Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Bacchus

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.5
332 reviews
|Italian|Richmond, VA 23220

2 N Meadow St, Richmond, VA 23220

(804) 355-9919

https://bacchusrva.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(13) · Restaurants

216 S Washington Hwy

(804) 798-7171
4.8
(368) · Restaurants

1606 W Main St

(804) 213-0212

2 people are looking at this business

4.8
(74) · Italian

10478 Ridgefield Pkwy

(804) 447-6449

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(20) · Italian

3215 W Broad St

(804) 355-9193
4.6
(233) · Restaurants

9167 Atlee Road

(804) 730-2339
4.5
(502) · Italian

9127 W Broad St

(804) 346-0184

1 person is looking at this business

About

A Fan favorite since 1999, Bacchus features a full bar, extensive wine list and a menu with something for everyone. The menu boasts many fresh fish, seafood and meat options as well as an full pasta menu.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.5
332 reviews
5219
  
466
  
319
  
26
  
18
  
14 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Frosty P. review for Bacchus
Frosty P. on Citysearch

10 years ago

02/14/2012, 01:31 AM
bacchus, what a crochhus!! – can i give a no star? too bad a rating is required. so i had this beautiful date with me on valentine's day. I made the reservation on 2/11/12 for the 14th at 9 pm. A little late, yeah i know but nevertheless i made it. really excited for it, get there, still excited, NOPE. dude man "manning" the host stand didn't write it down. what a doosie. I get there 15 minutes early all for nothing. The host tells me I'm not anywhere on the list with no apology for the mix up or inconvenience and tells us there's really nothing they're going to do about it. Heard the food is great but had seen the unflattering reviews about staff and owner. unfortunately was proven right. Hope the chefs will change location to owners with more class and care for service. at least mckie d's only forgets an order of fries, not friendly business.
Alex Z. review for Bacchus
Alex Z. on Citysearch

10 years ago

02/02/2012, 03:29 AM
The food was ok.
Monica W. review for Bacchus
Monica W. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

03/03/2011, 10:01 AM
The customer is ALWAYS WRONG here. Is the customer always right? Apparently, this is NEVER the case for the nasty owner of this Fan restaurant. Readers, have you ever experienced a dish served that you could only take 1 bite of before setting your utensil down? It was a foreign experience for me?until last night at Bacchus. Of course, not liking your chosen dish is always less than desirable, but amongst our group of 3, we all unanimously disliked the dish so much that we agreed to muster up the courage to actually tell our server--politely, nonetheless. The hostility & outright maliciousness of the owner/cook that ensued was SHOCKING! Let me preface this by saying I'm a true meat-lover. Having spotted the word "sausage" in the menu, I made my dining selection with ease. I was confident this "Spicy lamb sausage with white beans" entre would be delicious, especially since it came recommended by our waitress. To be fair, our appetizer was delicious & pasta dish was a 6/10. The service prior to our official mentioning of the inedible dish was great. However, after receiving the news that 1 of his paying parties held his dish in distaste, the owner huffily approached us in an obvious fit of defensiveness, he immediately questioned our veto of his dish (almost as if he was flabbergasted that we didn't like it), he reminded us to "look around" & take note of "how crowded my restaurant is EVERY SINGLE NIGHT", he blatantly accused us of eating "at least half of the dish" and then returning it to the kitchen in an attempt to "pull a fast one" on him to snag a free meal, and he claims to have eaten from our returned bowl himself only to find that the sausage was awesome and the beans were perfectly well-cooked. Well! How can you argue with that?? Good to know THIS guy likes his own food served in his joint. I hope he got a tasty meal off our table scraps.
Respond to negative reviews
Featured content
Patient Feedback: Why Doctors Need to Ask For It

Patient Feedback: Why Doctors Need to Ask For It

Patient Feedback: Why Doctors Need to Ask For It
SEO for small business 2021 - Online reviews are the latest strategy

SEO for small business 2021 - Online reviews are the latest strategy

SEO for small business 2021 - Online reviews are the latest strategy
Dr Wood review for Bacchus
Dr Wood on Citysearch

11 years ago

03/03/2011, 09:44 AM
The customer is ALWAYS WRONG here. – Is the customer always right? Apparently, this is NEVER the case for the nasty owner of this Fan restaurant. Readers, have you ever experienced a dish served that you could only take 1 bite of before setting your utensil down? It was a foreign experience for me…until last night at Bacchus. Of course, not liking your chosen dish is always less than desirable, but amongst our group of 3, we all unanimously disliked the dish so much that we agreed to muster up the courage to actually tell our server--politely, nonetheless. The hostility & outright maliciousness of the owner/cook that ensued was SHOCKING! Let me preface this by saying I'm a true meat-lover. Having spotted the word "sausage" in the menu, I made my dining selection with ease. I was confident this "Spicy lamb sausage with white beans" entrée would be delicious, especially since it came recommended by our waitress. To be fair, our appetizer was delicious & pasta dish was a 6/10. The service prior to our official mentioning of the inedible dish was great. However, after receiving the news that 1 of his paying parties held his dish in distaste, the owner huffily approached us in an obvious fit of defensiveness, he immediately questioned our veto of his dish (almost as if he was flabbergasted that we didn't like it), he reminded us to "look around" & take note of "how crowded my restaurant is EVERY SINGLE NIGHT", he blatantly accused us of eating "at least half of the dish" and then returning it to the kitchen in an attempt to "pull a fast one" on him to snag a free meal, and he claims to have eaten from our returned bowl himself only to find that the sausage was awesome and the beans were perfectly well-cooked. Well! How can you argue with that?? Good to know THIS guy likes his own food served in his joint. I hope he got a tasty meal off our table scraps. More snide & incredibly childish remarks ensued from this facility's owner on our way out-mind you, we calmly paid for this $16 dish that tasted of what body odor/BO might taste like in your mouth set upon a watery bean-based foundation with the beans obviously under-cooked (cardboard texture & taste, grainy/mealy to chew) AND a proper tip was still given to our waitress. When asked whether or not he believes the mantra of "the customer is always right," he said, "NOPE! Not in this place. If you want that, you should go to McDonald's!!" [you really can't make this stuff up] I've never encountered such a demeaning, immature, and disrespectful adult man in my entire life. This horrible experience has motivated me to sign-up for Urban Spoon & Google Reviews when I've never blogged or made internet commentaries in my life. But this was so out of line & unbelievable that here I am writing this lovely review. I truly hope this man gets his professionalism a bit more developed from its current fetal status so that his restaurant can continue to have happy crowds of people flocking to it 'every single night'. I just know that I will never again be amongst them.
Monica W. review for Bacchus
Monica W. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

03/03/2011, 01:53 AM
The customer is ALWAYS WRONG here. Is the customer always right? Apparently, this is NEVER the case for the nasty owner of this Fan restaurant. Readers, have you ever experienced a dish served that you could only take 1 bite of before setting your utensil down? It was a foreign experience for me?until last night at Bacchus. Of course, not liking your chosen dish is always less than desirable, but amongst our group of 3, we all unanimously disliked the dish so much that we agreed to muster up the courage to actually tell our server--politely, nonetheless. The hostility & outright maliciousness of the owner/cook that ensued was SHOCKING! Let me preface this by saying I'm a true meat-lover. Having spotted the word "sausage" in the menu, I made my dining selection with ease. I was confident this "Spicy lamb sausage with white beans" entre would be delicious, especially since it came recommended by our waitress. To be fair, our appetizer was delicious & pasta dish was a 6/10. The service prior to our official mentioning of the inedible dish was great. However, after receiving the news that 1 of his paying parties held his dish in distaste, the owner huffily approached us in an obvious fit of defensiveness, he immediately questioned our veto of his dish (almost as if he was flabbergasted that we didn't like it), he reminded us to "look around" & take note of "how crowded my restaurant is EVERY SINGLE NIGHT", he blatantly accused us of eating "at least half of the dish" and then returning it to the kitchen in an attempt to "pull a fast one" on him to snag a free meal, and he claims to have eaten from our returned bowl himself only to find that the sausage was awesome and the beans were perfectly well-cooked. Well! How can you argue with that?? Good to know THIS guy likes his own food served in his joint. I hope he got a tasty meal off our table scraps. More snide & incredibly childish remarks ensued from this facility's owner on our way out-mind you, we calmly paid for this $16 dish that tasted of what body odor/BO might taste like in your mouth set upon a watery bean-based foundation with the beans obviously under-cooked (cardboard texture & taste, grainy/mealy to chew) AND a proper tip was still given to our waitress. When asked whether or not he believes the mantra of "the customer is always right," he said, "NOPE! Not in this place. If you want that, you should go to McDonald's!!" [you really can't make this stuff up] I've never encountered such a demeaning, immature, and disrespectful adult man in my entire life. This horrible experience has motivated me to sign-up for Urban Spoon & Google Reviews when I've never blogged or made internet commentaries in my life. But this was so out of line & unbelievable that here I am writing this lovely review. I truly hope this man gets his professionalism a bit more developed from its current fetal status so that his restaurant can continue to have happy crowds of people flocking to it 'every single night'. I just know that I will never again be amongst them.
Respond to negative reviews
divjam review for Bacchus
divjam on Citysearch

12 years ago

04/13/2010, 12:45 PM
Poor Service, Complacent owners – My family and out of town guests had the displeasure of eating at your restaurant on Saturday, March 20, at 6:30PM in the upstairs dining room. I am a regular of Bacchus and generally rave about your service and food. Sadly, this is no longer my attitude due to my horrible experience Saturday. The only positive statement I can write is that the food was excellent; which has always been the standard of Bacchus. However, the table service and the owner’s reactions were absolutely appalling. I made reservations for a party of six plus a 20 month old baby, which the person happily took reservations for. When we sat down, and requested a high chair, the waitress stated that the restaurant did not have any. This should have been communicated to me when I made the reservation. The waitress grumbled when I stated this and mumbled that she would tell the person taking reservations. She didn’t apologize or even truly acknowledge the mistake. The rest of the evening, our waitress was extremely non-attentive to our table, rarely checking on us and having a very poor attitude. We felt like we were burdening her with simple requests, such as menus for all six people (there were only four on the table). When I was finally given the bill after waiting a while, there was an automatic 20% tip. I proceeded to go downstairs to talk to one of the owners. She made excuses for the waitress, saying that she "normally was great." She was NOT great on March 20th, and to make excuses for her was ridiculous! She then proceeded to explain to me about an automatic 20% gratuity for a party of 6, stating that the 20% was "restaurant policy." Is very poor service also Bacchus "restaurant policy?” I am flabbergasted by my experience and the actions of the owner I encountered. This is too bad, considering the high quality food that is offered. Food isn't the only aspect of a restaurant to consider!
VARNG review for Bacchus
VARNG on Citysearch

13 years ago

03/24/2009, 04:32 AM
Great Food But Left Unimpressed – Having heard good things about Bacchus, I made a reservation for my mother's birthday. Our group of 5 ordered appetizers, bottles of wine, entrees and sides. All of the food was excellent and everything was great until we mentioned that it was my Mom's birthday and inquired quietly whether they do anything special. They said, "yes, when you order dessert." Honestly, we were stuffed but still wanted to have a little birthday flair so we just ordered some ice cream and post dinner drinks. So what was their birthday special? They simply placed a candle in the ice cream we ordered, lit it and walked away. I will never go back as a result. After spending $250 on food, you'd think they could throw in a piece of cake for a birthday. We certainly didn't need any singing or other attention but a simple smile and some chocolate would be a small investment in customer happiness. Even the lowest level restaurants do that. And the nicer ones in NYC where I spent the last 4 years, always go the extra mile. There are just too many other nice places in Richmond to go without such a cheap philosophy.
browneyedview review for Bacchus
browneyedview on Citysearch

13 years ago

01/27/2009, 09:50 AM
Cozy atmosphere – I live in the fan so it is so ridiculous to me that I visted Bacchus for the first time this past week. While this was just my first visit, I am HOOKED! I absolutely loved everything about this restaurant. The wine and food was delicious and the service was excellent. The atmosphere was so very cozy and romantic. I highly reccomend Bacchus, in fact, I am going back this weekend.
markperill review for Bacchus
markperill on Citysearch

14 years ago

05/25/2008, 11:27 AM
Excellent Food Excellent Service. – This is one of the best restaurants in Richmond. I recommend their pasta dishes and their duck. I also enjoy their use of different varieties of mushrooms. I love mushrooms though. Highly recommended.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.