Logo White
Watch Demo

Highland Sanitation

Own this business?
2.7
20 reviews
|Consumer Services|Newport, MN 55055

1811 Century Ave, Newport, MN 55055

(651) 458-0043

Closed now
Suggest edits

Top Consumer Services in your area

R & M Sanitation
4.4
(7) · Consumer Services

858 Point Douglas Rd S

(651) 735-4025

1 person is looking at this business

Buckingham Disposal
4.3
(26) · Consumer Services

5980 Credit River Rd SE

(952) 226-6441

About

Specialties Our family doing business with honesty and integrity since 1950! Weekly recycling collection in most areas, competitive honest pricing (no bloat fees like fuel surcharges!) and live people answer the phone each time you call! If you've tried the rest now try the best and let our family serve your family! History Established in 1950. Emil & Alice Oehrlein started the business in 1950. Their daughter Susan and her husband David took over in 1985 and currently operations are managed by their son and daughter, Robert & Kasey, making us a 3rd generation trash company! Meet the Manager Bobby S. Manager I'm in charge of the general operations and management of Highland Sanitation. On an

Suggest edits

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES

Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
2.7
20 reviews
54
  
42
  
30
  
20
  
17
  
7 reviews have no rating
  • 8 Reviews3.4Insider Pages
  • 3 Reviews2.0Merchant Circle
  • Show All
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Jack B. on Yellow Pages

9 months ago

02/26/2019, 04:53 AM
Very poor service. Very expensive. Poor customer service. I was a customer for over two years and was charged extra for the lid of the trash can being open! They charge extra for everything! When you call, they need to "talk to the owner" and offer you a few bucks off your bill to get you to stay with them. Get services somewhere else!
Respond to negative reviews
Kristen H. on Insider Pages

7 years ago

06/03/2012, 01:34 AM
Very Satisfactory pickup, but initially misled about how waste is treated
I've used Highland for a month and service has been good for the month but I just discovered that in St. Paul, they don't treat the yard waste separately, they just throw it in with the trash and burn it (it's treated separately in Eagan). I wanted a service that treated yard waste separately and feel misled in how they sold me the service. On top of wishing yard waste was composted, why am I paying for a separate container? FYI It is illegal to do this in MN.
Pat S. on Citysearch

8 years ago

02/03/2012, 03:39 AM
Terrible service and they increase their fees constantly!! – they price fix and constantly increase their fees without telling you in hopes that you don't notice! We finally called to get it corrected and their customer service people are so bad the would not correct it. On top of this, when they miss your pick up...and they often do, they won't come back for a week. Even though it's their fault!!! Terrible company. We finally changed to someone else. We would never use highland again!!,
Featured content
How to ask for feedback from customers: Three sample emails

How to ask for feedback from customers: Three sample emails

How to ask for feedback from customers: Three sample emails
5 Positive Review Examples: It's All in the Response

5 Positive Review Examples: It's All in the Response

5 Positive Review Examples: It's All in the Response
Michelle M. on Citysearch

8 years ago

12/29/2011, 04:36 AM
Great Service – Like the previous review, I have nothing but great experiences with Highland. The staff are courteous on the phone, and after removing trash from our container, the driver brings the container to our driveway to save us a few steps.
Their pricing is the best around (even without specials), with no unexpected (or hidden) fees.
Maybe if you treat people well, you will get the same?
Paul B. on Citysearch

8 years ago

12/24/2011, 09:17 AM
Best service and prices – I've been a Highland customer for over a year now and have service both for my home and also for income properties. I couldn't believe the negative reviews and wanted to offer my high praises for Highland. Their pricing and helpful phone support are top notch!
Terry44 on Citysearch

8 years ago

06/08/2011, 09:32 AM
I am very disappointed in Highland's service techniques the carrier damaged my container in April 2011. It is now June 2011 and I was promised a new container in April ever time I called they stated that the containers were on back order. But I continue to see new containers being delivered thru my neighborhood but not to me? Every day I have to clean up trash due to the gapping hole in my trash container that rodents and small animals are pulling my trash put and distributing all over my yard. I am cancelling my service and going with another company after 6 years of service....
Bad Business!!!!!!!!
khoeschler on Citysearch

9 years ago

05/16/2011, 01:27 AM
Illegal practices in St. Paul – I was angry to discover that Highland Sanitation doesn't treat yard waste separately in St. Paul. They rent out a separate "yard waste" container and I pay to have it composed, but it is collected in the same truck and burned with the trash. I contacted Ramsey County and they said this is illegal. I don't appreciate paying for the separate service when technically there is none, and I don't like that I was misled when contracting with them, and I don't like that my yard waste isn't being composted as it should and can be.
Marty on Merchant Circle

9 years ago

01/29/2011, 07:51 AM
This is a small family owned company.
We have been using them for about 10 years.
Problems are handled quickly.
If you have a problem with anything, you can even talk to the owner or his wife.
Sharon H. on Insider Pages

9 years ago

10/30/2010, 04:47 AM
Higland Sanitation - A Good Deal
We have been using Highland Sanitation for over four years (since we moved to the Twin Cities). We have always had great service.
Footer Banner

Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.