Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.4
2333 reviews
|Steakhouses|Denver, CO 80204 United States

1000 Osage St, Downtown), Denver, CO 80204 United States

(303) 534-9505

https://www.buckhorn.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.8
(297) · Restaurants

8433 Park Meadows Center Dr

(303) 792-2571
4.7
(2993) · Restaurants

5085 S Syracuse St

(303) 770-7300
4.7
(3114) · Restaurants

1801 California St. #150 CenturyLink building lobby level

(303) 293-8500
4.6
(418) · Steakhouses

101 Pratt St

(303) 651-3330
4.5
(289) · Restaurants

5515 Vance St

(303) 423-1185
4.4
(1775) · Steakhouses

19192 CO-8

(303) 697-4771
About

This establishment holds the oldest liquor license in the state, and it has been in operation for more than a century. Serving since 1893, this national historic landmark has seen countless wild west icons having a meal here, including the legendary Buffalo Bill Cody. Be aware that the dining room walls are flanked by animal trophy heads, which some diners find as uncomfortably distracting. The menu offers some eye-opening fare such as rattlesnake, yak and fried alligator tail. If you prefer the traditional cuisine, tenderloin, T-bone and New York strip and other options abound. It is also the place to try Colorado favorites like elk and buffalo. They have live entertainment four nights of t

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.4
2,333 reviews
51,294
  
4345
  
3150
  
266
  
160
  
418 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Recommended
Laura T. review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
Laura T. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

02/16/2010, 04:41 AM
Good choice for out of town guests. Old Denver landmark that was first opened in 1893. I think that you choose this restaurant above all of the other fabulous choices that we have in Denver when you have out of town guests that want a unique "western" menu and a restaurant that has history. You go to the Buckhorn because they have elk, buffalo, quail, "rocky mountian oysters" and sometimes even yak on the menu not because they have the best food in town. It is all about the experience. My out of town guests had a blast ordering from the menu and sampling the various game items. If you don't like to look at stuffed, once-alive animals then go someplace else. I gave it a very good rating because I think it is a very good restaurant for those seeking their unique menu.
Just me review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
Just me on Dex Knows

13 years ago

11/13/2009, 13:24 PM
Disappointing Rocky Mountain Oysters - some where like shoe leather.Lettuce was still wet making it hard for the dressing to stick.Granny's Roast Beef was wonderful.Buffalo Prime Rib was over-cooked.For the price the wait staff should have been excellent. When dining I have high expectations especially of the Buckhorn Exchange.
Respond to negative reviews
Pwdr review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
Pwdr on Citysearch

13 years ago

10/25/2009, 03:39 AM
Not what it use to be – Last couple visits, the buffalo and elk has been very poor quality. Which is very dissappointing for a place that charges $36-$41 for a typical prime rib or medalions.
Featured content
Patient Feedback: Why Doctors Need to Ask For It

Patient Feedback: Why Doctors Need to Ask For It

Patient Feedback: Why Doctors Need to Ask For It
Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?
kathuff review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
kathuff on Citysearch

13 years ago

10/01/2009, 06:21 AM
amazing!! – i really dont know what people are talking about with all the bad reviews. my husband and i went just this evening for his 20th birthday. i called the night before and made reservations and we showed up 30 min early and were seated right away. our waitress was sooo nice and very attentive. we ordered alligator and rattlesnake appetizers...we loved them both...the alligator reminded us a little of calamari and the rattlesnake was very unique! for our meals i got elk and buffalo with a salad and baked potatoe and veggies. it was more than i could eat and everything was delicious..i like the elk more than the buffalo. my husband ordered elk and quail, we both loved the quail sooo much!!!after our meal the waiters came out carrying s giant fudge brownie covered in hot fudge and ice cream with a little candle in it. it was so cute when they sang to him! honestly other than being very expensive this place is deffinetly worth a special occasion. we plan on returning with my parents before my husband is deployed to iraq in march.
travel4eat review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
travel4eat on Citysearch

13 years ago

08/31/2009, 10:49 AM
The WORST eat out experience ever!!! – Horrible food. Meat is overcooked, taste like rubber. Don't order the "Rocky Mountain Oysters", tasteless. It's not the ball that's bad. It's the way they prepared it. In fact, it's not gourmet food. They WARM (frozen stuff) instead of cooking from fresh. And the soup, it's worse than dog-food in 3rd world countries. Lots of travelling and having tasted food around the country and overseas prove this place to be a dump. That TV chanel shouldn't have taken $ from this place to include it in their show. It's a shame.
Andre L. review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
Andre L. on Foursquare

13 years ago

08/27/2009, 12:32 PM
Go to Buckhorn Exchange and try the Rocky Mountain Oysters. Love them balls.
gmoney303 review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
gmoney303 on Citysearch

13 years ago

08/25/2009, 06:15 AM
Overpriced Road K!LL – What an expensive lesson.. $186 dollars (less tip} for three of us to sit outside with the flies and wind; just to eat mediocre food. Ostrich, yak... stuff like that. We had three entrees, three beers and 2 ice tea's.... for $186 Major highlights below... > Flies were horrible oustide > Despite being outside in the heat.. food got cold before we could eat it. > The "famous" bean soup = dishwater with navy beans in it. > $5.50 for a beer ?!?!?! Shotgun Willie prices ?!?! > Take some time and clean those head mounts > I would recommend Casa Bonita to a visitor before this place... Overpriced road k!ll as far as I'm concerned Could have gone to Morton's or Del Frisco's for that price. Gary
magnanimo review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
magnanimo on Citysearch

13 years ago

06/16/2009, 04:32 AM
Very Dissapointing – I took my fiance here for a special birthday dinner with pretty high expectations. Needless to say, we were both very disappointed. The food was okay - nothing that would justify the price they were charging. The staff was awful. Our waitress was inept. And before dinner, we stopped at the bar for a cocktail and had to deal with rude bartender. I implore you to save your money and stay away from this place.
STUFFED review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
STUFFED on Citysearch

13 years ago

05/22/2009, 09:27 AM
Excellent Restaurant – We always have a great time a the Buckhorn. The service is always excellent; curtious and time welled in between courses. The appetizers are great. Don't complain about rattlesnake or alligator or cow testicles, it is what it is. Whenever family visits we bring them here and they always have a great time and enjoy the food. Thank you!
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.