Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Apthorp Cleaners

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
5.0
30 reviews
|Dry Cleaning|New York, NY 10024

383 Amsterdam Ave, New York, NY 10024

(212) 787-7182

https://www.apthorpcleaners.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Consumer Services in your area
5.0
(2) · Consumer Services

153 Florida St

(631) 465-9600

2 people are looking at this business

5.0
(4) · Consumer Services

390 Ramapo Valley Rd

(201) 405-1170
5.0
(19) · Consumer Services

61 Glen St

(516) 674-4123
5.0
(5) · Consumer Services

92 Horace Harding Blvd

(516) 466-6083
5.0
(6) · Consumer Services

1206 Sussex Turnpike # 8

(973) 895-8787
5.0
(6) · Consumer Services

1051 Long Ridge Road

(203) 329-8538

1 person is looking at this business

About

Dry Cleaning & Laundry Services, Dry Cleaners, Tailors & Alterations, Tailors

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

5.0
30 reviews
510
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
20 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
lanadawn89 review for Apthorp Cleaners
lanadawn89 on Citysearch

11 years ago

10/20/2010, 05:30 AM
Great Service from Professionals – Apthorp Cleaners consistently provides their customers with only the best, and most personal experience. Everyone there is friendly and kind, and always looking to help their customers any way they can. A few years ago they cleaned my older sister's wedding dress. They did an excellent job, and they are still keeping the dress in storage. This past summer, I had a J. Crew dress that had complicated embroidery on it. Another dry cleaner wanted me to sign a release saying they weren't at fault if the dress was ruined during dry cleaning. I brought it to Apthorp and they cleaned the dress without any kind of damage to it at all. It is still in pristine condition. I would trust them with any garment, no matter how expensive. The owners seriously know the ins and outs of dry cleaning. They also pick up and deliver--another huge plus.
Kirsten Lentz review for Apthorp Cleaners
Kirsten Lentz on Citysearch

11 years ago

10/10/2010, 04:51 AM
MOST AMAZING BUSINESS! HIGH RECOMMENDATION! – This is the BEST place in the city to have your dry cleaning done! These people are seriously good at what they do, they are super responsible and are also really kind. I started going to this cleaner many years ago when I was looking for a cleaner that didn't turn my white shirts gray. Apthorp uses clean solution for whites and separates colors, so this never happens with them. But then I had a series of emergencies and Apthorp always saved me: like the time I spilled red wine on my wedding dress (before the wedding). I gave the dress to Debra and then that stain was GONE! And then there was the time my stuff in storage got moth infested and I had to dry clean EVERYTHING!!! Debra gave me an incredible deal and picked everything up and restored everything to like new condition. They even delivered everything back to my storage facility in Jersey. And then there was the time that I ruined my wool couch covers and they restored them to perfect condition. These are amazing people who do excellent work. Thank you, Apthorp!
iheartclothes review for Apthorp Cleaners
iheartclothes on Citysearch

11 years ago

08/18/2010, 01:00 AM
a cleaner who knows what they're doing – I went to Apthorp on the recommendation of a friend after I dribbled red wine on a brand new cream color wool blazer last year. Wonder of wonders they got it out. They've cleaned it many times since - the stain has never reappeared and the cream color stayed true. Since then they've been my cleaner and have never disappointed me. They even managed to save a silk suit that I was wearing when I got caught in the world's worst downpour with no umbrella and no where to take shelter. The lady there is very pleasant and sends me reminders and updates via email. They're probably more expensive than other cleaners in the neighborhood, but I have nice clothes so that's okay with me. I recommend them highly if you care about how your clothes look and making them last like forever.
Featured content
How to Build a Reputation Management Strategy in 5 Steps

How to Build a Reputation Management Strategy in 5 Steps

How to Build a Reputation Management Strategy in 5 Steps
Google Review Policy Terms of Service Update

Google Review Policy Terms of Service Update

Google Review Policy Terms of Service Update
shockedaboutowner review for Apthorp Cleaners
shockedaboutowner on Citysearch

11 years ago

06/16/2010, 03:23 AM
Shockingly Rude, Racist Apthorp Owner – Upon walking into Apthorp Cleaners to get some items cleaned and altered (namely a dress with makeup spots-- still visible after prior cleaning at Apthorp Cleaners, one for alteration, a blouse for mending and a cashmere scarf for cleaning). The hostile, overweight man, with the glasses and bald-head did not look up or respond to my 'good afternoon' greeting and dismissed me immediately as I was trying to explain what services I would like to have done. When I tried again to reiterate, he cut me off and passed me off to the tailor, Mr. Jimmy, who was professional, courteous and helpful. After my fitting with Mr. Jimmy the impertinent, obese man/owner refused to furnish me with a bill for the services, stating bluntly that I will see it when the items are delivered. I persisted, and he became irate and barked at me, belting out the total. I asked for the 'break-down' and he reluctantly muttered some outrageous insult about my race!!! "It is typical of your heritage" he shouted. He tossed all the items out at me and yelled at me to take it elsewhere. I was shaken up and incredulous at his reaction. As I gathered my clothing of the counter, he continued his barrage, cursing me, and told me to "go F---myself!" I am still in shock. All I can deduce is that the Apthorp owner was prejudice against me due to my race and that triggered him off... Who talks to anyone like that, let alone a client!!!! Everone at my office is still in disbelief. How can a place that does decent work and have been rated so highly in the past be so dysfunctiona--this experience is nothing short of a nightmare.
BWs EagleEye review for Apthorp Cleaners
BWs EagleEye on Citysearch

12 years ago

04/01/2010, 03:19 AM
THE place to go! – The Apthorpe Cleaners is one of the finest places in New York City to have clothing cleaned and restored. The meticulous care and detail they provide to customers' cleaning and restoration needs is impeccable! B.W's Eagle Eye is a vintage clothing store in Millerton, NY. We are frequented by designers and celebrities, so our clothing always needs to be in perfect condition. In our 18yrs in business, Apthorpe Cleaners have been our only source in cleaning and restoration of vintage pieces that require any help in its condition. Clothing always comes back to us in perfect condition. Anyone who has a fabulous vintage dress or outfit that is in need of special attention, the Apthorpe Cleaners will truely do magic and satisfy! B.W's Eagle Eye 23 Main St Millerton, NY 518-789-4109
nancy s review for Apthorp Cleaners
nancy s on Citysearch

12 years ago

12/05/2009, 03:29 AM
a wonderful, personal service – I've been a satisfied customer for years. On top of providing a reliable cleaning service, Debra and Joel were always helpful, friendly, neighborly. When they closed the Broadway store and before opening the new one on Amsterdam Ave., they did everything to give their customers the same convenience and excellent service we were used to. I had a rug cleaned and they held it for me for quite a while, more than I would have expected, which was very helpful to me. The rug, by the way, came back looking better than it had for years. Debra's little holiday emails are delightful; again, it's something you wouldn't expect, but which makes a difference. Debra and Joel are good people who provide a great service to our neighborhood. I'm certainly glad they only moved a little further away!
abcgongzhu review for Apthorp Cleaners
abcgongzhu on Citysearch

12 years ago

11/13/2009, 07:22 AM
Top Notch Service with a Smile – I do not often write positive reviews unless the service I received was truly outstanding. Apthorp cleaners is an example of a business who deserves praise. I brought a very expensive and intricate gown in, which needed to be tailored quickly for a wedding out of town. I was fitted and the tailor took the time to understand exactly how I wanted the dress hemmed, along with my concerns. Not only was I fitted once, but they basted the dress and asked me to come back in the evening to double check the job. Debra even offered to hold my shoes for the day since I was on my way to work in the morning. The final job was magnificent. The dress was beautiful and expertly tailored. It even was presented on a hand-made tissue bust attached to the hanger so the dress stayed true to form. I was very impressed at the work, and in such a short time. After the wedding, I brought the dress back to be cleaned. They made sure it was safe to use the chemicals by testing it, and when I received the dress back, it was good as new, any trace of dirt/stains were gone. I have long sought a tailor/cleaner of this caliber and am so happy to have found Apthorp. I will be coming back for as long as I am around the UWS. Debra and Joe are super friendly and accommodating. I can even email Debra to check on store/tailor hours. Joe talks baseball to my husband when I am being fitted. And Jimmy's tailoring skills are fantastic, he's very friendly as well. A NEIGHBORHOOD GEM! A+++
DBMJ review for Apthorp Cleaners
DBMJ on Citysearch

12 years ago

10/20/2009, 02:12 AM
Always Perfect! – I've used Apthorp Cleaners for over twenty years, and have never been less than 100% satisfied with their work. First class all the way...Love to drop off my stufff at their shop when I have time because the chat is always fun, uniquely warm and personal, and a great way to start my day on the way to work. The new shop is gorgeous, also!
hsueb review for Apthorp Cleaners
hsueb on Citysearch

12 years ago

10/08/2009, 05:17 AM
Perfection Found Here – These people can clean up just about anything, any spot on any material. And if they cannot, they call you and let you know what is happening. They have good alteration services as well. They know their customers by name. And when they say they will have it ready by 2pm Tuesday, the will. Have taken flimsy and sequined articles of clothing and they come back in perfect condition.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.