Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Howard County General Hospital

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
3.0
1050 reviews
|Healthcare|Columbia, MD 21044

5755 Cedar Ln, Columbia, MD 21044

(410) 740-7890

https://www.hopkinsmedicine.org/howard_county_general_hospital/

Open now:12:00 am - Midnight

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Healthcare in your area
5.0
(5) · Internal Medicine

6301 N Charles St # 5

(410) 372-0300
5.0
(1) · Healthcare

7434 Holabird Ave

(410) 284-2273

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(7) · Doctors

5601 Loch Raven Blvd # 402

(443) 444-5700
5.0
(1) · Hospice

6602 Church Hill Rd # 300

(410) 758-3238
5.0
(1) · Chiropractors

6196 Oxon Hill Rd

(301) 787-8556
5.0
(8) · Healthcare

13935 Willard Rd

(703) 378-4882

1 person is looking at this business

About

Howard County General Hospital, a member of Johns Hopkins Medicine, is a private, not-for-profit, community health care provider, governed by a community-based board of trustees.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

3.0
1,050 reviews
5372
  
4105
  
345
  
246
  
1425
  
57 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Harm review for Howard County General Hospital
Harm on BirdEye

2 months ago

09/23/2021, 12:27 PM
If I could give a 0 I would this hell hole of a hospital had me removed after being told by a DR. that the major surgery I need would not happen because my pulse oxy was 94.which has been fine for 2 other major surgeries last year. I'm not sick and that is normal for me in my primary records. Instead they refused surgery which they had removed me from all meds 2 weeks prior. So pain lvls off the chart. When I asked what I am supposed to do now a got shrugs. I asked if I'm just going to be left to die now because they don't care and was told yes. And the the best part was being followed out by 2 VERY racist security guards who commented on us crackers and muppetfuckers. Of course when confronted they hide like little bitches. but I got their names so job go bye bye. Dont trust them. terrible hospital
Respond to negative reviews
Lynnette Blue Holmes review for Howard County General Hospital
Lynnette Blue Holmes on Facebook

a year ago

11/11/2020, 18:36 PM
The most racist ER EVER. ATTITUDES and neglect. Patient relations dont care. I went with a head injury and it was like none of the triage nurses cared if I was dying. One of the nurses attacked me for being upset. They had me wait over 1 hr before I was seen.
Business Response:

Hi, Ms. Holmes, I am distressed to read your message and would like to know more about your experience. Would you be willing to connect with us about your experience? Please direct message the best way to reach you. Thank you.

Carrie Walker review for Howard County General Hospital
Carrie Walker on Facebook

a year ago

09/18/2020, 14:25 PM
Twice in the past month I have been hospitalized at Howard General due to my severe asthma. BOTH admissions I had the best doctors, nurses, respiratory therapists, techs and the list goes on!! Their bedside manner and rapport with their patients is outstanding and definitely helped my recovery. I trust these people with my lungs and my life!!
Featured content
Do Online Reviews Matter?

Do Online Reviews Matter?

Do Online Reviews Matter?
Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website

Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website

Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website
Brian Barno review for Howard County General Hospital
Brian Barno on Facebook

a year ago

09/11/2020, 05:44 AM
The ER is just terrible!! I would not recommend this place to anybody. Nice nurses but extremely slow. Emergency Room should be changed to Waiting room. Spent 7 hrs here just to be released back to a specialist. The dr didn’t even come in to explain the situation. Gave the nurse paperwork and expected the nurse to give me the complicated analysis. She had to use google to look up the terminology. Not to her fault, the conditions were way over her head and I truly believe over the ER drs head too, hence the lack of explanation prior to discharge. I had a better understanding once I read through the test results when I got home. Even the discharge summary was only a few vague sentences with no clear definitions.
Business Response:

Hi, Mr. Barno, I'm so sorry to hear about your frustration and I hope you are feeling better. I would like to connect you with our patient relations team. If that is okay, please DM the best way to contact you. Thank you.

leigh b review for Howard County General Hospital
leigh b on BBB

a year ago

08/22/2020, 02:19 AM
Hcgh has not improved since their acquisition by John Hopkins. The nurses and techs are average to pretty good. The so called doctor was not a doctor but a pa-c they will never be doctors. And they can precsribe any thing . This man implied " oh we can't precribe that" . I came in pain with ******** ***** and ********* For possibe ******** ******* I told the pac all my symptoms , like talking to a loaf of bread. Prescibed ******* thanks pac.
Respond to negative reviews
Beverly M. review for Howard County General Hospital
Beverly M. on BirdEye

a year ago

08/16/2020, 12:07 PM
This hospital is incompetent! My husband was admitted over a week ago. He is still as sick as when he was admitted for a serious UTI. They have left him in soaked diapers and bed sheets. Their communication is horribly inadequate. We called an ambulance for my husband and apparently you have no choice which hospital he goes to. Howard County MD is one of the wealthiest counties in the country and this is all they have to offer as a hospital!? What ever you do DO NOT SEND YOUR LOVED ONESVTHERE.!! The next time I, a 100 lb 66 year old, will do my best to drag him into the car and take him to a respectable hospital. I CAN’T STRESS ENOUGH THAT IF AT ALL POSSIBLE DON’T LET YOUR LOVED ONES GO TO THIS INADEQUATE, incompetent hospital. You will be lucky if they come out alive I can't even give them one star in the review process. Be safe and stay away from this hospital!
Respond to negative reviews
Jamie Sparrow review for Howard County General Hospital
Jamie Sparrow on Facebook

a year ago

08/08/2020, 02:43 AM
Just delivered my 2nd son at HCGH this past Tuesday . Once again every single person that helped me through labor & delivery and recovery were beyond amazing !!! So helpful and very pleasant to deal with the whole time. So grateful for having such great staff to help me through the delivery and stay afterwards.
Dawn Newman Marti review for Howard County General Hospital
Dawn Newman Marti on Facebook

a year ago

08/02/2020, 05:49 AM
Thanks everyone for the well wishes and concern. I’m home from hospital 🏥 and doing just fine. This was not Covid related, although they did test me. Negative. I have to say the EMT, doctors and nurses and Techs @Howard County General Hospital, Johns Hopkins Medicine are the best! It was traumatizing for my husband and I to be told he couldn’t come with me to the hospital 😭 But the EMT, Gavin, who promised he wouldn’t leave me, patting me on the shoulder the whole time, to the ER Staff Dr.’s, Elise who did triage when we arrrived, to Danielle C who was nice and calming in the throws of me 🤮 every 30 min. And Erik, Rochelle, Shabit and Soo, who are all of the nurses who took care of me while there. These people work harder than anyone I know, always caring and always making me feel safe. Don’t second guess going to the hospital like I did. These are professionals you can trust and depend on!
Connie W. review for Howard County General Hospital
Connie W. on BirdEye

a year ago

06/22/2020, 11:03 AM
My mother, a 94 yo lady of less than 5' 105 lbs had a partial hip replacement. She was admitted on a Wednesday morning and her surgery was done that evening after 9:00 PM. Because of the Covid19 no family was allowed to visit or give information about her medical condition. I received 2 phone calls in the middle of the night, letting me know the surgery was finished. She stayed in the hospital 2 1/2 days and was discharged on Saturday afternoon. There were no phone calls about caring for her or side effects of her medications or what to watch for. Just the discharge papers and prescriptions for pain meds. On Monday at 3:00 PM home/health nurse came by, and when I shared that I thought my mother was not doing well, but digressing, she said well, sometimes patients have a downturn. By 6:00 PM I called 911 as my mother was incoherent and lethargic. Howard would not take her and she was taken to Montgomery County Hospital. She has been in MC Hospital 7 days, getting much better care. Howard discharged her way too soon, and was negligent in informing family of medical needs or concerns to pay attention to. I gave 1 star as that is the lowest it has.
Respond to negative reviews
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.