Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.4
2333 reviews
|Steakhouses|Denver, CO 80204

1000 Osage St, Downtown), Denver, CO 80204

(303) 534-9505

https://www.buckhorn.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.8
(297) · Restaurants

8433 Park Meadows Center Dr

(303) 792-2571
4.7
(2993) · Restaurants

5085 S Syracuse St

(303) 770-7300
4.7
(3069) · Restaurants

1801 California St. #150 CenturyLink building lobby level

(303) 293-8500
4.6
(418) · Steakhouses

101 Pratt St

(303) 651-3330
4.5
(289) · Restaurants

5515 Vance St

(303) 423-1185
4.4
(1378) · Restaurants

707 15th St

(303) 825-0713
About

This establishment holds the oldest liquor license in the state, and it has been in operation for more than a century. Serving since 1893, this national historic landmark has seen countless wild west icons having a meal here, including the legendary Buffalo Bill Cody. Be aware that the dining room walls are flanked by animal trophy heads, which some diners find as uncomfortably distracting. The menu offers some eye-opening fare such as rattlesnake, yak and fried alligator tail. If you prefer the traditional cuisine, tenderloin, T-bone and New York strip and other options abound. It is also the place to try Colorado favorites like elk and buffalo. They have live entertainment four nights of t

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.4
2,333 reviews
51,294
  
4345
  
3150
  
266
  
160
  
418 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Recommended
ahagzan review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
ahagzan on Citysearch

15 years ago

09/26/2007, 04:48 AM
Stick to main dishes, apps a disappointment – We were there a few days ago very excited about the prospects of trying Rattlesnake and Rocky Mountain Oysters. However, the rattlesnake was the most expensive appetizer on the menu but came BURRIED in nacho cheese sauce. It was served with Nacho chips and we tasted no rattlesnake at all, as it was chopped into small bits and blended in. The Oysters were sliced thin, breaded and deep fryed... for a 1st timer that was good for me, but my hubby wanted the real deal. The entrees were excellent! We had an ostritch, elk, buffalo, quail, yak combo - which were amazing, small in portions but very good. Stick to the main dishes! Atmosphere was great, services was great.
shootsie10 review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
shootsie10 on Citysearch

16 years ago

09/01/2006, 04:03 AM
BEST OF MANY THINGS! I GREW UP IN DENVER (DON'T LIVE THERE ANYMORE) AND THE BUCKHORN WAS MY FIRST CHOICE ON MY BIRTHDAY FOR MANY YEARS. IT IS ONE OF THE THINGS I MISS MOST. ALSO, ANYONE WHO IS SMART ENOUGH TO TRY THE BUCKHORN SHOULD ASK ABOUT THE HISTORY OF THE BAR UPSTAIRS. IT MADE THE TRIP FROM GERMANY MANY YEARS AGO BY SHIP. THE HISTORY OF THE ESTABLISHMENT ITSELF IS QUITE FASCINATING. IT'S TIES TO THE RAILROAD WORKERS AND THE FACT THAT IT HOLDS THE FIRST LIQUOR LICENSE IN COLORADO AND IS STILL SERVING TODAY SHOULD SAY SOMETHING FOR THE QUALITY! OH YEAH...GREAT FOOD! ESPECIALLY THE DREADED ROCKY MOUNTAIN OYSTERS!
Contributor review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
Contributor on Citysearch

16 years ago

06/12/2006, 06:13 AM
Denver's oldest restaurant serves up steak and beer in a traditional Americana atmosphere. – In Short Founded in 1893 by Henry "Shorty Scout" Zietz, the restaurant features a museum of taxidermy, antique weapons displays and photos of visiting celebrities. The menu features oddities such as fried alligator tail with cocktail sauce and and rattlesnake marinated in red chili and lime. For dinner, the tender and succulent buffalo prime rib rivals any beef version, and the broiled quail, served in a prickly pear and apricot glaze, is rich with subtle sweetness.
Featured content
How to Ask Customers for Reviews and Grow Your Business

How to Ask Customers for Reviews and Grow Your Business

How to Ask Customers for Reviews and Grow Your Business
How to respond to bad reviews and repair your online reputation

How to respond to bad reviews and repair your online reputation

How to respond to bad reviews and repair your online reputation
bert p. review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
bert p. on Insider Pages

17 years ago

06/28/2005, 11:49 AM
eat wild game while the game watches you If you ever wanted to eat buffalo under a buffalo head on the wall, try the Buckhorn Exchange. The "wild west" decor includes some historical artifacts but mainly features enough taxidermy to fill several dozen hunting lodges. The menu is known for game: elk, moose, venison & rabbit, plus exotic fare like rattlesnake or alligator. Portions are medium and so is the general quality, though prices are rather higher. The Buckhorn seems very much past its peak, though still not bad as a unique experience for tourists and visitors. PROS: right across from 10th St. light rail station. CONS: showing its age in too many ways
bert p. review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
bert p. on Insider Pages

17 years ago

06/28/2005, 05:44 AM
eat wild game while the game watches you If you ever wanted to eat buffalo under a buffalo head on the wall, try the Buckhorn Exchange. The "wild west" decor includes some historical artifacts but mainly features enough taxidermy to fill several dozen hunting lodges. The menu is known for game: elk, moose, venison & rabbit, plus exotic fare like rattlesnake or alligator. Portions are medium and so is the general quality, though prices are rather higher. The Buckhorn seems very much past its peak, though still not bad as a unique experience for tourists and visitors.
peatwo review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
peatwo on Citysearch

17 years ago

06/06/2005, 05:29 AM
Not your typical steakhouse – If you are looking for a Morton's or some other traditioal prime steakhouse, you are at the wrong place. I've tried and enjoyed some of the best steakhouses in the US. If you are looking for some of the best steak, wild game in Denver then DEFINITELY give Buckhorn a try. I suggest the sampler where you can try prime beef, venison, yack, or anyother wild game they are offering that day. EXCELLENT!!!! If you are a hunter and you don't enjoy the atmosphere, something is wrong with you.
rowdyyates review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
rowdyyates on Citysearch

17 years ago

03/11/2005, 05:48 AM
BuckHorn is great – We really enjoed ourselves at the buckhorn. As a hunter I ws excited to try some game meat prepared differently from mine. I love elk and have a freezer full at home, so I was anxious to try some. I foung out later that they import thier elk and its not a Rocky Mountain elk, its a cross between elk and red deer. However it still was very good. The buffalo sausage appetizer was excellent. We also tried the Rattlesnake. Its interesting and everyone should try it, even if just to say they ate some rattlesnake. The interior is awesome as well, lots to see
jetphantom review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
jetphantom on Citysearch

18 years ago

11/08/2004, 00:10 AM
Wonderful – I am from out of town and truly enjoyed everything about the Buckhorn Exchange this evening. It was the best steak I have ever eaten, and the service was the best. I highly recomend this for a stop in Denver.
bronco1980 review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
bronco1980 on Citysearch

19 years ago

11/02/2003, 05:53 AM
Soooo Disappointing!!! – Took out of town guests, what a mistake! It wasn't just the price, but the quality. Everything leading up to the entrees, from the appetizer to the bread to the salad was ordinary and below average. I ordered a baked potato "with everything", and got an under done russet with a bit of sour cream on the side in a paper container, embarassing!! This made way for an elk "nibblet" about the size of my thumb. Both who ordered steaks got a charred piece of leather we guessed was as old as the place itself. We all thought the food was a joke considering the price, an average of $35 per plate. I will never consider going back.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.