Claim this profile

This profile has not been claimed by the business owner or representative.

Claim this business to update business information, get new reviews, respond to reviews, receive messages from prospective customers, and more!

Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant

4.4
Get directions

About this business

This establishment holds the oldest liquor license in the state, and it has been in operation for more than a century. Serving since 1893, this national historic landmark has seen countless wild west icons having a meal here, including the legendary Buffalo Bill Cody. Be aware that the dining room walls are flanked by animal trophy heads, which some diners find as uncomfortably distracting. The menu offers some eye-opening fare such as rattlesnake, yak and fried alligator tail. If you prefer the traditional cuisine, tenderlo... read more

Location details

1000 Osage St, Downtown), Denver, CO, 80204, United States

Get directions
WeekdayScheduleStatus
Mon11:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Tue11:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Wed11:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Thu11:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Fri11:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Sat5:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Sun5:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.
4.44,907 reviews
5
3,055
4
768
3
320
2
182
1
158
424 reviews have no rating
Select a rating
Jeremy Sanchez 🚀's profile image
Jeremy Sanchez 🚀 
12 years ago

Try the Buffalo Bill Cocktail. They've been making it here for over 118 years. 

Tim Jackson's profile image
Tim Jackson 
12 years ago

Try the mountain oysters. Also, quail, gaming hen and duck. This place is extremely historic and rich in old west history. 

BrownShoes's profile image
BrownShoes 
12 years ago

Worst Experience in 37 years – Poor service, the food was really bad, and management has been unresponsive to my complaints. I had not been to the Buckhorn in over a year. My previous impression was that the food was better than average and the atmosphere great. Although pricey, it seemed like a good choice for entertaining an out of town guest. My recent visit left me feeling embarrassed to have brought our out of town guest to the Buckhorn. A fly landed and died in my son's half full pop. Not a big deal to the guy looking ... read more

Travel Channel's profile image
Travel Channel 
12 years ago

Denver's oldest and most unique restaurant, as seen on Man v Food: Denver! 

Drew G.'s profile image
12 years ago

Take a close look at the walls. There is more hung on them than trophy animals. This place is a veritable museum of Denver, Colorado and Western history. 

Melissa Gehrke's profile image
Melissa Gehrke 
12 years ago

Had the balls... But went in between 2 and 5 they weren't serving dinner I'll have to come back for the meat! 

Kristi Dell's profile image
Kristi Dell 
12 years ago

Great Happy Hour!!! 

danniestephany's profile image
danniestephany 
12 years ago

Nice, Classic Walk past the projects and you are here! The decor is really great. Tons and tons of stuffed animals plastered to the wall. The upstairs bar is also great but the dining part has long waits (reservations are almost a must) and the food is so so. Yes, they do serve exotic foods such as buffalo and elk but I just had the steak. Good but not worth the $40. I do recommend this place if you are bringing out of town guests. They can get a good feel of Colorado but it's not an everyday establishment. 

D-Town's profile image
12 years ago

Can't cook When i went there for my birthday the rice was crunchy like it had been left out all day. The elk was really dry and the bird was burnt. If you want to get drunk there its an expensive bar but thats the only part of my dinner the i was happy with. 

Frequently asked questions about Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant

How is Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant rated?

Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant has a 4.4 star rating with 4,907 reviews. 

When is Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant open?

Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant is closed now. It will open on Thursday at 11:00 a.m.