Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

El Burrito Mercado

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.6
11 reviews
|Mexican|Saint Paul, MN 55107 United States

175 Cesar Chavez St, Ste 2, Saint Paul, MN 55107 United States

(651) 227-2192

http://www.elburritostp.com/

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(2) · Mexican

105 Lewis St S

(952) 393-0902
4.6
(1012) · Restaurants

816 Lake St S

(651) 464-3544
4.6
(677) · Restaurants

2701 39th Ave NE #128

(612) 789-5000
4.6
(343) · Mexican

9351 Cedar St

(763) 314-0500
4.6
(913) · Mexican

520 Central Ave N

(507) 333-1344
4.6
(650) · Restaurants

122 Elm St

(651) 460-8077
About

El Burrito Mercado acts as a full service supermarket, restaurant, and gift shop all under one roof. From the moment you enter its doors your senses are immersed in authentic Mexican flavors, sounds, smells, and sights. The supermarket and restaurant boast possibly the widest variety of Hispanic food in the Twin Cities. Surrounded by a number of other Latino businesses and restaurants, El Burrito Mercado has long been a hub of the Twin City's Latino community. Visit website for more details.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 90,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.6
11 reviews
53
  
42
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
6 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Featured
chuck w. review for El Burrito Mercado
chuck w. on Insider Pages

14 years ago

07/08/2008, 01:14 AM
great if they're open We love the food at el burrito mercado, but beware they are not always open until 9pm like the sign says. We arrived at about 8:20 on a Sunday night and the mercado was already closed.
tasmanian review for El Burrito Mercado
tasmanian on Citysearch

15 years ago

03/31/2008, 06:52 AM
Disappointment numero uno... – We were looking to give some out of towners a treat at an authentic Mexican Restaurant. But... 1) We made reservations, but they weren't honored. Apparently the person answering the phone doesn't know what's going on. 2) We were told we could eat at the cafe part of the market, but NOT told that we couldn't order beer or wine there, until it was too late. 3) The food was cold. 4) When one of our guests asked for guacamole she was told there wasn't any (what!!!? at a Mexican restaurant?) When a man in our party asked, they managed to find some. We were sorely disappointed in this restaurant.
Betsy L. review for El Burrito Mercado
Betsy L. on Insider Pages

15 years ago

01/22/2008, 09:12 AM
Fantastic Authentic Mexican The food at El Burrito is mouth-watering, and the portions are very generous (I could never eat an entire burrito in one sitting). I usually take it to go, but sitting in the cafe makes for good people-watching. I suspect that Spanish speakers might get better service, but I've never been disappointed or hungry after visiting El Burrito. I think the prices are very reasonable too.
Featured content
How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google
How to Ask for a Review (with Templates)

How to Ask for a Review (with Templates)

How to Ask for a Review (with Templates)
J G. review for El Burrito Mercado
J G. on Insider Pages

15 years ago

01/09/2008, 06:46 AM
TOO EXPENSIVE This store is severely overpriced! The cafe is also overpriced and you get very small amount of food for the cost. If you want to buy mexican grocery products go to BuyMore on Payne ave - if you want to eat good authentic mexican food go to El Campo Tacos on Arcade St in St. Paul - don't go to El Burrito!
DJPetrie review for El Burrito Mercado
DJPetrie on Dex Knows

15 years ago

09/01/2007, 09:24 AM
Fabuloso Great Latino market on the westside of St. Paul across the river from downtown (actually south). They carry a wide range of grocery products from Latin America or that are used in Latin American dishes. They also carry some planters, furniture, candles, and pinatas made in Mexico. They have a nice selection of Latino music artists and a great bakery and deli with seating. Check out the great mural on the west side of the building. The shoppers and the workers are very friendly and fluently speak both Spanish and English.###I've been going there for 10 years and it's one of my favorite Twin Cities locations. Checkout Boca Chica restaurant down the road for another great experience.
diner651 review for El Burrito Mercado
diner651 on Citysearch

15 years ago

06/24/2007, 05:35 AM
Speak Spanish and get preferential treatment.. – I used to enjoy this place, but lately the staff have been shorting the portions on "Gringo" guests. Seeing the exact same thing being served to the person in front of me, but with larger portions, just because this person is Latino. I speak Spanish and the things the cooks and servers tell each other (in front of the customer no less!) about the person ordering is shocking! Rude and obnoxious behavior. I only went back to this joint on the insistance of those in my eating party that absolutely wanted to see for themselves what I was talking about. After seeing (and hearing) for themselves, they decided to tell their friends to stay away from it also. On a good day you will get a barely interested server who will drop your plate on the table and walk away from you as you ask for a drink. It's amazing to see the attitude change 180 degrees when you ask for something in Spanish. I also asked to speak to the manager in Spanish and the waitress became almost a human being again. She asked if we needed anything and asked how the food was. She filled out water glasses and stood near by in case we needed anything. Basically the things a server is supposed to do. The manager wasn't on duty, but you could see that the server was worried that I was going to complain to her boss about the things she had said about us and both the cook and the server were strangely quiet the rest of the meal. No more joking and laughing. Avoid this place. At least until they work on the customer service and inappropriate behavior.
vinofile review for El Burrito Mercado
vinofile on Citysearch

16 years ago

05/20/2007, 05:28 AM
Amazing authentic Mexican food. This place is great there is a market, deli, fast food, as well as sit down full menu service. My daughter and I sat down at El Cafe. Our server quickly brought us chips and a salsa verde. It was hot just like I like it. The guacamole was fresh and wonderful. I had the tamale plater and it was great. The best I have had since living in AZ. It was so good after we were finished I went to the deli and purchased 6 tamales and a container of pico de gillo, as well as the salsa verde. The service was fast and friendly. We will definitely be back an bringing friends.
Alex L. review for El Burrito Mercado
Alex L. on Insider Pages

16 years ago

08/22/2006, 03:38 AM
Ethnic grocery store! This is the perfect place to shop for latin food and products. There are spices, drinks and groceries that you won't find anywhere else. The staff is helpful and know their way around the store. Prices are normal except for soem US products. Theres also a bakery that serves up fresh breads every day and the occasional cheap day old breads.
diaz3421 review for El Burrito Mercado
diaz3421 on Citysearch

16 years ago

08/21/2006, 08:45 AM
TRULY AUTHENTIC – I love this place! It's great to know there are still business' that conserve authentic! Great that it's family owned, delicious food (my family comes 3-4times week!)great decor, music, smells, feels real!
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.