Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Barrett Automotive

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.1
22 reviews
|Body Shops|Portland, OR 97213

4413 NE Fremont St, Portland, OR 97213

(503) 287-1352

https://barrettautomotive.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Automotive in your area
5.0
(88) · Auto Repair

1737 SE Rhine St

(503) 231-6677
5.0
(51) · Automotive

12738 SE Foster Rd

(503) 761-1990

3 people are looking at this business

5.0
(1) · Auto Repair

6935 NE Glisan St

(503) 257-7947

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(2) · Automotive

867 NW Corporate Dr

(503) 674-0293

4 people are looking at this business

5.0
(9) · Automotive

6707 NE 131st Ave

(360) 885-3333

2 people are looking at this business

5.0
(1) · Body Shops

8618 NE 13th Ave

(360) 574-3577
About

Specialties Barrett Automotive does bumper to bumper work aside from body and paint work. We handle most makes and models including American, Japanese and European models. Our services include engine performance, front end alignment, undercarriage work, steering, suspension, drivetrain, transmission, differentials, transfer cases, A/C, brakes, exhaust systems, etc. History Established in 1944. We have been a family business since 1944. Our mechanical staff includes two mechanics with over 40 years of experience. Meet the Business Owner Bill B. Business Owner Our experience and expertise set us apart. Visit or call (503) 287-1352 for your automotive needs!

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.1
22 reviews
510
  
45
  
30
  
21
  
12
  
4 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Rocky Kautz on Facebook

7 years ago

06/24/2014, 10:17 AM
andrine23 on Citysearch

10 years ago

02/04/2011, 09:49 AM
INSANELY HORRIBLE "SERVICE" – CitySearch: we need a ZERO STARS setting! Brought my electric Xebra to Barrett to see if they could repair it on 12/21/10; told them to call me with any questions. They said they could, didn't give an estimate, called once to say they were still working on it over the next 2 weeks, then called 1/4/11 to say it was ready. Charge: $590! I paid in shock, got in the car and found that many things were still not working and new things were wrong, went back in the office to report this, was treated rudely by the owner (Mrs. Barrett) and told I had to leave the car to be checked out by techs. When I left the car I asked PLEASE call me with questions, updates, etc. No calls for 10 days, during which time I charged back the credit card for the $590 as the work wasn't as promised (I called them to inform them of this on 1/16). Was unable to get any information out of them about what the problem was for weeks, then after a month when I offer to just have my car towed away, Mr. Barrett says they can't find a part they need - they've looked everywhere. I get on the internet, find the part at the manufacturer and with 20 minutes and one phone call have it delivered the next business day. Barrett calls me when they are informed about the charge-back by the credit company, and accuse me of not intending to pay them. I say I'll pay when the work is done. They inform me that the work is done but I must now pay $900 in cash. I pay them all the cash I have ($17.20), and bring in daily cash as I earn it, to try and get my car back, insulted that they won't let me pay with credit. They say they can't trust me to not charge it back. I say I can't trust them to deliver the car fixed. They threaten to charge me storage fees. After two days of sending in my clients with cash payments for me, they finally agree to let me pay with credit if I sign an affidavit that I won't charge the transaction back + they charge me $25 for the charge-back I filed. I sign just to get my car back and pay the balance on my credit card. When I take the car for a test drive two major safety features are STILL not repaired which were noted over a month ago. He asks me to leave the car so they can look into these issues... Are you f***ing kidding me?! I think not.
UAKATE on Citysearch

11 years ago

12/10/2010, 10:42 AM
AWFUL, AWFUL, AWFUL! Don't go here! – Awful, Awful, Awful!!! Owner is a jerk, office staff has TERRIBLE customer service and work performed was poor, at best. I moved into the neighborhood and wanted to give a local shop a try. BIG MISTAKE! I had to take my car back four times... yes FOUR TIMES for them to get it right and it is still leaking fluids! When I told the owner that I was upset with the quality of service and customer service (not ONCE did they apologize for the inconvenience or try to take responsibility for their poor work) he had the audacity to yell at me like it was my fault. These people are terrible. I mean TERRIBLE! Please, take your business elsewhere. These people obviously don't appreciate and value customer satisfaction or loyalty. With so many other great local businesses, this one doesn't deserve your patronage.
Featured content
Do Online Reviews Matter?

Do Online Reviews Matter?

Do Online Reviews Matter?
Introducing Birdeye Interactions

Introducing Birdeye Interactions

Introducing Birdeye Interactions
Btown09 on Citysearch

12 years ago

04/21/2009, 10:00 AM
Not so great for me – My experience with Barrett has been mixed. They come highly recomended from trusted neighbors. Their repairs have been timely and generally reasonably priced. Their staff ahs always been willing to discuss repairs when asked. However, I have visited them three times to fix what appears to be the same oil leak which continues to leak. I have also picked up my car only to find the check engine light on after having he ignition switch replaced. They then charged me an additional $80 just to diagnose the electrical problem because they thought it could have been "pre-existing." I'm now shopping for a new mechanic.
mikemac007 on Citysearch

13 years ago

02/07/2008, 12:37 PM
confused office personal, rude owner, unexpected extra costs – I am a little lazy and put off getting gas in my truck, one day I ran my truck out of gas, but it is a diesel and when you run a diesel out of fuel you get air in the fuel line, and need special attention to get it started. so I called AAA and had my truck towed to Barret in my neighborhood. Told them that I ran out of fuel and needed the air out of the fuel lines. they called me a few hours later and said that they got it started. I asked how much fuel they put in it, the man said that they did not put any in it. IThey felt there was plenty of fuel in the truck and it is running. I asked them to double check that and make sure becuse I do not want to drive away and run out of fuel before I get to the gast station. I told them I would like to pick it up the same day but it is not that important. He said he would check it out and get back to me. Never herd from them again until I called back the next day at 11 am. He said it was fine and I have enough fuel in the tank. I went to pick up the truk on my way into work. My wife dropped me off and drove home. I went in got my keys and paid. I drove about 6 blocks and ran out of fuel. I called them back, had my wife come back and get me, drive my keys to back to the shop, and have my wife take me to work. The next morning I called them at 11 am to find out if the truck was ready. The man on the phone, Mr. Barret himself, told me that the truck was out of fuel. Like I did not know. When I arrived they wanted me to pay agian for there time, I refused to pay twice for the problem I payed them once for, he demanded that I pay for the diesel that he put in it, which I did and would hoave been more than glade to pay that on the first day I payed them for there time. After we discussed that he feels he should be payed twice, he told me not to ever come back to his shop. It is too bad because it is a very close by location from where I live and I own three trucks. mm
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.