Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

iSushi

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
5.0
11 reviews
|Sushi Bars|Castro Valley, CA 94546 United States

20649 Rustic Dr, Castro Valley, CA 94546 United States

(510) 886-8528

https://www.isushisake.com/

Closed now
Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(13) · Sushi Bars

1918 Oak Park Blvd

(925) 705-7065
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

5.0
11 reviews
51
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
10 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Featured
Paige C. review for iSushi
Paige C. on Insider Pages

15 years ago

04/03/2008, 01:59 AM
Unbelievable Variety! This sushi restaurant has the best variety of interesting, unusual and delicious rolls I've tasted! If they don't have it on the menu, they'll whip it up for you, just tell them the ingredients you want. The place is tiny and very difficult to get a table on a Friday or Saturday evening, so be sure and make reservations if going on one of these nights. Be adventurous and try the specials, they're always delicious!
LazLong review for iSushi
LazLong on Citysearch

15 years ago

02/23/2008, 02:00 AM
Low quality food that is WAY over-priced. – I have now eaten at this place four times in the last three years. Each time it was due to the fact that my usual local sushi place, Sushi-Ya, was closed. Sushi-Ya has just moved to Livermore and I thought I would give I Sushi another chance. This turned out to be their last chance as I have now decided that this was my last visit. The food quality is mediocre at best. All of the tempura-based items I've had were over-battered and greasy. I was particularly disappointed by the Spider Roll. The other maki and nigiri I've had were unimpressive, highlighted by overly-dry rice. I would compare the quality to that found in standard fare buffets such as Todai. If the prices were similar, I would have less grounds to complain. However, the prices were astronomical considering the quality of the food. From now on I guess I will have to make the drive to Ray's Sushi.
Contributor review for iSushi
Contributor on Citysearch

15 years ago

05/08/2007, 04:15 AM
Editorial Review – Japanese spot and sushi bar serves up fresh dishes and sake.
Featured content
How a mass text service can help real estate agents (with templates)

How a mass text service can help real estate agents (with templates)

How a mass text service can help real estate agents (with templates)
13 travel review sites you need to know in 2021

13 travel review sites you need to know in 2021

13 travel review sites you need to know in 2021
rx8lover review for iSushi
rx8lover on Citysearch

16 years ago

02/16/2007, 07:03 AM
Great fish, friendly people; but pricey – I've been eating sushi for about 30 years throughout the bay area (and elsewhere), and this is currently my favorite. The fish is the freshest I have ever had, and Stanley, the owner, has created a large variety of rolls and other dishes, and guests have added others (myself and my wife included). For me, its really all about the fish. Stanley goes to several different Bay Area fish markets for fish, several times a week, which is why it is so fresh, he picks what he wants personally. Because of this, the menu for fish changes every few days, and the current recommendations are put on a board. You can order from the board, the menu, or just ask one of the chefs to surprise you, you probably won't be disappointed. They also have Sake, Sake, and more Sake. For the novice, there is hot sake (like everywhere else), and a large variety of what I will call jug-sake, basically, stuff from Takara and Oseki. He has multiple tastings with four different sakes each. From there, you can move up to Ginjo, which is "Premium" sake. The menu has maybe 10 premium sake's at any time. Above, Ginjo is Daiginjo (Super Premium), again with about 10 different varieties. Above this, there are other higher grade sake's which they may occasionally have in stock. Stanley is continually trying out new varieties and stocking the better ones. What you don't finish from the bottle, they will keep in the fridge for your next visit. He also has a large variety of wines and beer if you aren't into sake. I have been going here since he opened, and eat there every other week, if not more often. TO DIE FOR: I Valentino, Bluefin toro (when he has it), Lobster sashimi (special order if he can get it), Tempura Portbello mushrooms, fresh wasabi on cucumber, American Kobe beef sashimi, coconut ice cream with tempora avacado and mango.
keloc review for iSushi
keloc on Citysearch

16 years ago

01/17/2007, 09:11 AM
Delicious Sushi – The location is a bit odd, being that it is in a strip-mall of sorts (Castro Village). However, it is the best Sushi in the East Bay that I have tasted and I've been around (rumor has it) HA! The service is also very good. The wait-staff and sushi chefs are very personable and accomodating.
tonsert review for iSushi
tonsert on Citysearch

16 years ago

12/30/2006, 02:53 AM
A must visit spot for sushi in the East Bay – this is one of my favorite sushi places in the Bay Area. The service is friendly, fish is fresh and the rolls are imaginative and flavorful. I've been coming here for years and I love their hamachi belly, seared tuna appetizer, fresh oysters are a must try. They also have the best tempura and fried tofu in town. Ask for their daily specials! Usually I would get whatever is on the white board and it never dissapoints. if you are into sake, you must check their extensive sake menu as well.
sushi_lover1 review for iSushi
sushi_lover1 on Citysearch

16 years ago

11/27/2006, 06:53 AM
Truly Overpriced and below average at best – I've been eating sushi for over 30 years in the Bay Area. Honestly, I eat sushi about twice a month. I live within 5 minutes of this place, and yet I now only go to either Berkely, SF or to the pennisula for sushi. I have eaten at this place 3 times over the past 3 years. Last time I went there, I the hand roll that I got was so pathetic that I decided its not worth it to ever go back. If you think this is an awesome sushi for your money (and sushi in general is expensive), you haven't even experienced average quality sushi yet.
brodie 89 review for iSushi
brodie 89 on Citysearch

17 years ago

03/10/2006, 00:34 AM
Great Place for dinner or lunch! – Some of the freshest fish that you can get, great atmosphere and a wonderful friendly staff~ Great lounge that you can reserve upstairs for large parties!
m083 review for iSushi
m083 on Citysearch

17 years ago

02/01/2006, 04:22 AM
It was good... but hardly the best – I Sushi had a good variety of rolls, which catered to both the sushi lovers and non-raw seafood eaters. The food was nicely presented and was good, but the prices were higher then expected. One roll we ordered cost $15! The service was average. We noticed that they were inconsistant in their behavior towards customers-- really nice to some, barely noticing others. Although it was good, it was hardly the best.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.