Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Carters Automotive

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.1
46 reviews
|Auto Repair|Phoenixville, PA 19460 United States

100 Nutt Rd, Phoenixville, PA 19460 United States

(610) 935-8810

http://www.carterssaabservice.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Automotive in your area
5.0
(1) · Automotive

117 David Rd

(302) 559-3727
5.0
(1) · Auto Repair

1061 Whitehorse Mercerville Rd

(609) 581-0355
5.0
(3) · Automotive

835 Hiesters Ln

(610) 603-6220
5.0
(1) · Auto Repair

141 S 10th St

(610) 374-7887
5.0
(13) · Automotive

643 Painter St

(610) 566-1489
5.0
(10) · Automotive

233 Brooke St

(610) 565-5600
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 90,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.1
46 reviews
526
  
40
  
30
  
21
  
17
  
12 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Featured
Peter A. review for Carters Automotive
Peter A. on Citysearch

8 years ago

04/05/2015, 10:53 AM
Nice reply by a skilled owner who has an outstanding reputation in the market.
thomas c. review for Carters Automotive
thomas c. on Citysearch

8 years ago

04/01/2015, 05:14 AM
not sure where to start,but just read a review that edwin leedy posted on city search about my saab repair shop phoenixville,pa.let me start by sayin that I truly value truthful reviews. after reading his review,i was blowin away by the lack of truth.it bothered me to the point that I immediately called him and attempted to get to the bottom of his totally untruthful rant.the conversion did not go well,be basically thinks I over charged him for repairs that he did not want.unfortunately all the repair work needed was required for pa.inspections.which means that unless you did not want the vehicle inspected,then it needs to be fixed for pa.inspection. these rules are not mine,they are the state of pa.rules.writtin in black and white.after he hung up on me,i went and reviewed his work order,only to find that he had a (check engine light on) and brake work when he came in for pa. state and pa.emissions testing.well ed may not have wanted the check engine light issue fixed,or brakes fixed,but the state does.in order for a car to pass (pa.emissions) car can not have the check engine light on, period....also brakes need to measure atleast 2/32". my labor/parts charges were correct,i believe the problem was that ed leedy did not want to correct this engine light problem,he just wanted pa.inspection stickers.unfortunately that's not how it works.i understand that things cost money/time to fix,but u can not be mad at the pa.inspection technician. its funny that in his review,he never mentions that my repairs are perfect. he did say that he developed a oil leak,but when i asked ed,he could not tell me details. wth.I guess its all about the money.all that I can say is,that if u are looking for a repair shop to just put pa. inspection stickers on your saab,and work cheap,then I am not your man. if you are looking for a super skilled saab technician that cares about quality,and charges for the 28 yrs of specializing in saab service.and you want the car fixed the first time,then I am sure you will be one of my many satisfied customers.thank you,and have a wonderful day.thomas w carter (owner)carters saab service.
Edwin L. review for Carters Automotive
Edwin L. on Citysearch

8 years ago

08/03/2014, 04:43 AM
I believe they know how to fix Saabs however they charge more than a dealer and proceed without authorization to do expensive work. I specifically wrote a request that the issue causing the engine light to remain on not be fixed. Tom proceed to call me and tell me he had already spent 2 hours figuring out the answer and would be charging me $75 and hour. I previously had the issue diagnosed for free but did not want to do the $400 repair. No problem, Tom proceeded to do the repair anyway but not for $400, it was $550 at Carters. Oh and did I say $75 it's actually $100 when you get your bill. But it doesn't stop there, the excessive charges continue for every thing he does. Unless you don't care about how much you pay to have your vehicle fixed or what work is done I would choose another shop. I would never go back and would tell anyone to stay away. btw Tom had fled the shop by 9a.m on Sat when I came to pick up the car and I asked David his brother if they have a lot of people come once. He said that's true "they can't afford the bill". No wonder, it's at rates found only in the imagination of "Tom" for work not requested or authorized by the owners. You can't make it up,btw Visa sides with the owner because I didn't have the estimate in writing.
Featured content
The Ultimate Guide to Responding to Reviews

The Ultimate Guide to Responding to Reviews

The Ultimate Guide to Responding to Reviews
What Does Birdeye Cost?

What Does Birdeye Cost?

What Does Birdeye Cost?
anne m. review for Carters Automotive
anne m. on Citysearch

9 years ago

07/16/2013, 06:02 AM
My first experience at Carter's Saab will be my last. Unfortunately I did not check out this site, or I would not have gone there. I feel like I was ripped off, was not communicated with honestly, and was overcharged without any reasonable explanation. When I asked for an itemized bill, which seemed reasonable for over $2000 of repair, I got a defensive response and attitude from Tom. He said to me, "no one asks for those details." Sorry, but I do when I am putting that amount on my credit card and I expect to be dealt with respectfully. Much to my dismay, within 2 weeks the car was back to Carter's because it wouldn't start on a regular basis. I specifically asked for a phone call from Tom with details before spending another penny on repair. He called my husband to tell him the car was ready for pick up. I went to get the car and was told I owed $600, I questioned his business practice of not communicating repair costs prior to working on the car, and I told him I felt I had been taken advantage of. He charged me 3.5 hours labor for work I didn't ask for. I feel as though he hears what he wants and then repairs what he wants, with little regard for what is needed, and once the work is done, customer has no choice but to pay. As he got more and more defensive he proceeded to tell me that he was probably not the repair shop for me, which I couldn't agree more. I prefer respectful, honest mechanics who expect to communicate with me about my car and are able to exchange about the job it needs before the work is completed. I learned the hard way. Carter's Saab manipulated a situation to favor them, ripped me off and then argued with me when I confronted them on their practice. I am quite certain this is a fairly common occurrence, particularly after reading several other responses on this site. Save your money and sanity - go elsewhere and tell your friends to, too. Shame on me for not researching before going there. Not a trustworthy business.
Hilary W. review for Carters Automotive
Hilary W. on Citysearch

10 years ago

02/08/2013, 10:08 AM
I am really angry with Tom Carter. He was really really nice at first, offering to gave me a ride to the library to wait w/my suitcase (i'd been travelling) and do some work, while he worked on my car. Super attentive to my list of concerns and questions. I noticed his wife did not really look me in the eye when I spoke to her. As we test drove the car Tom strangely and aggressively demanded to know what I was 'doing'? I assume he meant for a living. I didn't answer - none of his business and I didn't like his tone. He asked again louder. I didn't answer. I did tell him that my husband was on assignment in the Middle East - but that didn't prevent me from receiving what I think is appalling service. Then he told me that another customer got angry with him and that I shouldn't get angry. I should have been suspicious right then. Later while I was waiting in the library to hear my quote his wife called to give me a price. Then about 45 minutes to an hour later she called back to tell me the price would be about 200$ more - that she had made a mistake, but she was unable to explain fully, not being a car expert, and Tom was busy working, not available. She sounded very hesitant and uncomfortable about it. And she said that they had to leave early bc of a computer breakdown and so they would not be there when I got back and that I would pay Tom's brother David. Not being able to think quickly enough what to do I agreed. Then shortly therafter Tom's brother David called and rudely told me that the sooner I got back there the sooner he could leave. So I lugged my suitcase back to their shop and told David I thought it was pathetic of Tom to have his wife doing the payment negotiations. And that I was paying more for a used lightbox than I was quoted for a new one at the dealer. David coldly told me that 'most people just pay it". I've done some research since and found out that Tom fixed things on my car that did not really need fixing at all. He did not follow up on the questions that I had. I wonder if they ripped me of royally and took off for the day as they didn't need to work any longer having taken so much extra money from me. When I called Tom later to discuss his service he said that if I felt that way then we couldn't do any more business and hung up on me. I am going to file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau, write to the Phoenixville paper etc... There's probably not a whole lot more I can do except to hope that karma comes back at them.
makingitwork review for Carters Automotive
makingitwork on Citysearch

12 years ago

11/26/2010, 06:04 AM
Beware – Tom is a pleasant guy. He's a self confessed Saab expert - thats what you pay for. We are a one car family, we needed the car back ASAP. Tom took it in and fixed the probelm - the car wasn't going at all - it needed an Direct Ignition cassette. It took Tom 4 hrs to figure this out. An expert. It then took 2 hrs to fit it. He then cleaned the sludge out of the engine. Another 8 hrs. no parts. He then checked the breaks. Another 4 hrs. No parts So I got the bill over the phone and paid it so my wife could collect the car and we could resume our life. I then checked the invoice and had nothing but questions and frustration at what seemed like a huge rip off. He had the car for 24hrs - 12 noon til 12 noon. He charged us for labor at $100/hr x 18hrs and yet he had actually only fitted one part. Where had the rest of my savings gone? Seems like a nice guy. Out for himself though.
JohnnyCash review for Carters Automotive
JohnnyCash on Citysearch

12 years ago

11/17/2010, 07:15 AM
Simply the best – Tom is simply the best. He is especially good at trying to make the repairs as efficent and appropriate as possible and he knows Saabs better than any of the mechanics at the dealerships. If he can utilize a used part he will and he is very honest about what repairs to make and what the costs are. I wish every mechanic was as skilled, accomodating, honest and good natured as Tom. I highly recommend him. My car has never worked better since I started to taking it to Tom (after the dealer) nine years ago.
jbcarrel review for Carters Automotive
jbcarrel on Citysearch

13 years ago

06/02/2010, 11:30 AM
Very reliable and not cheap – The car is in PA and we live in NE. He was very helpful and got to the root of the problem efficiently. I appreciated his honesty and the personal concern he had for the car. He was pricey, but I feel I got what I paid for. Don't be afraid of the sticker, it's worth the extra money.
slebis review for Carters Automotive
slebis on Citysearch

13 years ago

05/17/2010, 07:13 AM
Fast, Honest SAAB Mechanic – If you need SAAB work done, stop paying dealership rates for a 72 hour turnaround. I have been using Carters for years. He has always been upfront and Honest with me and the dozens of people that I have sent his way. I trust him implicitly.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.