Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Bar La Grassa

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.7
939 reviews
|Italian|Minneapolis, MN 55401

800 N Washington Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55401

(612) 333-3837

https://www.barlagrassa.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(4) · Restaurants

1705 Southdale Center

(952) 563-8485
4.7
(661) · Italian

5000 Penn Ave S

(612) 925-9202
4.7
(340) · Restaurants

1935 Wayzata Blvd

(952) 479-1143
About

Bar La Grassa is one of Minneapolis's finest Italian restaurants that celebrates the cuisine with flair. The rustic decor adds to the charm of this place which serves small and large plates of wonderful dishes. Everything is made fresh and handmade, lending an authenticity of taste that is irreplaceable. An expertly curated wine list complements your meal, making it a memorable one.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.7
939 reviews
5750
  
4118
  
332
  
217
  
115
  
7 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Nomnomosaur review for Bar La Grassa
Nomnomosaur on Citysearch

10 years ago

11/14/2011, 00:34 AM
Excellent food! Excellent service! – I really enjoyed this place. So much so, I had dinner there two nights in a row. On the first night, I had the roast beet salad, an two small pasta plates: Paccheri with Saffron Milk Braised Chicken and Cavatelli with Braised Rabbit. The perfectly-roasted pine nuts added a nice touch to the salad. The saffron chicken was awesome. The cavatelli disk was the only one that I was wild about. I also had the chocolate pudding - yes, chocolate pudding - for dessert. That, too, was awesome. Night #2, I had the crisp salad with vinaigrette and the grilled chicken. They were both excellent. Some of the best chicken I've had in a long while. Skin was nice and crispy with a good char and the meat was moist and flavorful. The service was also excellent. Both waiters were both very familiar with the menu. And the waitstaff was very atentive. The restaurant was very crowded (I'm not surprised). There was music playing in the restaurant, but at a decent volume. Too many restaurants seems to compensate for chattering crowds by blaring the music. Not here. All in all, an excellent dining experience.
skmistry review for Bar La Grassa
skmistry on Citysearch

11 years ago

09/26/2010, 04:59 AM
Amazing Meal...One of the Best in Minnesota! – This is probably the best restaurant in all of Minnesota...and I'm not some poser saying this! I have been to top-tier restaurants across the US and was really impressed with Bar La Grassa. They have a challenging menu with excellent creativity...I had trouble choosing what to eat. We ended up ordering the Lobster and Egg bruschetta which was brilliant! I chose the Foie Gras Tortellini as an entree and it was one of the best pasta dishes I have ever had. I have seen complaints on service and wait times, but that is what happens at really good restaurants. There are long waits and lots of customers. We lucked-out because there were huge rain storms the night we went. We will definitely go back soon.
jojomo01 review for Bar La Grassa
jojomo01 on Citysearch

11 years ago

07/28/2010, 03:05 AM
Best Modern Italian Food! – Bar La Grassa is hands down, one of my favorite new restaurants. The people giving it one star are obviously not considering the food. I'm there about once a week and have never experienced bad service. Either make reservations or get there early to find seating at the bar. The Gnocchi is a must-have along with the Soft Eggs and Lobster Bruschetta. Most of the items on the menu are fantastice, however, the crab ravioli is a bit bland. The energy of the restaurant makes it a fun hangout; tons of different types of people. They also have a great wine selection!
Featured content
Why Copying and Pasting your Good Reviews is a Bad Idea

Why Copying and Pasting your Good Reviews is a Bad Idea

Why Copying and Pasting your Good Reviews is a Bad Idea
How to Track Competitor's Customer Reviews and Use Them to Your Advantage

How to Track Competitor's Customer Reviews and Use Them to Your Advantage

How to Track Competitor's Customer Reviews and Use Them to Your Advantage
MCB1 review for Bar La Grassa
MCB1 on Citysearch

12 years ago

05/03/2010, 03:11 AM
Go if you must, but pay in cash (and count your change)! – I thought we had a great dinner at Bar La Grassa...until the credit card statement arrived. We were overcharged by around $40. We immediately called the restaurant to ask for a refund of the overcharged amount, which they promised to issue right away. Long story short - it's been six weeks and still no refund. We have been calling the restaurant regularly and the response has been apathetic at best. They seem annoyed that we're asking for our money back. We're not talking about a refund request because we thought the food or service was bad - they literally charged our credit card for an unauthorized amount. Last I checked, that's stealing. Oh, and did I mention I checked with our credit card company and they have made no attempt to refund the overcharge? So, basically they've lied to us every time we've called. The whole experience dealing with their management has soured our impression of the restaurant. It's too bad because the food was actually pretty good and we would have gone back. As it is, we're now telling everyone we talk to about our horrible experience.
rosemariejohnson review for Bar La Grassa
rosemariejohnson on Citysearch

12 years ago

02/20/2010, 01:40 AM
Failed to honor reservations – When we checked in for our reservation we were told that they were running behind and it would be about 10 minutes. It took them 40 minutes to seat us. During that time they never provided status updates or ask us if we'd like a beverage. The hostess was rude to us and all the other groups who were also waiting past their reservations. When we were finally seated we asked to speak to the manager. During our wait for the manager we were not provided with water nor asked if we wanted to order a drink. When the manager showed up 10 minutes later he gave us attitude and acted like we shouldn't have even bothered to say anything. That was the straw that broke the camel's back - we left. I had read other reviews warning that they overbook and you end up waiting a long time past reservations. I should have listened.
VS2010 review for Bar La Grassa
VS2010 on Citysearch

12 years ago

01/08/2010, 01:42 AM
Bad Experience – We had a 9:00 reservation. We finished our work early. So we reached La Bar Grassa at 8:00 to ask the host if she could accomodate us early. The host said 20 minutes. We waited for 40 minutes in front of her. She did not accomodate us nor said anything to us. So we finally went to her and asked her. As per her. 'She was still seating people from 8:00 and 8:30 reservations and she could sit us 5-10 minutes before 9:00'. We told her if she had told us that early we would have left . She responded that 'Oh I didn't know that'. She was sending people to the bar who came after us and seating the same people from Bar. SO I am not sure if she was sending people with reservations to the Bar. So finally we left after waiting till 8:45 with out dining there.
Molly Priesmeyer review for Bar La Grassa
Molly Priesmeyer on Citysearch

12 years ago

12/14/2009, 00:02 AM
Citysearch Editorial Review – Outfitted in rough-hewn wood, a giant open kitchen where hanging pans of every size and color become decorations, and big black-and-white photos of icons like Johnny Cash, at first blush Bar La Grassa appears more Southern-fried than Italian-inspired. But a quick glance of the strategically placed fixtures, the big wood tables, a dimly lit near-overflow bar and a dining area that has a waiting list even on Tuesday evenings proves that the celeb restaurateurs behind La Grassa know a thing or two about fusing styles and menus. Featuring unique small plates and half or whole entrees, as well as an extensive wine list, La Grassa also brings an affordable decadence to the North Loop.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.