Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.4
2333 reviews
|Steakhouses|Denver, CO 80204 United States

1000 Osage St, Downtown), Denver, CO 80204 United States

(303) 534-9505

https://www.buckhorn.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.8
(297) · Restaurants

8433 Park Meadows Center Dr

(303) 792-2571
4.7
(2993) · Restaurants

5085 S Syracuse St

(303) 770-7300
4.7
(3114) · Restaurants

1801 California St. #150 CenturyLink building lobby level

(303) 293-8500
4.6
(418) · Steakhouses

101 Pratt St

(303) 651-3330
4.5
(289) · Restaurants

5515 Vance St

(303) 423-1185
4.4
(1775) · Steakhouses

19192 CO-8

(303) 697-4771
About

This establishment holds the oldest liquor license in the state, and it has been in operation for more than a century. Serving since 1893, this national historic landmark has seen countless wild west icons having a meal here, including the legendary Buffalo Bill Cody. Be aware that the dining room walls are flanked by animal trophy heads, which some diners find as uncomfortably distracting. The menu offers some eye-opening fare such as rattlesnake, yak and fried alligator tail. If you prefer the traditional cuisine, tenderloin, T-bone and New York strip and other options abound. It is also the place to try Colorado favorites like elk and buffalo. They have live entertainment four nights of t

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.4
2,333 reviews
51,294
  
4345
  
3150
  
266
  
160
  
418 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Recommended
Cheezenrice review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
Cheezenrice on Citysearch

14 years ago

09/19/2008, 02:47 AM
Don't go if you are hungry – This place must be surviving on its great decor and history alone. Service is pleasant if you are dropping the bucks, not if you aren't. I have to suspect that the good reviews are plants--the food is simply sub par. What is good is served in tiny portions. Is rattlesnake always as tough as a old cowboy boot?
fizzylinn review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
fizzylinn on Citysearch

14 years ago

09/10/2008, 01:35 AM
Ruined a perfectly good evening – I was unimpressed by the service at the Buckhorn Exchange. Despite there being several rooms filled with empty tables, the staff moved us from upstairs happy hour area and tried unsuccessfully to squeeze our party into a table that was obviously too small to accommodate us. When they found out that not everyone in the party planned to eat dinner, they acted very cool towards us (even though we'd called ahead to let them know only a couple of people planned to eat). They proceeded to move us back upstairs, where we lost some of our previous seating and during which time several of our party left, feeling they were an inconvenience. The organizer of the outing felt terrible that people drove all that way to simply turn around and go home. I won't be back.
RalphDukerson review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
RalphDukerson on Citysearch

14 years ago

09/05/2008, 02:15 AM
Booooooooooooooo!!!!!! – I was very disappointed in the service and I felt looked down upon. The main hostess/owner was clearly making us feel unwanted when not everyone was wanting dinner. I feel they only care about the customer when they are spending their entire paycheck at dinner. They had no idea that the people pretty well off and I convinced them to come experience the buckhorn, they were devastated when they discovered they couldn't stay down in the dining area unless they bought a dinner plate. Big mistake for the restaurant because if the guests would have stayed and gotten great service, they would have suggested it for some of their big name clients. I was very embarrasses for myself for suggesting the restaurant and for everyone involved. boooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!
Featured content
Livechat vs chatbot: which one is right for your business?

Livechat vs chatbot: which one is right for your business?

Livechat vs chatbot: which one is right for your business?
Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers

Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers

Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers
davesym review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
davesym on Citysearch

14 years ago

04/22/2008, 09:23 AM
I wanted it to be good! – I've read other reviews that say the main dishes are delish, but I'm sorry that we won't be back to try them after the appetizers we ordered. The four we tried were embarrassingly bad: 1) The Alligator. Difficult to say whether there was meat in there or not... Just rubbery fried breading. 2) The Rattlesnake. A soupy dish of cream cheese and Chipotle seasoning. Some rubbery meat in there too. 3) Rocky Mtn Oysters. Again, fried breading and something with not-really good texture. 4) Soup. I hate to sound like I'm piling on here, but the Cheddar Potato soup was watery, and little taste. We came armed with cameras, excited about this wonderful Denver landmark, but left very disappointed and felt somewhat taken advantage of. Ok, maybe I'll go back for the free drinks they gave us, but foodies need not apply.
echo review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
echo on Dex Knows

15 years ago

10/28/2007, 17:10 PM
Love it Tried it and loved it! Excellent food and excellent atmosphere.
jackie4 review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
jackie4 on Dex Knows

15 years ago

10/25/2007, 05:22 AM
excellent food After getting use to all the deadheads I enjoyed the food.
Mary review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
Mary on Dex Knows

15 years ago

10/14/2007, 11:09 AM
Fun It's been here a long time and they know what they're doing. It's a little pricey for us to go there alot. Try the wild game.
dawnandbobby review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
dawnandbobby on Dex Knows

15 years ago

10/11/2007, 04:43 AM
Good place Good food good service unusual surroundings
latte4me review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
latte4me on Dex Knows

15 years ago

10/10/2007, 07:32 AM
A piece of history The Buckhorn has been around forever. It is worth the experience of having your food watch you eat for once. If you're unsure about taxidermy, this is NOT the place for you.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.