Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Cones Inc

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.6
486 reviews
|Ice Cream & Frozen Yogurt|New York, NY 10014

272 Bleecker St, Ste 2, New York, NY 10014

(212) 414-1795

https://m.facebook.com/login.php?next=https%3A%2F%2Fm.facebook.com%2Fconesnyc%2F&refsrc=deprecated&_rdr

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(1) · Ice Cream & Frozen Yogurt

787 Newark Ave # A

(201) 377-1862

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(2) · Ice Cream & Frozen Yogurt

639 McLean Ave

(914) 965-4541

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(2) · Restaurants

138 Main St

(631) 509-5040
4.9
(16) · Restaurants

191 Pennsylvania Ave

(973) 881-8622

1 person is looking at this business

4.8
(429) · Restaurants

248 East Ave

(203) 866-7740

1 person is looking at this business

4.8
(8) · Restaurants

50 Jackson Dr

(908) 272-2400
About

artisanal ice cream

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.6
486 reviews
5349
  
445
  
326
  
26
  
112
  
48 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
emiliot review for Cones Inc
emiliot on Citysearch

10 years ago

09/11/2011, 09:57 AM
miss it already – my son, already is missing the great ice cream you guys make. Hope to have a store in Greenwich ct..
VajT review for Cones Inc
VajT on Citysearch

12 years ago

03/30/2010, 11:18 AM
Well worth it! – I am originally from Argentina so I am familiar with good tasting ice cream. As some have mentioned, due to the Italian influence in Argentina, the gelato they make in the country is delicious. Obviously there are good places as well as bad places but when you find a good one, you can quickly tell by the deep flavor and texture of the ice cream/gelato. My favorite flavor is sambayon (a deeper yellowish colored ice cream made with cream, egg, sugar, and marsala), and it is extremely hard to find here in the US. I have tasted some which claim to be zabaglione but once you taste a good sambayon (Argentine name for zabaglione) they were very dissapointing and lacking both the texture and especially the deep flavor of the marsala dessert wine (some are also made with port wine). Doing research online I found this place but since I had dissapointing experiences in the past, I was expecting that they wouldn't have the flavor or if they did, it would be bland. I am elated to say that I have finally found a terrific sambayon which tastes as good as the better ones I have had in Buenos Aires. I even took my parents to taste the ice cream and they also agreed this is terrific and as good as any they had in Argentina. I know tastes can be very particular (as some people rate this place 1 star) but if you're looking for a delicious, creamy full flavored ice cream, this is the place! Anyone that wants to try sambayon, run over to this place, you won't be dissapointed. *A warning-sambayon is a very particular flavor where I notice people either really like it or they don't like it at all so have a small tasting before ordering it.
Claire Dwy review for Cones Inc
Claire Dwy on Citysearch

12 years ago

01/14/2010, 10:50 AM
Does not live up to the hype at all – After reading the previous reviews on it, i HAD to go try it out for myself. I love ice cream and all things sweet. From the way that people were raving about it and having won the Best of Citysearch, I had high expectations. And so, I trekked my way to this marvelous gelato haven. Seriously disappointed. I got the pistachio and it was overly sweet. I had samples of other flavors but I did not care for them either. I felt a bit obligated to buy one since the guy was staring me down. Who said that they were generous with the tastings? It is 2 per person. Not to mention, my friend got the hazelnut, but let me ask why there were hints of banana in it? They didn't bother rinsing the scoop. Anyhow, go if you must try it out. But honestly, pocket $5 and head down the street for the Italian bakery across the street. Any Italian pastry you can think of, they have. Seriously, the WORST. GELATO. EVER.
Featured content
How to respond to negative feedback from a customer

How to respond to negative feedback from a customer

How to respond to negative feedback from a customer
Livechat vs chatbot: which one is right for your business?

Livechat vs chatbot: which one is right for your business?

Livechat vs chatbot: which one is right for your business?
pc046 review for Cones Inc
pc046 on Citysearch

12 years ago

11/16/2009, 18:10 PM
Can't miss it! – I don't know where this brazilian reviewer that wrote a previous review came from, but in Sao Paulo, Brazil, where I grew up, the corn Ice cream is a big hit. We even have Corn Ice cream bars being manufactured by food giants such as Unilever. And trust me when I say this, the Cones Corn Ice cream is the best I have ever tasted. Every time my husband and I are walking around Bleeker we get a pint of it to bring home. About the service, New York is the perfect place to trash someones service. It is just too easy. People get mistreated everywhere...but Cones is not that type of place! The owners are always around and are very pleasant. Here is the deal, go and see for yourself. It's worth it.
JennyBeans review for Cones Inc
JennyBeans on Citysearch

13 years ago

04/18/2009, 01:19 AM
The Only Place I Can Go for Tiramisu Gelato – I visited Cones a while back and to this day, no one makes Tiramisu Gelato like they do. I crave it but I am on the other side of the state! I will always visit Cones when in NYC!
Contributor review for Cones Inc
Contributor on Citysearch

14 years ago

06/11/2008, 18:04 PM
This Argentine import proves that excellence in ice cream knows no borders. – The Scene Hot weather brings crowds to Cones, the popular ice cream parlor opened in 1988 by two brothers from Argentina. Families wander in from sweaty strolls down Bleecker Street, oohing and ahhing at flavors or the large images of cherry-topped sundaes and ice cream cakes on the walls. Behind the counter, friendly staff offer tastes in minimum batches of two. The Food Cones doesn't hard-freeze its ice cream, a fact that's responsible in part for the taffy-like, almost elastic consistency of rich flavors like black cherry, coffee mocha chocolate chip, almond cream or tiramisu. Sorbets are exceptional--watermelon, for example, has an icy, loosely packed texture and a piercing jolt of sugary watermelon flavor. Close your eyes and there's no purer expression of summer.
DannyP2468 review for Cones Inc
DannyP2468 on Citysearch

14 years ago

05/25/2008, 15:40 PM
Truly The Best (Big Fan) – The last two posts are frauds and are actually in violation of the user agreement of citysearch com. There the same person. But anyway I?m not here to talk about them. I have been at Cones several times per year since they opened up and it has been an absolute delightful experience each and every time. There is no way in hell there customer service would act like that. It clearly seems like there competition is trying to discredit them. I would to if I had to compete with them. Well, thank god I?m not competing with them because they truly do have a superior product. They should mass market it.
gogo068488 review for Cones Inc
gogo068488 on Citysearch

14 years ago

05/04/2008, 21:44 PM
service makes you loose your appetite – It doesn't matter if the ice cream is good or not. You are treated so terribly that you don't feel like giving your money to these guys. I asked if I could try the ice cream. He rudely said yes, but only two. I chose the first but I took exactly 5 seconds to chose the second one. He said, "You took to long, I choose for you" And gave me corn flavor, something I would never ask myself! I obviously got irritated and just left. SO if you want to save yourself stress, don't go to cones!!! there are many other ice cream places around bleecker. IN addition, they sold the corn flavor as"Brazil's favorite". I am from brazil and can insure you that corn ice cream isn't popular at all and this is just cheap merchandising!
laura55556666 review for Cones Inc
laura55556666 on Citysearch

14 years ago

05/04/2008, 21:42 PM
RUDE SERVICE – When I went to Cones, the service was terrible. It is the kind of service that can put you in a bad mood. The man who was attending told me I could only taste two ice creams. Fine. I asked for a chocolate and...And I sneezed. So he gave me pistachio and chocolate. I said I didn't want to taste the pistachio. His answer was "You sneezed, so I chose for you." Anyway, I thought he was joking, how can somebody be so sarcastic and cynic? So I asked if I could taste the passion fruit. He said NO-because I had already tasted two ice creams. When I said he chose the second for me, he replied very rudely that I had sneezed, so I lost my chance. I really don't understand how can somebody be so rude and careless to a client. I just left and chose from the 5 other ice cream shops on the block-all equally good.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.