Grand Welcome's cover image
Claim this profile

This profile has not been claimed by the business owner or representative.

Claim this business to update business information, get appointment requests, engage visitors with web chat, and more!

Grand Welcome

3.9
  • Torrance, CA

About this business

Location details

2601 Airport Dr #270, Torrance, CA, 90505, United States

Get directions
WeekdayScheduleStatus
Mon12:00 a.m. to Midnight
Tue12:00 a.m. to Midnight
Wed12:00 a.m. to Midnight
Thu12:00 a.m. to Midnight
Fri12:00 a.m. to Midnight
Sat12:00 a.m. to Midnight
Sun12:00 a.m. to Midnight
3.9876 reviews
Select a rating
jaclyn a's profile image
jaclyn a 
4 years ago

Such a scam. Refused to give us our money back when we had to cancel our trip to Hawaii because of COVID-19. After MUCH back-and-forth, explaining our circumstances, they finally gave us a "gift voucher" to use by April 2021. They have ZERO empathy. The property we originally booked was then suddenly "unavailable" because it was under renovation until July 2021. So now we are trying to find somewhere else to go. But inventory is SO minimal. Maybe because there is a worldwide pandemic?! And a property that says $200/night is ... read more

Business response:

Hi Jaclyn, I am very sorry for the communication from our team. We have been offering gift certificates in lieu of a refund due to the 60 day cancellation policy that you've booked this home at. I do see that you've requested to change your dates to February 2021 and there was an increase in rates because your new dates fell between 2 holidays. Just like airline fares or hotel prices, our prices are seasonal so you will see higher rates for the holiday or weekend time frame. Thank you. 

Kevin U's profile image
Kevin U 
4 years ago

Grand Welcome is the worst company to work with on VRBO. Please check to make sure they are not the property manager when you book. I booked a place for a large family gathering 5 months before the event. I cancelled 3 days later expecting to pay the $75 cancellation fee. I was then notified that I would have to pay the 5% cancellation fee which was $276. I was sent the contract that said $75 or 5% whichever is higher. When you look to book it is in very bold print that the cancellation fee is $75. In the very small print it... read more

Business response:

Hi Kevin, I sincerely apologize for the cancellation fee of 5%. We do have a 5% cancellation fee or $75, whichever is higher but at the time of your booking, the 5% was not disclosed. Therefore, our team has approved a refund of $75 instead of the 5%. Please reach out to us directly so that we can refund you the correct amount. Thank you! 

Kathryn F's profile image
Kathryn F 
4 years ago

As many others have mentioned, I am appalled at Grand Welcome's handling of the COVID pandemic. Amid travel restrictions (we would have been forced to pay the city of S. Tahoe a $1000 fine for visiting in May due to their travel ban), concerns over the health of my at-risk parents and 3-year old son, and financial uncertainty due to state shutdowns, Grand Welcome refused to offer any refund (partial or otherwise) or accommodations for their customers. I was told to take a credit that I could use *only at the same property* w... read more

Business response:

Hi Katie, We have had a strict 60 day cancellation policy at the time of your booking. Therefore, we could not refund you the complete total for your reservation. Instead, our team has offered a flexible option to use the money already paid as a guest credit towards a future stay. I sincerely apologize that we were unable to issue the full refund. Please reach out to us if you would like to use the credit towards a future stay. Please note, holiday time periods may be higher but if you do provide similar dates, our team can ... read more

Beverly M's profile image
Beverly M 
4 years ago

I booked 2 weeks rental for a vacation home from May 29th to June 13th through VRBO. The company cancelled access to my vacation rental due to the state of Hawaii restrictions on short term rentals. The total charges on my credit card was $10,819.73. After much negotiation they have offered a gift certificate to stay at the same house within a year. I am 75 years old with health issues and my husband is 80. Who knows if we will even be alive in a years time? This treatment is disgusting and reprehensible. Since I have a cont... read more

Business response:

Hi Beverly, I sincerely apologize but our team is offering gift certificates to be used at a later time instead of a full refund. When you requested cancellation in April, the cancellation policy that you've booked at was a 90 day window. Therefore, the reservation cancellation would have had fees applied. However, I do see that our team offered a gift certificate and your husband did accept the gift certificate on May 1st. Thank you. 

Rebecca R's profile image
Rebecca R 
4 years ago

This is a reprehensible company that is trying to profit off the pandemic. I booked a property for two weeks for $3200 from May 3 to May 17. My in-laws, who are 80 and 84, urgently needed help due to the lockdown. But we had to quarantine for two weeks after our flight. Before booking the property on HomeAway, I sent this message to Grand Welcome on April 25: "Hi We're staying at this property to quarantine for two weeks before we stay at my elderly in-laws for a month. They need help managing amid the shutdown. No one in o... read more

Business response:

Hi Rebecca, I am very sorry for the miscommunication from our team. We want to ensure you that your reservation is cancelled and your refund will be processed. Other homes and dates may have been pricier due to the peak season and we are trying our very best to work with our team to provide a fair price. Your refund may take a while since we are refunding guests in batches and I sincerely apologize for the delay. However, I assure you that your reservation has been cancelled and you will be refunded. Thank you. 

Kevin S's profile image
Kevin S 
4 years ago

Word of warning should you decide to book a vacation rental through Grand Welcome... Due to the Covid 19 pandemic I had to cancel my reservation as some of my family members are in the "high risk" category, and I did so well before the companies 60 day deadline. I was then told by the company that in addition to the 5% cancellation fee I would also be charged the $193.00 cleaning fee as well as the $63.00 damage waiver fee, apparently they consider these "non-refundable" . I have no issue with the 5% cancellation fee but wha... read more

Business response:

Hi Kevin, I am very sorry for the cancellation fees on your reservation. Unfortunately, the service fees are non-refundable due to company policy. I want to reassure you that this is not a way to profit from the national pandemic and we understand the frustration during this trying time. Again, I sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide a refund of the service fees for your cancellation. Thank you. 

Anne G's profile image
Anne G 
5 years ago

I paid in full upfront for a weekend in April 2-6 at the Alpine Oasis in Alpine Meadows CA. All rentals were cancelled due to the Corona Virus. On March 19 the staff informed me in writing that the owner offered to give me a full refund and our credit card would be fully refunded in 5-10 business days. I never received the credit. When I reached out to the same number, I was informed by another staff member that Grand Welcome: "While it does appear that the owner of the rental agreed, company policy had been changed by that ... read more

Business response:

Hi Anne, I am very sorry for the long wait for your gift certificate to be issued. We are experiencing a high volume of call and messages. However, I do see that one of our customer care agents has been in touch with you on Tuesday, March 31st in regards to your gift certificate. The gift certificate has been attached to that email. Please feel free to contact us directly if you do not see it in your email. Thank you! 

Sara E's profile image
Sara E 
5 years ago

We made reservation with Grand Welcome on a condo in Big Island Kona via VRBO. We rented a condo from them for 1st week of May, 2020, we live in California and due to Covid19 we may still be on lockdown in early May date of check-in. I first wrote to them that I want to cancel or reschedule. No one called or wrote back. Then I called and the person said they would not be able to cancel and if I did I want to cancel now during our call we would only get my cleaning fee of $200. We paid a total of $1550 for 7 days. The person ... read more

Business response:

Hi ****, I sincerely apologize for the lack of communication from our team. We are experiencing a high volume of calls and messages due to the COVID 19 situation. I do see that you've reached out to reschedule your stay and I can confirm that as of yesterday, March 30th, a gift certificate has been issued for the amount that you've paid to be used at a later time. Again, I am very sorry for the lack of communication and our team is doing our very best to respond to all inquiries, calls, and messages. We really appreciate you... read more

Mel D's profile image
Mel D 
5 years ago

Due to Covid 19 we cancelled a house rental reservation for May In Lake Tahoe. We cancelled within the 60 day contract. The website says there is a $75 cancellation fee but they charged us $261 and said they were now charging a 5% fee. 

Business response:

Grand Welcome's terms and conditions, https://www.grandwelcome.com/terms-and-conditions, state "For a $75 fee or 5% of the Total Charges whichever is greater, you may cancel Your reservation by giving Us written notice at least 60 days (90 days for Hawaii Properties) before Your Check-In Date." 5% of your total charges were greater than the $75, resulting in the cancellation charge of $251.88. 

Frequently asked questions about Grand Welcome

How is Grand Welcome rated?

Grand Welcome has a 3.9 star rating with 876 reviews. 

When is Grand Welcome open?

Grand Welcome is open now. It will close tomorrow at 12:00 a.m.  

Need help? Contact us.

Speak with a specialist to learn how you can grow with Birdeye. We are reachable at profiles@birdeye.com