Logo White
Watch Demo

Alberta Cooperative Grocery

Own this business?
4.6
331 reviews
|Retail|Portland, OR 97211

1500 NE Alberta St, Portland, OR 97211

(503) 287-4333

https://alberta.coop/

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Suggest edits
Top Retail in your area
5.0
(1) · Retail

6220 NE Sandy Blvd

(503) 287-2727
5.0
(13) · Retail

1954 SE Division St

(503) 230-4949
4.9
(24) · Retail

3970 Mercantile Dr Ste 110

(503) 342-6010
4.8
(38) · Retail

7201-B NE Glisan St

(971) 285-3270
4.7
(80) · Retail

270 Grant St

(503) 982-3959
4.7
(359) · Retail

409 SE Martin Luther King Jr Blvd

(503) 236-2114
About

Alberta Cooperative Grocery offers a wide range of produce, bulk foods, and groceries with an emphasis on products grown locally and sustainably. The store features local, organic, and free-range meats and dairy, a beer and wine department, and health and home products. You can also find fresh artisan breads, baked goods, magazines, books, handmade cards, and more.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.6
331 reviews
5230
  
470
  
312
  
25
  
19
  
5 reviews have no rating
  • 321 Reviews4.6Google
  • 5 Reviews3.2Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Sarah W. on Citysearch

4 years ago

07/12/2016, 01:30 AM
I had been always looking for places to go to, an unusual place other than those usual grocery stores around the area, I am happy I found out about this place.
Karen L. on Citysearch

8 years ago

11/01/2012, 02:00 AM
Produce and lots of supplements give this corner spot "That Co-Op Smell." Don't pass up the cheap wine that's often marked down.
Serena L. on Insider Pages

10 years ago

03/07/2010, 03:47 AM
Yey for Co-Ops! I first discovered goat Brie at the Alberta Co-Op and so it holds a dear place in my heart :)! The store is always clean and the staff is always friendly!
Featured content
Trust Economy: Why Google and BirdEye Are Against Review Gating

Trust Economy: Why Google and BirdEye Are Against Review Gating

Trust Economy: Why Google and BirdEye Are Against Review Gating
Realtor ratings - The most important sites

Realtor ratings - The most important sites

Realtor ratings - The most important sites
clac on Citysearch

12 years ago

12/22/2008, 03:37 AM
The same place? – Boy, oh boy. The other reviewer's comments is so diametrically opposed to my experiences here that i had to check that it was the right place. Then I noticed that the first review is from 2004, I guess a lot can change in 4 years. When we first moved into the area I was so thrilled to have a little grocery nearby, and then to boot a co-op. But, it has become little more than an emergency standby for necessities (and the necessities are even lacking). To begin, the prices here are OUTRAGEOUS. And I am no bargain shopper, my other grocery stores of choice are New Seasons or Whole Foods when I don't want to go that as far as NS. The prices here TOP Whole Foods! How can that be? Okay, so it is a co-op, we are paying for that. I could live with that too. But why is everyone who works there a pod person? The cashiers look so dazed and confused at first I thought it was personal (am I not enough of the co-op type?) but then I saw everyone in line being treated with similar strangeness. The poor woman ahead of me (who was a co-op member) was so stunned at her bill that she asked for a recheck, and it was a completely embarrassing incident for her as the pod person gracelessly explained why a handful of items cost the price of a faberge egg and why she couldn't get a discount with her membership. And the produce! It is also unbelievably bad. Old, lacking in flavor. Someone needs to come in and burn this 'concept' of a co-op down to the ground and give us something better. Maybe the new hard times ethos will make it happen.
Toni F. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

04/02/2008, 02:47 AM
Nice Local Coop A great little coop at the corner of Alberta and 15th. The coop members who staff the store are very nice - I can count on a good conversation whenever I'm in there. The prices are a little higher - as is expected at a coop, but it's worth it!
Mary J. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

03/17/2008, 04:59 AM
Uppitty Attitude with a Side of Coop Sauce I've shopped in this store a handful of times and have not been impressed with it as a whole. The employees are less than helpful and some of their practices are borderline shady. Blocking the street off on weekends with caution signs and cones are among the most obnoxious practices. They don't have much turnaround on their inventory, so you really have to watch your dates on perishable items. The one bonus of this store is their children's play area. So unless you want to pick through their small selection of organicallly and locally grown/made merchandise while your child plays with in dashing distance of the door, this is not your store.
Respond to negative reviews
Contributor on Citysearch

13 years ago

07/19/2007, 08:44 AM
Editorial Review – Local grocery store sells a variety of fresh items providing an alternative to large supermarkets.
Catherine N. on Insider Pages

15 years ago

10/09/2005, 01:45 AM
At the Co-op I love to shop at food co-ops and this one definatley rates high in my book. The people there are very kind and they seem to be a diverse group. My only complaint is the high fee to join the co-op- its even higher than in Seattle.
Ashley W. on Insider Pages

15 years ago

05/25/2005, 01:02 AM
NIce, but spendy I love this co-op, but it's somewhat expensive. It's small, of course. They have good local produce, and the staff is very helpful and friendly. They also have a small selection of plants for sale.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.