucks! how can you beat that? And the food was top quality.
MidtownWestGirl on Citysearch

13 years ago

11/17/2008, 00:50 AM
Consistent food, numerous carts, good for groups – I used to go to the Golden Unicorn but now Jing Fong is my first choice for dim sum. Don't be deterred by the crowd in the lobby--the escalator leads to an enormous banquet hall so you'll be seated quickly. Once seated, wave down the carts or just hop up and take your card with you if you see something you like. The steamed dumplings and pork buns are good, as is the rice wrapped in tea leaves (or banana leaves?). There is a ton of seafood options. You may have to order the beef and chicken items. Be prepared to have no servers speak English. The green caterpillar-like dessert items are flaky pastry stuffed with durian pudding, a good way to get introduced to the fruit. I've never had anything that didn't taste good.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.