Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Boca Chica Taco House

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.1
162 reviews
|Mexican|Saint Paul, MN 55107 United States

11 Cesar Chavez St, Saint Paul, MN 55107 United States

(651) 222-8499

https://www.bocachicarestaurant.com/

Closed now
Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(2) · Mexican

105 Lewis St S

(952) 393-0902
4.7
(13) · Ice Cream & Frozen Yogurt

2200 Silver Lake Rd NW

(651) 633-9728
4.6
(1012) · Restaurants

816 Lake St S

(651) 464-3544
4.6
(677) · Restaurants

2701 39th Ave NE #128

(612) 789-5000
4.6
(343) · Mexican

9351 Cedar St

(763) 314-0500
4.6
(913) · Mexican

520 Central Ave N

(507) 333-1344
About

From its humble beginnings in 1964, this family restaurant has grown into a multi-room hacienda serving the finest Mexican food. The traditional menu is loaded with favorites such as tacos, tamales, burritos and enchiladas. Each can be ordered a la carte or as a combination dinner. The beef enthusiast will enjoy the Carne ala tampiquena, two grilled 4-ounce rib eye steaks. The Huachinango ala veracruzan, pan-fried red snapper topped with tomato sauce, will please the fish lover. Considered to have the best margaritas in town, Boca Chica also boasts a superb selection of Mexican beer.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 90,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.1
162 reviews
565
  
460
  
326
  
26
  
15
  
Sort By:
Featured
jmeyer37 review for Boca Chica Taco House
jmeyer37 on Trip Advisor

2 months ago

10/08/2022, 15:20 PM
What service? What food? I arrived on a Friday night at 8 pm. I was told there was a 20-minute wait for a table, but I could get served immediately from the bar. I chose the bar. There were two bartenders at the not-overly-large bar. One spent most of his time cursing one of the waitresses. Non-stop abuse to her face. The other studiously avoided eye contact while making drinks for people not at the bar. After 20 minutes of not even being offered water, I moved to a table that had sat empty since I arrived. Every table in the station was full, yet no waiters or waitresses came by. After 10 more minutes of sitting there with no service, I left.
Respond to negative reviews
Ladyprof2014 review for Boca Chica Taco House
Ladyprof2014 on Trip Advisor

6 months ago

05/30/2022, 15:00 PM
Surprisingly good Tex Mex in Minnesota Good Tex-Mex in Minnesota of all places. The chicken taco salad from fresh and plentiful. The pork tamales were tasty although the chili gravy could have been a touch spicier. The regular margaritas were excellent and the service was good. Prices make it a great place for family gatherings.
wblmom review for Boca Chica Taco House
wblmom on Trip Advisor

10 months ago

02/04/2022, 09:43 AM
Great experience I was very impressed with this restaurant. I hadn’t been here since I was a kid. The staff were all VERY friendly. Even with mask and vaccination mandates. It’s a tough industry these days. Both my friend and I really enjoyed our meal. Delicious fresh guacamole. Light crispy chips. My deep fried taco had tons of beef. Could have used a little sour cream or sauce. Tostada was great too. My friend ordered the chimi and burrito. Overall great experience and food.
Featured content
What Does Birdeye Cost?

What Does Birdeye Cost?

What Does Birdeye Cost?
How to Build a Reputation Management Strategy in 5 Steps

How to Build a Reputation Management Strategy in 5 Steps

How to Build a Reputation Management Strategy in 5 Steps
Lori L review for Boca Chica Taco House
Lori L on Trip Advisor

a year ago

10/16/2021, 17:18 PM
Family owned Mexican restaurant with great vibes! I haven't been to Boca Chica since before the pandemic started, but you would never have known from dining there last night (10/15/2021) that there had been one! No one was wearing masks, and I am more than okay with that! The dining room was full, and there was a lot of families there with well-behaved children. Both our meals were really good, as were the Margaritas! As far as I know, Boca Chica is the only Mexican restaurant in the entire Twin Cities area that serves a cactus salad, which I love! And the Chile Relleno dinner comes with a cactus salad. I also love the way they serve their black beans, with a smattering of white cheese and some fresh herbs on top. Over the last few years, more and more Mexican restaurants have stopped serving Chile Relleno, with the excuse that it's "too labor intensive," but Boca Chica has not caved into this lazy notion. So, even though I live in MPLS, I had a craving for Chile Relleno and knew this place would not let me down. Plus I always love supporting family-owned restaurants, and this place has been owned by the same family for several generations. I do recommend making a reservation on Open Table since they can get pretty booked up on the weekends. But if you have to wait, you can always hang-out in their awesome bar and get free chips and salsa with your beverage!
pakrfan-wis review for Boca Chica Taco House
pakrfan-wis on Trip Advisor

a year ago

07/23/2021, 04:54 AM
Best Mexican in the Twin Cities We live west of I-35W, so this is a bit of a distance. But well worth it. It is not a dress up place. The staff ic competent and friendly. And the flavors are amazing. We try and eat there several times a year and it is always delicious. FYI, we believe that they have a generous pour for their drinks. Needless to say, we will return.
MinnScooter review for Boca Chica Taco House
MinnScooter on Trip Advisor

a year ago

06/18/2021, 17:30 PM
First time for Brunch-Not the last We hadn't been here in years - I guess because a couple good Mexican places opened by us..but we had friends who had never been here AND the Mexican brunch looked interesting. Went early so we could be on Patio on what was a hot day..it wasn't crowed at all..in the A/C was! great Patio better than average Buffet great Mexican dishes we were all very pleased and the PRICE Wow! $16 each including a Mimosa! we WILL be Back!
Calafraga review for Boca Chica Taco House
Calafraga on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

11/08/2020, 04:13 AM
Not good this time We ordered fajitas and they were not good. There were maybe 8 strips of onion (basically none), the green pepper pieces were huge, not strips, and the beef had a lot of gristle. I heated them up the next day and added onion, and cut up the green pepper so that was better except for the beef. The chimichangas we ordered didn’t have any sauce. The chips were good but we only got one small container of salsa for three dinners and chips. Only got three tortillas for enough fajita mixture to feed 4-5 people. Nothing made sense. When you order for take out it doesn’t work well. We spent 60$ plus and for that you should receive the very best. Seems like they don’t care.
Kristin D review for Boca Chica Taco House
Kristin D on Trip Advisor

3 years ago

01/20/2020, 05:09 AM
Fun and tasty Mexican food. Nice salsa and chips, yummy appetizers, and my favorites - chili relenos. Very tasty, of course. A tiny bit oily, i thought. It is always pretty crowded. There is a good parking lot next door. I try to deal with the crowds by going there...More
Kristin D review for Boca Chica Taco House
Kristin D on Trip Advisor

3 years ago

01/20/2020, 00:32 AM
Fun and tasty Mexican food. Nice salsa and chips, yummy appetizers, and my favorites - chili relenos. Very tasty, of course. A tiny bit oily, i thought. It is always pretty crowded. There is a good parking lot next door. I try to deal with the crowds by going there a little early or late. Sometimes the service is a bit too hectic. I am still seeking, but my uncle likes this place and it is very easy to find. Right across the Wabasha bridge from downtown St Paul. Reliable.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.