Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Big Oaks Kennel

Claimed
4.4
69 reviews
|Pet Boarding|Buda, TX 78610

500 Loop St, Buda, TX 78610

(512) 312-0235

https://www.bigoakskennel.com/

Closed now

Google

Top Consumer Services in your area
5.0
(90) · Consumer Services

5411 Williams Dr

(512) 863-2607

1 person is looking at this business

4.9
(116) · Pet Boarding

4733 State Highway 46 West

(830) 625-7387

1 person is looking at this business

4.9
(75) · Pet Services

3721 Ranch Road 620 North

(512) 266-6282
4.9
(84) · Pet Services

715 S Lamar Blvd

(512) 442-3416
4.9
(65) · Pet Boarding

12419 Metric Blvd

(512) 832-1012
4.8
(205) · Pet Boarding

6917 McNeil Dr

(512) 258-5588
About

Training, Boarding and Grooming. Gun dog and obedience.

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.4
69 reviews
555
  
42
  
30
  
20
  
110
  
2 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Jeffrey U. review for Big Oaks Kennel
Jeffrey U. on BirdEye

4 months ago

08/05/2021, 15:03 PM
Big shout out to Kelly, who groomed our Jack Russel Terrier, Maks, today. Kelly is awesome did a great job! Maks came back looking like beautiful . Thanks you Kelly - awesome work- and thank you Big Oaks.
Emily K. review for Big Oaks Kennel
Emily K. on Citysearch

10 years ago

04/26/2012, 10:36 AM
Best Kennel around – I would recommend this kennel to anyone I know. Enough said!
Rickey V. review for Big Oaks Kennel
Rickey V. on Citysearch

10 years ago

04/02/2012, 08:14 AM
Dog Discrimination – Big Oak Kennel advertises that they provide dog training, boarding, and doggy day care but based on my experience today I would really reconsider providing your business, dog training or boarding needs somewhere else. Big Oak Kennel web site states, “Where a dog can be a dog!” but what they don’t advertise is that they are more breed restrictive or just plan a location where you can take your dog to be exposed to discrimination. My dog is a 2 year old going on three approx. 80lbs lovable dog. My dog has never attacked another dog or even came close to show aggression to a human (no bite history animal or human). Now for Big Oak Kennel to start with I have attempted to call this business multiple times with negative results and finally I was able to get in touch with someone a few days ago and set a time and date for a tour of the location with my dog. Well today (4-2-12) at approx. 1500hrs was the appointment so I arrived a few minutes early and entered the front office with my dog on a leash. As I entered I observed a cat and it started to hiss at my dog and my dog just stands next to me and begins to smell the room like any other dog. The lady behind the desk looks towards me, able to notice I have a dog leash in my hand, and gets up and walk around the desk to what I thought was to greet us but I was so wrong. As soon as the lady turned the corner she steps back place her hands to her side and looks as if she just saw a monster and the lady states “Oh I was not ready for THIS”. Now with this reaction all I could have thought was what can she possibly be talking about because last I checked this was a Big Oak Kennel that advertises dog boarding, doggy day care, and TRAINING. The lady seemed to be shocked in place because she would not greet me or anything other than her acting scared of the sight of a man with a dog on a leash. Finally I proceeded to open the door and walk outside and tell the lady that I was here for the tour of the place before I thought of providing my business to this dog kennel. Once she walked out of the door still body language showing she’s scared she stands above my dog and attempts to place her hand over his head without even greeting me and acting very skittish. With her sudden actions and body language my dog then proceeded to back away from her to inform her that she scared him through growling. I then proceeded to correct my dog like any good dog owner and my dog proceeded to stop and sit down as trained. I guess that shows me what type of dog trainer she was that did not bother to greet the owner first, then make a sudden movement towards an unknown dog and give off skittish body language as she hovers over my dog. Obviously someone needs to watch some more Dog whisperer shows to advertise that she is a dog trainer. Then she proceeded to state: “I’m a Grandmother and I can’t have THIS” as if she was referring to my dog as a monster. On the same day with the same dog, I proceeded to locate a doggy daycare/boarding facility in the same area called Ruff Ranch. We all visited this business and were given a tour where multiple staff members came in contact with my dog and no negative incident occurred. Needless to say, I just want to inform the general public of the discrimination that occurs in the 21st Century with dog breeds. With that being said, I would strongly not recommend Big Oak Kennel to avoid putting your dog through a negative experience like we were exposed.
Featured content
The End of Anonymous Google Reviews and the Rise of the Trust Economy

The End of Anonymous Google Reviews and the Rise of the Trust Economy

The End of Anonymous Google Reviews and the Rise of the Trust Economy
Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?
Todd R. review for Big Oaks Kennel
Todd R. on Insider Pages

10 years ago

12/12/2011, 00:40 AM
Thank you Big Oaks Kennel We sent our Golden Retriever to Big Oaks Kennel for training and she came back a brand new dog -- she is obedient and now a valuable member of the family. Thank you Elaine and Herb!
Emily review for Big Oaks Kennel
Emily on YellowBot

11 years ago

03/07/2011, 15:33 PM
Excellent Care! I have been boarding my 2 dogs at Big Oaks for years and have always loved the service and quality of care they have received. As we turn down the road to the kennel they always get excited and when we park, jump out of the car and head straight to the gate. (that's a real measure of a dog's comfort) They love the play yards, the farm and all the interaction with the other dogs! Great kennel, great prices! These people really love dogs!
Hardy Purvis review for Big Oaks Kennel
Hardy Purvis on YellowBot

12 years ago

01/29/2010, 18:19 PM
Incessant barkers For the emotional well being of our other guests, incessant barking is not tolerated. We have professionally trained many incessant barkers not to bark needlessly. We will continue, in the future, to take all reasonable measures to insure that our guests are not unduly stressed by unreasonable levels of barking by other guests.
CJ review for Big Oaks Kennel
CJ on YellowBot

12 years ago

06/30/2009, 09:06 AM
Rude, unprofessional, greedy My parents boarded their dog at this place of "business" and I went to check on her. When I saw her, she was very timid and looked very unhappy. She finally came out of the run to see me and began to cry and whimper - she whimpered a little too loud and then began yelping and fell on her side. I then noticed a large shock collar on her (she is about 45 pounds) and she then ran into the enclosed area and would not come back out. The owner advised me that she was "teaching" the dog to not bark and that she whined and barked the previous night. (Sorry, if you don't like the sound of dogs barking why do you run a boarding kennel?) My parents then decided to have me pick up their dog and keep her at my home until they returned due to having an extended trip to see family. The owner charged my parents (elderly and on a fixed income) $84 for basically a ONE NIGHT STAY - since I picked her up early and they would lose business. When asked if they would rent her spot out again I was told they would but would not credit my parents the fee since they are like a "hotel" and run it like one. We were then told to leave, to go away, and when we asked for a copy of the agreement, we were told again to "just go away". This is a very unprofessional place and Elaine was extremely rude from the get-go. I do not recommend this place at all. Your dog would be treated more humanely in a shelter setting - they do not use shock collars for dogs that whimper or bark due to new, unfamiliar surroundings!
Respond to negative reviews
Lori review for Big Oaks Kennel
Lori on YellowBot

12 years ago

06/20/2009, 12:02 PM
Dog came home w/fleas, ticks & bites My dog is on Frontline Plus & we have a pest control service at home. He was at Big Oaks Kennel for 8 days. He came home with numerous large ticks, fleas and ant bites on his paws & in his ears. I called Elaine to tell her & she said "I have 6 acres of land out here, I can't really help that." I don't care how much land you have, if you're going to board animals, be a responsible business owner and have pest control come out. I was charged nearly two hundred dollars for his stay and given no compensation or real apology, plus I had to incur the cost of getting him "Clean" again. Save yourself the aggravation & money. Board elsewhere. I wish I had.
Respond to negative reviews
Jim C. review for Big Oaks Kennel
Jim C. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

07/15/2008, 14:11 PM
Big Oaks Kennel Big Oaks is a small, informal kennel that provides excellent service and value. I have been taking my little dog there for years and have always been pleased.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.