Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.4
2333 reviews
|Steakhouses|Denver, CO 80204 United States

1000 Osage St, Downtown), Denver, CO 80204 United States

(303) 534-9505

https://www.buckhorn.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.8
(297) · Restaurants

8433 Park Meadows Center Dr

(303) 792-2571
4.7
(2993) · Restaurants

5085 S Syracuse St

(303) 770-7300
4.7
(3142) · Restaurants

1801 California St. #150 CenturyLink building lobby level

(303) 293-8500
4.6
(418) · Steakhouses

101 Pratt St

(303) 651-3330
4.5
(289) · Restaurants

5515 Vance St

(303) 423-1185
4.4
(1378) · Restaurants

707 15th St

(303) 825-0713
About

This establishment holds the oldest liquor license in the state, and it has been in operation for more than a century. Serving since 1893, this national historic landmark has seen countless wild west icons having a meal here, including the legendary Buffalo Bill Cody. Be aware that the dining room walls are flanked by animal trophy heads, which some diners find as uncomfortably distracting. The menu offers some eye-opening fare such as rattlesnake, yak and fried alligator tail. If you prefer the traditional cuisine, tenderloin, T-bone and New York strip and other options abound. It is also the place to try Colorado favorites like elk and buffalo. They have live entertainment four nights of t

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.4
2,333 reviews
51,294
  
4345
  
3150
  
266
  
160
  
418 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Featured
Rob Hirt review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
Rob Hirt on Foursquare

11 years ago

10/12/2011, 14:19 PM
the number on the liquor license is 1
Brown Palace Hotel review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
Brown Palace Hotel on Foursquare

11 years ago

10/05/2011, 02:11 AM
The Buckhorn Exchange was issued Colorado’s Liquor License No. 1, when the prohibition laws were repealed in 1933.
Dave Puhrmann review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
Dave Puhrmann on Foursquare

11 years ago

10/03/2011, 10:09 AM
The "Dutch Lunch" is an awesome meal for the price. You get a little bit of everything and it is all great.
Featured content
How to Build a Reputation Management Strategy in 5 Steps

How to Build a Reputation Management Strategy in 5 Steps

How to Build a Reputation Management Strategy in 5 Steps
How do I keep track of my reviews On Google?

How do I keep track of my reviews On Google?

How do I keep track of my reviews On Google?
Jeremy Sanchez 🚀 review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
Jeremy Sanchez 🚀 on Foursquare

11 years ago

09/20/2011, 05:49 AM
Try the Buffalo Bill Cocktail. They've been making it here for over 118 years.
Tim Jackson review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
Tim Jackson on Foursquare

11 years ago

08/20/2011, 12:55 PM
Try the mountain oysters. Also, quail, gaming hen and duck. This place is extremely historic and rich in old west history.
BrownShoes review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
BrownShoes on Citysearch

11 years ago

08/20/2011, 10:03 AM
Worst Experience in 37 years – Poor service, the food was really bad, and management has been unresponsive to my complaints. I had not been to the Buckhorn in over a year. My previous impression was that the food was better than average and the atmosphere great. Although pricey, it seemed like a good choice for entertaining an out of town guest. My recent visit left me feeling embarrassed to have brought our out of town guest to the Buckhorn. A fly landed and died in my son's half full pop. Not a big deal to the guy looking forward to a little Yak but when I asked the waiter to replace it he only brought a glass with ice and no pop. Pop is sold by the bottle at a hefty price. He did not adjust the Bill or offer an apology. My son and I had the Navy Bean soup along with our entrees. It had a burnt taste as though from the bottom of a burnt pot. My wife and our guest had salads. They were flattened as though they had been stacked for a long period of time and my wife said the ingredients were limp. The prime rib of buffalo and yak were chewy and tasteless. The salmon was overcooked and dry as was the quail. The only item that tasted ok was the osterich. My son and I were sick to our stomach's that night presumably from the soup. I wrote to the Buckhorn the following morning to report all of this through their websiet and although they promise a reply in 24-36 hours they still have not replied four days later. I've lived and dined in Denver for 37 years and this is by far the worst dining experience I have had.
Travel Channel review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
Travel Channel on Foursquare

11 years ago

08/11/2011, 05:05 AM
Denver's oldest and most unique restaurant, as seen on Man v Food: Denver!
Drew G. review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
Drew G. on Foursquare

11 years ago

08/01/2011, 03:13 AM
Take a close look at the walls. There is more hung on them than trophy animals. This place is a veritable museum of Denver, Colorado and Western history.
Melissa Gehrke review for Buckhorn Exchange Restaurant
Melissa Gehrke on Foursquare

11 years ago

07/14/2011, 06:28 AM
Had the balls... But went in between 2 and 5 they weren't serving dinner I'll have to come back for the meat!
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.